We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Relaxing with a twist"”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Singing Sands Inn in May 2013 for a week. Due to a work conflict for her we had to reschedule for three weeks after our initial dates. Despite being told that there probably would not be a problem re-booking our room for the original week because it was prime whale shark viewing season, there was a hefty cancellation fee - 50 % of the room cost for the week. So if you think you might have to change your reservation, buy traveler's insurance or change before the 30 day prior to stay deadline. Overall, our experience was relaxing and just what we were looking for in a get-away. The food and drinks were delicious and reasonably priced - service was outstanding. The snorkel trip which was advertised as including lunch and drinks was excellent; however, we were expecting adult beverages and not bottled water. One thing that was very annoying with screened rooms was that they burned something every morning very early which woke me up. It was also VERY windy in the evenings at this time of year. We had Villa #1 and enjoyed the privacy of its location - definitely the best room. I enjoyed snorkeling right off the end of the dock with lots of small reefs in the immediate area. I was disappointed that the water was not the aqua color and as clear as I have seen other places in the Caribbean. The hammock over the water provided many relaxing hours reading. We rented a car and ventured out into Placencia several times and enjoyed our trips into town. In Placencia, the "Above Grounds Coffee House" is a must for good coffee we enjoyed several breakfasts at "The Shack". Overall, I would say we enjoyed our trip but will probably try another country for our next trip.

Room Tip: Villa # 1 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fotorover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed our recent five night stay at the Singing Sands. One thing that they really do well, and I think it's rare to find, is combining a casual atmosphere with a touch of sophistication and at a reasonable price. We loved so many things about it:
- the tranquil setting (especially beautiful in the morning when the water was as calm as a lake)
- the variety of perfect places to chill out (the pool, the pier, hammocks) which allowed for plenty of peace and privacy
- the food...it was always delicious and the portions were just right, we ate there every night
- the service...they were helpful and polite, personable yet respectful
- the relaxed feel and lack of typical hotel rules...no literature in the rooms, self-serve coffee and water at the bar, honor bar with self-serve beer on the pier
- they went out of their way to make our stay a special one...making up a beautiful table by the pool for our anniversary dinner, providing a fishing rod and bait so my husband could go fishing, making customized dishes on the last night when we grew tired of the dinner menu, doing a quick load of laundry so we had clean clothes for our trip home

We have to admit that even though we had the best room (#1) and often had major ocean breezes coming into our room, sleeping was not our favorite part. We missed our bed at home, but that's ok. And yes, room #1 is the best room. It has the most privacy, breeze, the deck is almost always shaded from the sun (a good thing), and the pool is a quick hop around the corner.

In case you are considering Robert's Grove (we were), they have the same owners and you can take a free shuttle over there. There's a more lively feel there and it was nice for spending some spa/lunch/pool time, but we were glad to be back "home" at the Singing Sands.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose Singing Sands restaurant as the venue for our wedding reception, on May 7. We knew serving a group of 50 people in the small community of Maya Beach would require a lot of organization, preparation, attention to detail, and commitment - and Singing Sands delivered!!

Hyon leads the team of excellent staff, she made every effort to ensure our wedding night was perfectly set. She accommodated my every request with a custom seating arrangement, decorating scheme, and timing to a tee. She even brought in extra flower arrangements, appetizers, and linens without being asked because she thought it would enhance the evening.

The food was outstanding - favorites were the Thai Fish and Chili Garlic Shrimp. The entrees were only outdone by the delicious appetizers that everyone talked about for days following the wedding. The unique Asian fusion menu was raved about by all. We had several food requests to accommodate dietary preferences and allergies, every single person had a perfect dish - no errors.

Wine and champagne flowed all night, the staff left nobody unattended. The restaurant is a truly beautiful, intimate place and we could not be happier to have chosen it for our special day. We cannot thank them enough for giving us the most memorable evening, Hyon went above and beyond in every way possible - a gracious, wonderful host. Thank you!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank christie-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I really loved the location as well as all the outings the hotel suggested great food,wonderful customer service,also our attendant McElroy took us to the Maya Ruins above & beyond job criteria would love to come back soon!!! Thanks Kiya

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiyat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited Singing Sands Inn for our honeymoon and were totally pleased with every aspect of our accomodation. It's a small, peaceful resort that had everthing to make sure we had a great time. Since there were only 8-10 rooms, most of the time you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. The beach, pool, pier, and bar were all great spots to relax the day away. We stayed in cabana # 2 and it was very close to the beach which we loved. The cabana was beautiful with local wood floors, open floor plan, stucco walls, thatch roof, and louvered doors and windows allowing you to hear and feel the ocean and it's breezes. The resort was well-maintained and always clean. If you wanted to explore other parts of Belize the staff of Ever, McElroy, and Maya were always willing to help and offer great advice. They have plenty of great options and adventures to choose from. And if you wanted to visit the village of Placencia it's about a $20 (USD) cab ride from the resort, which we did twice and highly recommend. Also, if you visit the village, try the gibnut at Dawn's! But the resort was the big draw which we can't wait to get back to. The restaurant and bar were amazing. Every meal was delicious and well presented under the large open air cabana with great views to the ocean. The wait and bartender staff there took care of our every need. Orbando, Elmer, Edison, and Willie went above and beyond to make sure we were well take care of. They provided us with plenty of fun, local advice, and great drinks which we will always remember. Watch out for Orbando's daily drink specials. They are something special. In closing, Singing Sands is a perfect setting to escape to and see Belize the way it's meant to be seen. We will be back. - K&L

Room Tip: Cabana # 1 is the best cabana in terms of proximity to the beach and privacy. Cabana # 2 is second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kstrib19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

On May 7th Hyon and the Singing Sands hosted our daughter and son-in-law's wedding reception dinner and it was an beautiful occasion. Hyon and her staff were outstanding. The appetizers and all the meals were thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. In particular all those having the Thai Fish raved about it, definately the best fish dish we had during our stay in Belize. The extra floral decorations they assembled and dsplayed throughout the restaurant were gorgeous and much appreciated. We brought table centerpieces, runners and table decor to the resaturant the night before and Hyon and staff beautifully set everything out prior to our guests arrives. The guests were welcomed with appetizers, a lovely fire and perfect setting prior the the Bride and Grooms arrival. Champagne and wine was served all evening and the staff were professional and attentive. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with Wilbert when we first visited the SS and on the eveing when he attended our table. Planning a Placencia/Maya Beach wedding from Canada was challenging but working with Hyon was definately one of the smoothest parts for our daughter who raved about her throughout the process.
I can not say enough about Hyon, her staff and the wonderful wedding dinner we experienced at the Singing Sands. We apologize to all guests who were not able to dine in the restaurant that evening due to our reception and appreciate your understanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mashworth04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Singing Sands provided such a peaceful setting I thought I would never go home. The architecture in the cabanas is perfect, open and spacious with louvered windows so you can get both air and privacy. Mexican basins add colorful eye catchers and the minimalist setting is perfect. You can hear the ocean and the palms for a great night's sleep. With only 6 or so cabanas, there are fewer guests than other places. The public does come in for the excellent restaurant and bar. Even the plates on the dinner tables are individually crafted. The gardeners do an excellent job. Everything at the Sands is sparkling clean with bright colored accents. The restaurant has an incredible and creative chef who works with artistic flair and creativity. I can't say enough about the staff -- each appears to have a Ph.D. in customer service. And many have been working there for a long time. Willie was a main go-to person who was eager to serve and help out any way he could. Management will set up any kind of excursion you want. I do wish they would make that office brighter. Overall this place was absolutely the tops.

Room Tip: every room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
647 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $107 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing