We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot to Visit Paradise”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is an ideal location for visiting the Placencia peninsula. Rooms are clear and well kept, very quaint with thatched roof and wooden floors. The grounds are perfectly manicured. Their dock is an ideal spot for lying in the hammock and unwinding at the end of the day. The restaurant is outstanding, meals over 5 days were perfect. The staff was very accommodating and arranged several fishing excursions for me which were fantastic, caught tarpon and bone fish in the Monkey River and out on the reef. Highly recommend. We will definitely go back again, and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosimoto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 371 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved our week’s stay in mid-April (before the kids and bugs are out). Although we’ve visited lots of places, we have thought for the first time ever that we would make a conscious effort to return to Belize and to the Singing Sands Inn. Owners Mike, Maya, and Hyon and her husband work very hard to anticipate guests’ needs and desires and orient their staff to provide a completely comfortable environment. As a result, all the staff members from the servers in the bar and restaurant and the concierges to the chefs, the housekeepers, and the groundskeepers deserve kudos for the quality of the service they provide.

Highlights:

• The owners are always on-site and visible, often stopping in the restaurant to welcome guests and to get a feel for how their staff members are doing.
• The restaurant choices are all excellent, varied, and well-presented meals. In fact, we got so spoiled and lazy that unless we were on a tour, we ate all meals at the Inn.
• Every one of the tours was top-notch and fairly reasonably priced.
• The Inn is a small, quiet retreat. Shopping, night-life, crowds, and noise are available 6 miles away in Placencia.
• Starting at the airport in Belize City, all transportation and connections came off without a hitch.

Poke around in the Web site . . . what you see is really what you get!

Room Tip: Although we originally wanted one of the beach-front cabana, we booked too late. Know what though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a week sailing around the barrier reef, we wanted to remain as far as possible from daily life but needed comfortable surroundings. We found all this at the Singing Sands: lovely cabanas, simple but thoughtfully equipped, exquisite taste displayed everywhere, marvelous local architecture and crafts. The beach is right there, plus a beautiful pool shaded by flowers and palms. And the welcome was just perfect, everyone was hospitable, courteous, warm and attentive. The bar/restaurant est very pleasant, good food, good wine list, perfect service and you can hang out there all day long if you wish...
We'll definitely go back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: For those who want seclusion, choose Cabana 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecileforman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The place is a little off the beaten path and so worth it. There are only a couple of rooms here, I think like 10 or something, but the atmosphere is something out of a novel. The rooms are clean and comfortable without feeling overwhelming. The views are amazing and the atmosphere makes you forget about daily life, as people keep reminding me that's what a vacation is supposed to do!

The best part with the staff. Romeo, Edison, Ever, Elmer were just amazing. The owners should feel proud to have such great employees. The just took care of everything and got me whatever I needed. Thanks so much guys!

If you are coming to Belize and staying anywhere near Placencia you MUST check out this place first!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AACGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had such a nice dinner here go and enjoy, great food, good prices the atmosphere is great.
Like a jungle. The Bar is so beautiful. They brought out 2 servings of bruschetta free. Go and have a great dinner

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinabop839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our stay was 10 nights in a private Cabana. The Cabanas were very nice,simple, and just yards away from the beach. They were cleaned and stocked daily with clean towels and toiletries. We loved the nice quiet and quaint setting. There were many places for one to go to read a book, layout, or take a nap in one of several hammocks.

The best part of our stay was certainly the staff and owners of this lovely little resort. The staff was always attentive to our needs and always wanting to make sure that we were being taken care of. They were all wonderful!!!
The owners on several occasions talked with us and while we were having breakfast or dinner would ask us how everything was. " Where else would you get this??? "It was very obvious the owners are very involved in making sure that the needs of their guests are being met.

The Bonefish Grill was fabulous!!! We ate at some other places in town, but mostly ate at the Bonefish Grill because the food was soooo good. There were 8 in our group and I think we all ordered pretty much everything on the menu throughout our stay and there was not one thing we didn't like. Fabulous menu, food, and presentation.

I would highly recommend the " Singing Sands Resort " and would plan to visit again.
Many thanks to all the staff and to the owners for making our stay so wonderful, we left with lasting memories...

Bobbi & Dale

Room Tip: Any one of the Cabanas are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbimac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Singing Sands resort. All but 1 night was in Cabana 1, a lovely room away from the others and right on the beach! Singing Sands is not for everyone- if you want quiet, few people (they are a small establishment) and don't mind not having all the amenities then this place is great. The cabana was clean, nicely appointed with a veranda that had 2 chairs and a table. Great to sit and look at the ocean while having a drink. The pool and surrounding area was inviting and had chairs tables and loungers A beautiful setting on a white powdered beach with wooden chaise loungers and pads, hammocks scattered throughout the beach and staff that are friendly and attentive. Their restaurant on site, the Bonefish Grille (another review on this) was enjoyed by us everyday. What was an added bonus was to have a free shuttle to take us to Robert's Grove resort to attend their weekly smorgasbord. The beach in front of the hotel does have sea grass although this didn't keep people from snorkelling. The only amenity that would have been nice to have is a small fridge in the cabana to keep our drinks in. A final word, the owner introduced himself to us while having dinner one night. He told us that he is fixing up the employees' sleeping area to make it more acceptable- a welcomed decision on our part, since we try to choose places that treat their employees well and enhance their quality of living. If you do stay here, visit their website and go to "community" to see how the owners are involved in the community and how you can help.

Room Tip: Cabana 1 is right on the beach and away from all the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#12 of 20 in Placencia
311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $129 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing