We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the experience of a lifetime....One my family will relive over and over.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“We had the experience of a lifetime....One my family will relive over and over.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Green Parrot for a week in March. It was the experience of a lifetime. We booked all our excursions through the Management of the Green Parrot. We visited the Mayan ruins, Monkey River and several places on the reef.
Arlin(sp) took us fishing and snorkeling. While fishing we caught barracuda, Jacks, grouper, and mackerel. Snorkeling, we saw sharks, loggerhead turtles, rays, barracuda, and tons of beautiful tropical fish. We also dove for Conch and brought it all home for dinner!(delicious)
Neko took us through the Crystal Cavern. It was intense! We saw so much and came out exhausted and so overwhelmed with the beauty of it. Afterward, we took a dip in the Blue Hole(not the ocean one--there are two).
All of this was arranged through Leo, the manager. He became a friend and my kids loved him. He did his best to make sure we got to do all we wanted. The staff at the beach houses were very accommodating and were very nice.
If you are looking for adventure or romance, or both, this is the place. I couldn't recommend it higher!!!

Room Tip: They are all fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddydmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    42
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
154
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This place was so lovely. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Leo, Teresa and Nicole are wonderful people and work very hard. They all deserve a raise! The cabin was clean and comfortable and we were extremely sad to leave! So Completely relaxing. Would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Placencia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I meant to write this review earlier, but I work at a very hectic pace which is exactly the reason we chose Green Parrot for our vacation over the New Year's break this year. We found Green Parrot was the perfect place to relax, unwind, and re-energize. The natural beauty, helpful staff, and peaceful atmosphere was just what the doctor ordered. We had been a bit concerned about what our 15 year old vegetarian daughter would eat, as it's not uncommon for her to have limited options and end up spending our vacation eating very poorly. This was not at all the case at Green Parrot, where the cooks were more than willing to accomodate and customize to suit our daughter's diet and taste. I enjoyed a wonderful massage on the front deck of our beach house while my husband and daughter completed their scuba certification. Our only hiccup was with water supply for the shower, but Leo was quick to relocate us to another cabin while repairs were made. If you do visit Monkey River, be sure to wear proper footwear and get lots of bug spray (we were still itching from our bites days later when we were back home). Overall, would highly recommend Green Parrot as a wonderful destination and a great way to get away from life's hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glittergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Jeff and I were at the Green Parrot from Jan 20-27, 2012, I meant to write a review earlier but ended up having a back injury when I got home and haven't been able to get this written until now.
This was truly our best vacation ever. We chose the Green Parrot based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews we read were very accurate, and we're so glad we stayed at the Green Parrot.
First of all - Leo and Teresa, if you're reading this - Thank you so much. Thanks to all of the staff there - Nicole, Leo's wife and all of the kitchen staff. I can't remember some of your names but have some photos of the beautiful faces of you delightful people. I wasn't able to get a couple people's photos and regret that - you weren't there on our last few days.

You all made our vacation what it was. We thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations and they were as described in other reviews - rustic. We have been in the fancy resorts in the past, but we'd go back to the Green Parrot in a heartbeat. We were in the yellow cabana and it was always cleaned right after we left in the morning for wherever we were going - to breakfast, a tour, wherever. Everything was always cleaned up and arranged so neatly, it was always a pleasure to come home to our cabana.
It was so nice to have a kitchenette. Nothing fancy but we ended up not really wanting to cook anyway. We shopped at the store down the road - just about a 5 minute walk -and kept some yogurt, salsa, pop, etc in the refrigerator and Jeff boiled water every morning for instant coffee as he got up so early. I slept in a little and the coffee in the restaurant was always made by 6am so Jeff always brought me a fresh cup of coffee around 7 am every day.

No matter when we ate there, Leo and Teresa always came to visit and made us feel so special. We really feel like we made friends there and consider ourselves so lucky.

Our bed was very comfortable and we had a fabulous view across the room outisde of a window that looked over a palm tree to the ocean. What a view.
There was no air conditioning or TV, but we didn't need it. The fan over the bed was more than adequate and the cool ocean breeze provided all we needed. Jeff is always someone who needs AC and I always freeze in our hotel room because of it - but he was just fine with the fan. I think having no TV was perfect - we just enjoyed each other's company, played games and just relaxed. That's what a vacation should be.
The hammock out front was sooooo comfortable.
We were very lucky for the time we went. There are 8 cabanas here and i bet there were only about 4 occupied at a time. We generally had the beach to ourselves. The sea grass is a never ending issue but cannot be avoided and is a losing battle to remove. They always did the best they could raking. We didn't care, we walked through it and went into the ocean off our beach regardless. The water was refreshing.
By the end our of trip we had eaten plenty of fish, shrimp, lobster and rice and beans. Our 2nd to the last night there we requested a pizza and the cook made it for us - it was awesome. It tasted like heaven.
On our last night there we requested cheeseburgers and that's what they made for us.
These were not necessarily on the menu, but they were right there to accommodate what we wanted. We felt very special.
We went on three tours - Monkey River with the guide Alrin, fishing with the tour guide Alrin - both tours were just Alrin, Jeff and I. Then we went on a snorkeling tour with Alrin and a couple from Canada. All of our tours took place with Alrin and his 23 foot fiberglass boat. It was GREAT. We consider ourselves very lucky to have had Alrin. He was kind of a soft spoken,very handsome guy - what a smile. But regardless of THAT good stuff, he knew that ocean and Monkey River like the back of his hand. He said he feels most at home in the water and how lucky for us. We went out 27 miles to fish - we caught a lot - grouper, snapper, jack fish, needle fish, baracuda - (the kitchen staff cooked our fish for us for dinner), On our way back from fishing Alrin knew where the sea turles were - he found them out in the middle of the ocean and we jumped out of our boat and were right there with them. Alrin dove down and grabbed a sea turle behind it's neck and the bottom of it's shell and rode it to the sea surface - it was amazing - those loggerhead turtles are huge and we were right there with them. We made it a snorkeling trip and fishing trip - we went to Silk Caye for snorkeling and lunch - it was awesome. On Monkey river we saw tons of birds, crocodile, pelicans, Howler monkeys, turtles, manatee, etc. Alrin grew up there and knew it well. It was awesome. We went on a snorkeling trip with another couple from Canada and had a great time - It was very wavy but Alrin is a pro with that boat of his. ON our way back Alrin knew right where the dolphins were in the middle of the ocean. He trowled along and there were at least 10 dolphins right with us going under the bow and alongside the boat. Alrin told us to lay on the bow of the boat - we could take close up photos and Jeff actually reached out and touched a dolphin they were so close to us. This was also Amazing. Alrin was the type of tour guide that wasn't there to just take us on a tour but to take us on an experience.
We can't say enough. All of the tours were arranged through the Green Parrot - they took care of everything and they were all right on time and perfect.
One review spoke of the showers - they were right - the hot water came and went. But, the reality is, it was such beautiful hot weather, a cool shower was a welcome pleasure.
Leo and the staff were right there for our every need. We didn't need much - an occasional access to the internet - of coarse a Green Parrot T-shirt, info on how to get to town, tour bookings, and that's about it.
They were adding on to the restaurant's Thatched roof when we were there. That should be done by now I'm guessing. They had a local band in on the first night we were there - a ton of locals came for the music and dinner.
We had one self-inflicted incident while here. There's an island about 2 miles out. I wanted Jeff to have one last snorkeling experience and wanted to canoe out there. It sounds like people do it all the time. I HAD to go shopping that morning when the ocean was very calm. But the time I got back in the afternoon, the wind shifted and it was very wavy, but I insisted on going regardless. Jeff reminded me that we were not in a lake in Minnesota, but we went anyway. We got about 1.5 miles out and decided to turn back. We ended up dumping the canoe because the waves filled it with water. The couple from Canada who we went snorkeling with us the day prior were watching us with their binoculars, so they warned Leo that we dumped. Fortunately Jeff has his snorkeling gear and didn't panic - he flipped the canoe over and emptied it, but when he flipped it back it just scooped water again. You gotta be really strong to flip that canoe in the middle of the ocean, so Yeah Jeff. So we ended up swimming in pulling the canoe with us. We had life vests on. I didn't panic because Jeff didn't panic. They were keeping an eye on us from shore and finally two guys in a kayak came to rescue us when we were about a football field length from shore.
It was scary for awhile, but we could see the people on shore keeping an eye on us.
THAT is an experience we won't forget.

I want to say again Thank you to Leo and Teresa and all of the staff. Jeff connected with you two so much that he felt so much at home. I think we women do that easier, but because he did, it says a lot for all of you people there. Jeff joked with you guys every day and loved every minute of it. We can't thank you enough. I know you remember us and I hope you're reading this. We want you to know that we really feel like we made some friends in Belize.
We hope we'll be luck enough to return. Everyone should have such a great vacation as we did the Green Parrot and the great people of Belize made that all possible.
We miss you and hope to meet again. Say Hi to Alrin too..

Room Tip: We were one cabana from the restaurant. It really wasn't noise and was actually nice to be that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyandJeffBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Maya Beach is the first main beach of Placencia Peninsula. Here is where you come to get away from it all. Green Parrot is perfectly located with 8 large cabins that even though are on the same property feel as though it's your own private house away from everyone else.

The view is hard to put into words, since you are literally looking at crystal clear blue waters, white sands, an inviting dock and palm trees.

Leo, the manager, who is one of the happiest people I have ever met is always at your disposal with a smile and a helping hand!

We especially loved the breakfast which is huge and could feed you well into the evening hours!

It's one of the most unique hotels in Maya Beach by far!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful visit to Belize. It was our first trip so we were not sure what to expect. Our preference for places to stay is at small and friendly establishments. We found the Green Parrot from a search on the internet. It all sounded good - and we were very pleased with our choice. We liked the private cabanas, the beach was wonderful, the restaurant was perfect. We can not say enough about the staff. They tried to answer all of our questions. They made sure we got off on our tours on time. The ladies cleaned our unit every day. It did not take more than a day for us to feel right at home. I guess I could say it is a very laid back and friend place to stay. A perfect location for those that want a wonderful beach and great views of the Caribbean. We would love to come back another day.

Room Tip: We had one of the thatched roofed units - great view of the Caribbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I booked the entire property for a group of 24 graduate school students in August 2011. The Green Parrot staff did everything possible to make our stay comfortable, from fantastic food to arranging great group excursions. At every step of the process, from booking to payment, everyone was fantastic to deal with.

Specifics: The cabanas were clean and comfortable and truly are right on the water. We had several meals, including a great beach type BBQ, along with breakfast in the mornings. The food was great and the beer was cold, what more do you need? We did two big excursions, Monkey River and a nice snorkeling trip. Based on other trips in the Caribbean I've been on, the tour operators that Green Parrot uses are in the top tier for professionalism and bang for the buck. Swimming off the dock was fun, and they have plenty of equipment (Volley ball net, kayaks, etc) to have fun on the beach.

I'd highly recommend working with Dave, Linda, and Leo. From the perspective of someone trying to please a big group, Green Parrot made my life a lot easier!

Room Tip: Their website does a good job of describing the layout. They also helped us figure out the best way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
6.8 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
367 reviews
4.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 19 in Placencia
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Parrot Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Parrot Beach Houses

Property: Green Parrot Beach Houses
Address: 1 Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#6 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Parrot Beach Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Parrot Beach Houses is located in Southern Belize on the Placencia peninsula. We have a total of 8 individual beach cabanas to serve our guests needs. All of our units are on the beach. In addition, we have our own bar and restaurant. The Green Parrot Resort serves a wide variety of customers- adventure travelers, divers, fishermen and women, weddings, college groups, religious service groups, and beach lovers. You can arrange all of your tours through the Green Parrot Office. We prescreen our tour guides so that you get the best adventure experience for the dollar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Green Parrot Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Parrot Beach Houses Hotel Placencia
Green Parrot Beach Hotel
Green Parrot Beach Resort
Green Parrot Beach Houses Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing