We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a great place! We were there for a destination wedding-and it was set up perfectly. This included a formal meal out on the pier the night before. The food was great and the physical layout was beautiful. But what really made it wonderful were the people. They were always pleasant, they never felt put out and they remembered who we all were. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 774 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our room was nice - large, clean and a huge deck with chairs and a hammock. However, we didn't want to hang out in our room, and that's where the resort really drops off. The staff is so incredibly slow I think they must be paid based on the length they make you wait - to order, to bring you drinks, to refill the drinks (if at all), to bring the food, to bring the check, etc. The grounds are beautiful - two pools and an amazing beachfront with sand - but no fish to snorkel out to see, the tiki bar was NEVER open during our three days there, the tours were on average 20% higher than what you'd get in Placencia (we paid $75/pp for snorkeling with Sea Horse Dive Shop - they wanted $90/pp and weren't going out as far on the reef), and you are pretty far from town and need to take a cab at night because the bikes have to be back at the resort by 5 p.m. The free sailboats/kayaks/paddle boats are great, but you should pre-reserve the golf cart (if you can) or else you'll pay $75 US for a 8 hour rental. If you eat on property, go across to the Mexican restaurant at the lagoon or eat off of the bar menu - the restaurant was expensive, food was poor and again, service is terrible! Next time, I think we'll go to a different resort in Placencia - or try Caye Caulker so we can snorkel right off the shoreline.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skiinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It´s a very nice place, well-mantain. The food is very good there....but the hotel has a poor service and the rates are expensive for what you get. We arrived via Boat and nobody helped us to take our luggage to the hotel (2 minutes walking distance)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeDGuatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Robert's Grove is beautiful. The property is well-maintain (beaches raked daily, clean pools). We spent our time between the three pools, the beach and on the water. The kayaks and sailboats were a lot of fun. Our room was great, with a breathtaking view (palms, pools, ocean). Complimentary bikes were also available for an easy ride into Placencia.

Breakfast was good each morning, with fresh fruits and baked goods. We were traveling with a toddler, so the 7am breakfast start time was a little late (a problem most vacationers won't have). Likewise, the 6pm dinner start time was a little late. Habaneros was really tasty. Sweet Mamas was ok - the prices were good, but the food was lacking.

Staff and service was great. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early the first day and early pick-up and check-in weren't issues. The staff at the front desk even verified our departing flight reservations and scheduled our shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AABA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very disappointed. It was very pretty but the service was very poor. They ran out of ice during happy hour. The bathroom sinks didn't work properly. The service people were very slow and un-accomodating. I could not recommend this resort to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LonghornMikeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were traveling with 7 people, 4 adults and 3 kids aged 5, 8 and 12 and came from Ambergris Caye. We rented a three bedroom room which was a very big disappointment as it was not really a three room configuration but three rooms put together because of an outside door. The resort did not even have a master key for the outside door and had to go a cut three keys for us. the entrance to the "room" was from the backside not ocean front as I had assumed. There was also a very long dark stairway to get the outer door as well as very long steep stairwell again to go the upstairs king size bed room. All of the rooms were very dark and old. The beds were comfortable but the kitchen is pretty much useless unless you want to put things in the small refrigerator. i would equate the room to a Hampton Inn with a view.

The property itself is very pretty and had a lot of shade. There is a lot of erosion here so no room to run on the beach and it was much hotter than Ambergris Caye. I am not sure if this is always true but the breeze was not constant and when we woke up the first morning it was very still and hot at 6:30am. There was a continental breakfast that was pretty good. The pastry chef from the bakery on the property provided different goodies every morning. The apple donuts were amazing. The same pastry chef baked a cake for my daughter's birthday and we all enjoyed that. The work out room was very smelly and hot as the A/C is not left on and the equipment is old but in working condition.
The restaurant has a beautiful view but overall the food is just fair. Lunch seemed to be better than dinner and the food did take some time to come out. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and the bartenders were very friendly.
Overall we felt that for the price $655 a night for the three bedroom it was overpriced and we could have stayed in two rooms somewhere else that actually had a ocean front entrance.

Room Tip: Do not rent a three bedroom. Ask first how you enter the room from the backside or the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieJ825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were disappointed in Robert's Grove Resort. The accommodations were fine but aging and the service was lackadaisical at best. The restaurants were odd and unaccommodating with hours that suit the hotel versus suiting the guests. Breakfast was available from 7 - 10:30 and then nothing until noon which seems odd. Most resorts offer continuous restaurant service. When the resort ran out of ice and left guests standing with empty ice buckets they seemed surprised that anyone would care?? There are several pools which is a plus but the grounds have very poor lighting at night so be sure you know where you are going. All in all, it wasn't an awful experience but wasn't what we were hoping for based on the reviews we had read.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
615 reviews
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $146 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing