We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Get Away from it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place to Get Away from it all!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My son and I stayed for 4 nights at Robert's Grove and were taken care of from the start. Our goal was to get our Open Water Dive Certification and we did that and got more! We were greeted by a very friendly and outgoing staff and the Dive Shop under the leadership of Francisco, was outstanding. He made us feel comfortable and that we knew our stuff!!! We definitely will be back next year for our advanced qual and stay a bit longer for some rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagnarB767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    241
    86
    38
    12
See reviews for
207
317
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

While in Belize we were able to spend three nights at Roberts Grove and we loved it!! It was a perfect get away for us. My husband and I really enjoyed the beachfront chairs each day for relaxing and enjoying the sun and the view and sound of the ocean. Our room was amazing and the rooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly especially Greg (security) he is always smiling while he works and never fails to speak as he passes by. The food was great but I would like to have seen more choices on the continental breakfast bar as I am gluten free and the only choice I had was fruit. I would love to be able to stay at Roberts Grove again someday!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

There was some mix up with our online reservations and they didn't have us in their system, but their driver gave us a ride from the airport and the staff gave us a very nice room. They were keen to get the reservation number and make sure there were no other unexpected guests.

The resort has a lot of amenities - 3 restaurants, 3 pools, small craft, bikes and a rental golf cart. It's just a really comfortable, friendly place to stay. the staff are truly wonderful. They couldn't have been more helpful and gracious, whatever their task was. We'd been here 3 years ago with a large group and it was nice to see that the new owners have been upgrading the rooms and the grounds.

We ate the continental breakfast that was included with the room. There was fruit, yougurt, toast & toppings, along with other baked goods. Usually, there was one savory item, like empanadas, quiche, or pizza (well, close enough to pizza anyway). It wasn't destination food, but it was perfectly adequate. The lunches and dinners at Robert's Grove and at Habenero's were very good to excellent and, again, the service was superior. The lighting is very dim at the Roberts Grove dining room, which was our only quibble. We didn't eat at Hot Mama's, although we would have if they hadn't already run out of the day's special, which is probably a sign of good food.

It's a great place for a romantic getaway, a family vacation or a group vacation. We would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a lot of time on your balcony, get a windward room which will be cooler and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Clemens, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's been almost a year since our trip to Belize, but I wanted to make sure I provided this truly earned thumbs up for Robert's Grove. The service was stellar, the rooms not only beautiful, clean but also spacious. The staff was friendly and there to assist in any way without making you feel smothered. It was our first trip to Belize, and we're about to embark on our second in 2 weeks. If it wasn't for our need to see other parts of Belize this time we would definitely want to go back to Robert's Grove. We recommend it to anyone that will listen!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a room on the 2nd floor or above for the best views and a relaxing place to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 2 weeks and by the end of it we felt like we have been dopted into a new family! The staff was one of the biggest highlights of our experience. Jennilee and Floret at the front desk were our daily morning sunshine and Greg the head of security always welcomed us with the greatest smile. The only thing we would change is to stay there longer. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a kitchenette were great for long stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week and found the resort a wonderful place to stay and relax. We flew down from Belize city with Tropic Air which is a 30 minute flight with some beautiful views especially if the plane (around 12 seats) is full as you get to sit with the pilot in the front seat! Some other guests did however rent a car and drive down which took a few hours.

The resort is well maintained and ALL the staff from the gardeners to the reception are extremely polite and courteous. Service in the restaurants is a little on the slow side but who's rushing, we were on holiday.

The included continental breakfast that we had was more basic than we were used to but we survived- and you could pay for extras like eggs benedict, pancakes etc if you needed anything else.
The restaurant / breakfast room overlooks the sea and you'll be hard pressed to find many with a more perfect view. You can however also sit outside and be even closer to the sea.

Food on room service however was very good value and plentiful, we couldn't eat it all.

We stayed in one of the basic / rustic standard rooms which was more than adequate for us. It had a huge comfortable bed, nice bathroom with a good powerful shower and a fridge to keep the beers cold. There is also a safe in each room and a tv which we never use on holiday anyway.
The standard rooms are in 2 story blocks facing the sea, some limited to partial views only due to the foliage etc.

Wi fi is FREE and accessible from the rooms which was a nice bonus.

Bicycles are also free to guests and we cycled to Placencia village about 4 miles away on most days. It is very hot but totally flat all the way and there was a light breeze when we were there which helped to keep us cool on route. You also get to watch the small planes landing and even cycle around the edge of the air strip.

Placencia village is small, quaint and very rustic with lots of arty gift and craft shacks, bars / beach shacks to eat. We fell in love with it and the people who were extremely friendly. For the most part people either waved or spoke to us as we cycled around.

The beach is feet away from the rooms and is cleaned repeatedly in order to keep it free from the sea grass which is constantly being washed up. When we were there, there was a strong breeze and the water was never clear enough to go snorkelling, but this may not always be the case.

The resort has a nice marina over the road which also has a mexican themed bar and restaurant and a bakery which overlook the water and beautiful yachts. We used to walk over every evening to watch the sun set at the end of the jetty and on one occasion actually saw dolphins swimming past. The view from the jetty was amazing to look at with the mountains in the distance, rain forest in front and then the mangroves up to the lagoon. We found ourselves being drawn to this place each evening as there was no one else that seemed to have discovered our secret. The only thing missing was a nice seat to sit on to take in the view. There is some construction work being carried out at the marina and things are expanding there - We hope this will not detract or become to big too spoil this beautiful quiet location or in fact to damage the eco system and wildlife there.

We did a few trips while we were there to the Monkey River, The Cockscomb Jaguar reserve and a snorkelling trip to Silk Caye which were very good but a little expensive. We were lucky enough to see our first ever manatee, although not sure if this had anything to do with the large tip i had promised the guide if we saw one!!
If you do go on the in land trips bug spray is a MUST we still managed to get some good bites even with spray and long trousers. We saw numerous people who were peppered with bites and it spoilt there trip having gone un prepared.

There is also a lot of development in the area including a big concrete jetty in Placencia village which we were told by some of the locals they voted against as it was being built for future cruise ships to visit the area. A few miles from the resort they are in the process of building a big residential estate the main focus of which appears to be who can build the biggest most ostentatious house, tasteful - no , in keeping with the surroundings - definitely No.

Overall we had a great time at Roberts Grove and should we ever be lucky enough to return to Placencia we would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a great holiday.

The only things i would change at the resort are to try and make the wooden doors close more quietly in the standard rooms as everyone just seems to bang them shut, and to have a seating area on the deck at the end of the jetty to enjoy the wonderful sunsets.

Room Tip: Upper room for a better sea view and no chance of hearing furniture being dragged across the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at Robert's Grove 2/9-2/17/2013. This was our first time in Belize, and I had chosen this location based on TripAdvisor reviews. Y'all were spot-on!!

The service was the best, the answer was always an enthusiastic "Yes" with a smile. Lots of helpful information from the Front Desk staff, and always great service in the restaurants and bars. The food was great in all of the restaurants. The Saturday BBQ included lobster, and gigantic shrimp, plus the pork and fixins. The Mexican restaurant had a very tasty paella with the largest crab claw I have ever seen! The free breakfasts were pretty good, always some kind of different fresh meat/cheese and sweet pastry from the bakery along with fruit and yogurt. The only disappointment was the Sweet Mama's supposedly authentic Belizean Food. Their dinner special was Chicken Fingers. Nothing but BBQ Chicken as an alternative. That should NEVER happen!! (we'd had the BBQ Chicken the day before for lunch, and it was excellent and authentic) I love their potato salad with papaya, I'm working on copying that recipe.

Our room was spectacular. We got an unexpected free upgrade to the Family Classic Vista when we called to confirm our reservations and asked for ocean view. Room number 2, directly above the main bar/restaurant, with the most amazing view of the beach and pier. It was also unexpectedly quiet, next door to the Spa. The bedding was comfortable, the water pressure and temperature in the shower was great, and we made full use of the little refrigerator. The balcony was awesome! My hubby napped in the hammock almost every day while I sat in the comfy adirondack chairs and used the free wifi. The wifi was kind of annoying, lots of disconnects and slowness. But that made you put the computer down and go enjoy the beach!

The Spa was very nice. I had a deep tissue massage and was melted for the rest of the week. The layout of the resort was very convenient, always plenty of beach loungers available, always a pool with no one in it. Lots of sofas and comfy chairs in the bar/restaurant area for lounging/socializing/reading. I think the pier bar should have been staffed more often. There were always people on the pier but you had to walk back to the main bar to get service.

We took 2 of their excursions: Silk Caye Snorkel and Monkey River Tour. Both were EXCELLENT!! We had a great time and got lots of pix. The reef is comparable to the AUS Great Barrier Reef in coral colors and variety of fish. Bring plenty of high-powered bug repellent for Monkey River.

The only negative thing, that I did not see mentioned in any of the other reviews, and is not really the resort's fault, it is something that needs to be addressed by the government of Belize is - the garbage on the beach. The resort has 2 guys with rakes and wheelbarrows working all day every day to rake up that little patch in front of the resort. But if you want to take long walks on the beach, you will find PILES of plastic bottles, styrofoam junk, shoes, plastic bags, even what looks like fresh kitchen garbage. YUCK!!! I am not sure I will come back to Belize because of this. Or maybe next time stay at one of their private islands, which seem to have cleaner beaches.

Random Placencia tips: taxis are $10 each way and they are all mini-buses, so SHARE! Prices at that very large Grocery/Liquor store at the edge of town are outrageous, shop at the smaller ones off the beaten path. Seriously $15US more for a bottle of Absolut! And if you are planning to drive in Belize, be aware that there are NO road signs and most roads are dirt.

Room Tip: When you confirm your reservations, ask if there are any ocean view available in your category. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh3rryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
823 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#7 of 19 in Placencia
260 reviews
5.0 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing