We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orange,
2 reviews
“Business trip”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The best trip I have ever had. The best service I've ever had. The best food I've ever had. I will definitely be back. Make sure that you put a bug spray when you go out. Even if you don't go anywhere the sand fleas will bet on you. You can't see them and you can't feel them until after you are bitten

Room Tip: I liked the second floor because I think I had more of a breeze than a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    241
    86
    38
    12
See reviews for
207
317
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menorca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were at Robert's Grove beach, in front of the bungalows, and a pair of pelicans past flying low (20 ft) to the north, side by side, sailing, following the cost line. Ok, we didn't really care about it. The funny thing was that 20' later they came back flying south, at same cruising speed and altitude! Fantastic sight! We decided to have a cocktail in the deck's hut. Then a swim, a shower and a good seafood dinner! We only stayed there a couple of days but it was worth the trip by road from San Ignacio.

Room Tip: We liked to be at ground level, with a quiet veranda not far from one of the sevaral swiming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raimon_d_Menorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have stayed at Robert's Grove several times and each stay retains the excellent service and friendliness of all staff. The rooms are superior with large king size beds and very comfortable. I highly recommend this stay as one of your best!

Room Tip: The "B" rooms have a fantastic view of the ocean! Lovely to sit on the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAllen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our Honeymoon in Belize. After reading many reviews here and elsewhere we decided to stay at Robert's Grove. In all honesty, after seeing the other options in Placencia we were so glad that we chose to stay here. The rooms are not exactly 5 star but they met our expectations and then some. The beach was fabulous, the pools a perfect temperature, and the food was definitely worth writing home about! The best part about Robert's Grove is that you eat every meal 20 feet from the beach. The head Chef actually comes out of the kitchen every night to say hello and see how your trip is going. First Class service! We also took the free bikes into downtown placencia, about 4 miles one way from the resort, and had a great time. It's a very flat ride so just about anyone can do it. They also offer paddle boat, kayaks, and sea kayaks for no cost. You can take these out on both the lagoon and Ocean side....all within walking distance! If you'ld like to set up a snorkeling or diving trip it's very easy to do this through the front desk, and the trips they book have excellent guides. One last thing, they offer luandry service if you're going to be there a while and wish to pack light. There is a cost for this, but it's super cheap! Hope this is helpful!

Room Tip: Every room is close to the ocean and pools, but check to see if yours actually faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great place. I highly recommend this place. Did the adventure package and had a blast. All the staff knew me by my name and were very friendly. Only bad thing was the sunburn and the sand fleas. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ningals3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I will be returning to Robert's Grove for the second time this year in 4 weeks, and I cannot wait!
This property is everything you can want in a smaller package with big resort service.
All standard rooms have a view as the ocean is literally steps away. The water is indescribable, and the sand is white and soft. The sea grass that accumulates from the tides is raked up every morning and the water is warm
They have 3 pools. The first one you come across is close to the check in reception area and has fountains streaming off the roof. Then you walk to your left of the reception and enter the lobby/bar area and then the restaurant. The second pool is just down the walk and further down is a small infinity pool.
Just off this path, just after the restaurant is a long dock that takes you to a palapa at the end with a bar and lounge chairs. The views are amazing.
The room rate we had included a continental breakfast which was enough for me but not my husband so he ordered off the menu. Prices are in Belizean dollars, so take off half for USD. Their dollar is worth two of ours. Fixed.
The water is drinkable, the people friendly, the native language is English and the seawater....did I mention awesome!
My husband fly fishes and we chartered Wayne twice in March and plan to do so again at least twice this November. Bone fishing is fun (for him) and this time he will tackle permit and tarpon.
I go along to enjoy the long boat ride and then snorkel and laze my time on any one of the small islands we have stopped at. Lunch is provided in the charter rate.
There are some sand fleas, and some mosquitoes, so keep the spray handy. This did not dampen my enjoyment, though.
There is only one beer, and Mike loved it while I loved the rum! The bartenders at Robert's Grove know how to do a mojito! They also have a Saturday BBQ that everyone can attend. People from their sister property, Singing Sands, come down for the party. It's a fixed price but I cannot remember now what it was.
The beds are comfy, the pillows great, and the ac works. the breezes at night are enough, but those pesky mozzies make open windows a bad idea. Most have screens, though.
The resort has bikes to loan, free, and riding to Singing Sands for dinner or drinks isn't too long of a trip. We did not ride into the town of Placencia last time but will make a point of it this time as we are traveling with friends and will want to visit the stores and bars, etc.
Being from Alaska, Belize is quite a trek, but more than worth it once you get there. You do need to take a puddle jumper from BZE to Placencia and that cost is about $200 rt USD. But renting a car is about $700 for a week and the drive is upwards of 3 hours. I want to be there sooner than that! Maya Air and TropicAir are the carriers. Great service, safe flights, beautiful scenery.
Really, you could not ask for a better place to stay. Cannot wait to get back! I said that already..

Room Tip: Ask for building B, upstairs. Best views at the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I can't say enough about the staff and beautiful property that we found at Robert's Grove. It is an absolutely beautiful property with everything you could need right on the Hotel property. We stayed in a beachfront room with an incredible view. The furnishings were beautiful, extremely clean with great beds and linens. We ate many meals from breakfast to dinner and never had a bad meal, the food and drinks were fantastic. They make a mean dirty martini. The staff were all amazing and I wish I could remember all of their names. I had an amazing massage at their Spa. Chantal and Floret were the best. Floret had me laughing every time I saw her. They truly make you feel like long lost friends. The three pools are amazing, including the saltwater pool. Hammocks everywhere to relax in. It sits RIGHT on the beautiful ocean. Iguanas everywhere which was amazing, they were huge. The size of the room along with the balcony were huge. We found the people of Belize to be some of the warmest and kindest people we have met in our travels and we travel extensively. They are also members of an organization called Packing for a Purpose. We were able to take three large suitcases of donations for the Placencia Health Clinic as well as the Placencia Humane Society. It was the highlight of our trip! Dr Alex and Ms Dawn from the Clinic met us at RG to collect the donations and Doran and Fred from the Humane Society met with us at Singing Sands, their sister property at which we also stayed were kind enough to meet us to collect the donations. They are all amazing people,doing so much for the people and animals of Belize with very limited resources. Please, if you go, check out their website and try to become involved in this amazing program. We will be returning to Belize and won't hesitate to stay again at Robert's Grove.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehawaii37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
822 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#7 of 19 in Placencia
260 reviews
5.0 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing