We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Seminole, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better and Better”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been coming to Roberts Grove since it first opened.. It is well documented as one of the nicest places in Belize. However some places tend to go down hill as they age. Roberts Grove is the exception in that it continues to improve on what I thought could not be improved upon! The service and facilities and amenities just get better and better with time..... Cliff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    240
    86
    38
    12
See reviews for
206
317
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Familia, Cayo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I live in the west of Belize and come to Roberts Grove every year for a short vacation. Had a little trouble with a special room I had reserved, which was not available although confirmed, but the front desk staff solved that problem. The cleanliness and the very good staff are always a pleasure, not mentioning the beautiful views and the well taken care of grounds. I saw some improvements compared to my last stay, new paint etc., which was welcome. The complimentary breakfast was just ok, with lots of fresh fruit, toast and some pastries, some of which were a little dry - they did not taste really fresh. My friend ordered links and had to peel off the plastic cover, which was rather odd. Other than that the food was good, albeit a bit pricey. But then consider the very nice setup and the pretty dishes, plus - again - very nice service personnel and it makes it worth it. Felt pampered again!

Room Tip: Check out the room before you take it, if it has the view you want, etc. Most rooms have a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnyFarmSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The place was wonderful, people so friendly and so happy to help you with anything.
The 1 and 2 bedroomed villas were so spacious and clean; housekeeping did a great job.
The restaurant inside was great and the outside seating area was awesome, right on the water.
We had a 5 year old granddaughter with us and she loved the place. The staff that looked after us at mealtimes did a beautiful job of making sure everything was what we wanted, Johnny was a great server, always smiling and I am sure it wasn't always easy with such a large group.
We were sad to leave, but we hope to be back next year.
Thank you to all the staff that looked after us.
Celia Lockwood
Samantha , Lindsey Malcom

Room Tip: We stayed in the one and two bedroomed villas, perfect if you want plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Last Friday night (not the Katy Perry song) I joined some friends at Roberts Grove Seaside restaurant for their in season Lobster buffet and it was amazing! The spread included a wonderful salad bar fruit table and various other dishes. In addition, they had a whole pig and other cuts of meat, but the draw was definitely the lobster tails! I had one small plate with a little of everything but then focused on the lobster! I had 3 and a half tails before calling it quits to try some dessert. Pricey at $60bz a person but worth it for what you get compared to the states!

Then just last night I went with a group of guys to Roberts Grove restaurant at their marina for the Mexican food buffet, and man it was good! The table was overflowing with nachos, tortillas, beef, chicken, shrimp, pork, fresh pico de gallo, guacamole, and lots more! We ate and ate, it was so fresh! A piña colade and desert finished me off. Great atmosphere right next to the boats. I took a panoramic 360 degree picture here to give a feel: http://photosynth.net/view/2c2260ab-4caf-4d51-a4fd-07d1928317f9 again, it's a little pricey at $35 a person but great food!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckinleypritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

2nd stay at RG. They have recently updated the dock, and stained all the wood on the property which gave it a fresh look. Food is great. Most people do not hang out at the resort, but there is plenty to do there, Hobie's, kayaks, for use, etc. Like almost all the beaches on the coast in Placencia you will find sea weeds and no see ums. If you are susceptible to the buggers you will get bit if you hang out in the sand. There are 3 pools sea side to choose from as an option from the beach. I would be careful in choosing a room. There are some great sea views and others with garden views that are set back. I prefer the sea view. We had a little snafu with our room, AC did not work, but they graciously moved us and had it working the next day. The service was excellent and the accommodations very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinogringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife, daughter and granddaughter spent 5 wonderful nights at Roberts Grove. The accommodation was excellent and the staff excellent. Our room was large, comfortable and well equipped. The restaurant food was good with a great selection – especially for breakfast.
The hotel is on the beach so we woke to the sunrise and watched the sunset in the evening over the clear blue ocean.
We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the ocean. WiFi is available but limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came here after spending four days in San Ignacio. Food was pretty good, breakfast was over priced if you didn't want the free continental. Staff was very kind and accommodating.

We took our PADI open water class here with Francisco. It was an amazing experience. Francisco was so mellow and made the experience relaxing and fun. You should make it to some of the little keys around here for day snorkeling trips. They are so beautiful. You will swim with sharks, rays, turtles, etc.

I'd come back here in a minute.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
819 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#7 of 19 in Placencia
259 reviews
5.0 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing