We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roberts Grove Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Placitas, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Roberts Grove Beach Resort”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Roberts Grove is a fabulous resort. The service is excellent and the rooms are great and very reasonable. Lots of amenities included, such as fitness center, swimming in their beautiful pools, as well as equipment provided for canoeing & kayaking, hobie cat sailboating, and bikes available for biking to Placencia or just for a local ride. Great on-site bar & restaurants and spa. You can have a full vacation and never leave the resort, or you can have the Roberts Grove concierge set up tours for scuba diving, deep sea fishing, snorkeling, kayaking up the Stann Creek River, boating up the Monkey River for Howler Monkey and Manatee watching, visiting the Maya Ruins & Cave swimming. One of the best vacations we have experienced!

Room Tip: The Family classic is a great choice as it has the feel of a villa but is cheaper, and will nicely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSueCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    241
    86
    38
    12
See reviews for
207
317
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A friend and I recently spent two nights at Robert's Grove while working on travel writing assignments. We were at the resort to work, not play. We both found the wireless to be strong enough for our purposes. Also, because we visited in September, the heat was intense. In our first room the AC didn't work. We asked the front desk to fix it twice. But when we returned to the room, the AC still wasn't working. We were assuming we would not sleep well that night. But within an hour the front desk called to ask if we could move next door. It was around 10 PM, but we did move, since the AC worked in that room. They let us move most of our belongings the next morning, since it was rather late.

The setting is lovely and the rooms spacious and well laid out. The food was decent, although the coffee was not the best. But I'll admit that the caesar salad I had for lunch was the best one I've ever had in Belize. (I live on Ambergris Caye fulltime.) I was quite surprised that the waitress actually made it right there, at our table. We also visited Habanero and enjoyed the restaurant and food there, as well.

My only true complaint is that I could smell the septic tank odor around the complex. It wasn't overwhelming, but was definitely noticeable. For this size of resort, I'd assumed they would have upgraded to a packaged sanitary treatment system. Hopefully the new owners will do so in the future...

In every sense, the service was exceptional. From my first call to make a reservation, to follow up after we left. I had forgotten my IPhone charger in the room. I called the resort late in the day, after we left, and asked that they look for it. The next day the maids found it, and the front desk called me back and asked what to do with it. Within a day they had sent it to my home in San Pedro, on a local flight, without any delay.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time to play with the water toys, so will have to return. Next time I'll come with my husband, for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HipHopKaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from 7 days at Roberts Grove. Great staff, pleasant room, loved activities. Hotel Restaurant food left a bit to be desired, very average. Ocean toys could be updated. Still, with that said I would like to return someday. At times it felt a bit surreal, warm ocean breeze blowing through the resturant as I sipped a tropical cocktail made with local cocoanut rum, then the night sky lures me down a 150 foot dock to a view the milky way and more stars then I've seen in a decade..... only the sound of the ocean waves... Yea... Someday I'll return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Roberts grove for my wife's birthday. We stayed for 8 days and had a great time. I have stayed at 5 places in Belize and this was far the best resort yet. The staff was outstanding, the staff were treated well and the excursions are the best we have ever been on.
I cannot say enough about how great the food was. The executive chef Peter was very talented and his staff worked hard to make our stay above and beyond average.
The owner Jean-Marc was constantly working and making sure everything was perfect for the guests. He was there early in the morning and was still working late at night every night. The attention to details was extreme. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireman700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I went during the off season. Incredible resort, beautiful primitive location with first class service and accomdations. Took advantage of excursions and free use of hobie cat. Highly recommended. Great restaurants as well. We travel a lot, and really hated to leave. We will be back.

Room Tip: No bad location here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonidas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First, I want to say how amazing the trip was to this Hotel. Second, I want to say how incredible the staff was.

Wayne was our Fish tour guide and words can't express how awesome he was. The boat tour is 100% worth the cost... I promise! The private island is BEYOND gorgeous.

The wait staff - Ricky & Salum helped us EVERYDAY and were outstanding. They were awesome to be around and just really genuinely nice people.

The owners- I met one not even knowing it. He just was coming around and started talking to me about fishing and the location. 100% awesome...

Finally Ardith & Jennifer was the front desk worker's while I was there and they took the time to talk to us everyday. Can't thank them enough for checking up on us regularly to make sure our stay was above all standards.

I highly recommend this place. The management is great. The tour guides truly care about what they are doing. Most importantly the property is well taken care of it.

Room Tip: I was in the Classic Vista's which I think were great. I was next to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dangriga, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

In the under developed south of Belize one can find Roberts Grove, Placencia, Belize. Truly a wonderful experience. Having traveled to that area of Belize to look at vacation homes, condos and developments I found myself here for what turned out to be two nights. In a nutshell I spent $450US for 2 nights lodging, 5 meals and a day trip snorkling at the Jacques Cousteau Barrier Reef where I swam with various Rays, 4'-5' Lemon Sharks and one massive and I do mean massive Sea Turtle. Condos were available but I assume not for long as the owner Jean-Marc had only a few left. Not to worry all. There are many new developments being created in the Stann Creek region. You will be well taken care of a by a very attentive staff

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper. The A/C units are older and a bit noisey. I had spent the prior 2 nights in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChapWehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
823 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#7 of 19 in Placencia
260 reviews
5.0 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing