We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Inn
Nearby Hotels
$175
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$318
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Placencia)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$119
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$102
$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveler rating
521
119
45
27
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
119
45
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerblancaneaux lodgeshell phonemare restaurantfrancis ford coppolaour honeymoongauguin grillseafront cottagebeach barcoppola winesseaview cottagethai massagecoppola resortsprivate gardengrilled seafoodrijsttafella lancha
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 724 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent 1 week at the Turtle Inn with our 2 college aged children so that we could unplug and relax. We found Turtle Inn to be just what we were looking for. The 2 bedroom villa on the beach was comfortable, with a wonderful view of the beach, great breezes and the sound of the waves lulling us to sleep each night. We loved the thatched roof, Balinese decor and large screened in porch. With no TV and essentially no internet access from the villa, we unplugged, read and chatted. There was internet access from the main restaurant/ building if need be. The beach is well kept, we kayaked and paddled boarded and enjoyed the pool. The staff was attentive and pleasant.
The 2 tours we did through the hotel were interesting and well done. With the Monkey River excursion, the sounds of the howler monkeys in the rain forest were in itself an experience. Terri our guide was well informed and he seemed to know just where to go to give us the best glimpses of the monkeys, birds, and crocodiles. Our full day snorkeling trip was also a hit. The waters were clear, warm and we saw sea turtles, multiple colorful fish, sharks, and a sting ray. Our guide Doran was quite good. The lunch on the very small island surrounded by white beach and the Carribean was great.

I would recommend this resort if you are looikng for something a little less cookie cutter in Carribean resorts, and rustic in all the best ways, There is no air conditioning but between the fans and the breezes and of course the water in the day we were quite comfortable. It is not a hot spot - by 10 pm the main lounge is pretty much vacant. It is quiet and private in a lovely setting. The staff is attentive, there are several dining options and we would especially recommend trying the Rice Table at Mares, Aunt Lubie's one night, and for a fantastic seafood grilled dinner on the beach at the Gaugain. It is also hard to beat having your breakfast delivered to you in the morning while sitting out on your porch watching the wind blow through the palms and the waves hitting the beach.
Finally. the town of Placencia is a very small fishing village. We tried the Rumfish y Vino one night and had great meals of snapper: both the red curry and the plantain encrusted were on the spot. Highly recommend that and the Tutti Fruttii next door- the gelato was as good as we have had anywhere. The Tipsy Tuna was a fun, brightly colored bar/ grill on the beach in town where we enjoyed a cocktail. If you decide to go, do bring bug spray - they are everywhere, but did not deter our fun in any way.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend on the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HScharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

When you're travelling and depending on your hotel, restaurant, etc. to provide a positive experience, one thing that can't be understated is the value of trust and honesty. You think it would be a given for proprietors and establishments to to be trustworthy and honest, but unfortunately it's not always the case. However, Turtle Inn exceeds in this category. It's not just the management, but the staff as well.

I didn't stay at Turtle Inn, but my encounter with them was so positive I am compelled to right a positive review. My wife and I were robbed at a guesthouse in Placencia, with all of our valuables taken. Money, passports, credit cards, etc. We were left cleaned out and in a real bind as without a passport, we could not return home. After cobbling together the funds to take a bus to Belmopan where we could work with the embassy to get emergency passports, I received an email from Martin Krediet, General Manager, letting me know that one of his staff had found my passport and credit cards on the beach. I planned to hop on the next bus down to Placencia to recover my passport, but instead he put it on a courier plane up to me at no charge the very next morning. His only concern was for our safety and well-being and he hoped to provide at least one positive among an otherwise negative experience.

Some things proprietors can't control - weather, heat, humidity, biting insects outdoors, etc. (it's the tropics after all). However, being around good, honest, trustworthy people can make a challenging situation a little more pleasant. Turtle Inn excelled in making use, non-guests, feel comfortable and taken care of while away from home during a bad situation.

Thank you to Martin and the Turtle Inn crew for helping others in a time of need. Trust and honesty go a long way. I look forward to staying with you next time I am in Placencia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank LOMLCMOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TImngmnt1, Manager at Turtle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Many thanks for this wonderful review- we are happy to be able to asset in getting your belongings back to you ! Warm Regards, Martin Krediet- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We travel quite a bit, and were very pleased with this property. The location is very private, the staff wonderful and attentive to needs and detail, and the accommodations comfortable with a flair for romance. I was surprised that I had no trouble sleeping without AC, but the breeze and sounds of the ocean were perfect. Every morning, we had a beautiful beach to walk on, and couldn't help but smile about the surroundings,

Food was great every time we ate, whether at the resort, on the dive boat or in the village. We loved our dives - Zane, Bertrand and the rest of the crew were great, and the sites were beautiful.

We definitely intend to return, and could see ourselves doing this on a regular basis.

Room Tip: The seafront cottages are wonderful, with delightful sounds and breeze
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouKyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We came here to unwind for four days on the beach after our Mayan adventures through the jungles of Mexico, Guatemala and Belize, and it was not hard to do so. It is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot, staffed by a very friendly and attentive team, who serve lovely food (and, of course, Coppola's wines). Our favourite was the Gaugin Grill, a no-frills set-up on the beach where they grill fresh fish and seafood simply but spectacularly well. We also came here to dive and there too it did not disappoint. We dived and snorkelled on and outside the reef with the hotel's dive crew, run by Bertrand and Zane who after us excellently: we are novice divers and felt safe in their hands. Their shop could not be more convenient - it is based on the lagoon on the other side of the road from the hotel - they have a lovely dive boat, and take you to some lovely places. Be sure to go with them, even if only for a snorkel. The whale shark eluded us - we have a reason to go back, and will - but the dives were sensational: memorable moments included bring accompanied for ten minutes by a pod of dolphins and on another diving with a 150 year old loggerhead turtle.

Room Tip: We were a family of four with two teenagers and took a villa with two rooms. The villa was lovely with a large living area but had two rooms with double beds which were not huge and our children don't like sharing a double bed! The solution is to ask the hotel to set up a third bed in the villa. They will be happy to do this.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hulot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Turtle Inn was our last stop on our journey through Guatemala and Belize and we were ready for the beach! It didn't disappoint. Although the biggest of the three Francis Ford Coppola lodges (25 rooms) it feels very laid-back which belies all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes and almost makes you forget this is definitely a 'luxury' resort. The rooms here are really big and airy with original craft work and a Balinese theme. Each has a large terrace and a big semi-open bathroom leading to a small walled oriental garden with an additional outdoor shower. The whole living area and terrace is screened with fine netting which means there are few insect problems. We slept with the carved wooden doors open so we saw the sun rise and got the breeze from the sea.
It is scarily easy to do not much! Two swimming pools - we often had the adults only one to ourselves; the Laughing Fish beach bar; free bikes; a dive shop and spa over the road; and a beach with hammocks, canoes, and body boards. The service was very good and you felt people cared about doing things well - and with an eco ethos. There's a big main restaurant with the standard Coppola Italian menu and wine list; Aunty Luba's Belizean diner over the road; and (our favourite) the Gauguin beach restaurant, which served simple grilled local fish.
Don't go expecting a string of sandy rural villages, that changed some years ago. Some scary modern developments are springing up along the 26 mile Placencia peninsula and sadly the beach beyond the hotel has way too much rubbish washed up on it. However, Placencia and Seine Bight have retained their character. They are worth the bike ride and give you a glimpse of the reality of daily life in Belize.
We really enjoyed our time at Turtle Inn and would recommend it, especially at the end of a longer holiday in Central America. Thanks to everyone for their kindness.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, airy and beautifully decorated. Maybe avoid the ones around the two swimming pools though.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baobabgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews