We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Relax in Comfort”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Turtle Inn operates under Francis Ford Coppola’s philosophy: I like simplicity; I don’t need luxury. Of course, achieving the beautiful simplicity of the Turtle Inn is anything but simple. It takes a staff that outnumbers the guests and the expert guidance of general manager Martin Krediet. What they create is a wonderful place to unwind. We recently stayed for a week and came back fully relaxed, although with a touch of sadness about having to leave. Some of the things that made our stay particularly enjoyable were the beautiful oceanfront location, our lovely villa, which included a delightful garden and outdoor shower, dining on the beach and at the Oceanside bar, well prepared food, attentive staff who anticipated our wishes, the chance to catch up on a lot of reading, and the availability of interesting activities such as snorkeling, swimming, and various nature trips. We also enjoyed the fact that this area is very quiet. There are no motor sports off the beach; only the sound of the waves, breezes, and birds. The hotel will help make the quick trip into town where there are other places to dine, interesting galleries, and even a couple of clubs (although we did not explore them). This is not a flashy place with posh rooms, fancy restaurants, and a disco. Instead, it is the perfect place to go when you want to be with family and friends, be outdoors, swim, read, relax, and get away from the bustle of everyday life. This was our second stay here and we look forward to a third.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 656 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Turtle Inn is a beautifully designed resort with an Asian flair. I loved the woodwork and the garden settings throughout. The service was very attentive, the beach was wide and clean and the food was great. It is very refreshing to see that they embraced the history of the property and the staff were able to share the very interesting history (ask about it). The food service staff was very attentive and the restaurant is worth trying even if you are not staying there. Top notch from me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BambooH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The overall rating of accommodation here depends on location .We had a fantastic villa facing the sea. I would not have been happy in one of the villas at the back of the property near the road.
Meals were of varying quality from very good to poor We ate very well a la carte but came unstuck with an Indonesian Special which was very uninteresting and served lukewarm.
Staff were both courteous and fun.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a sea front villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WolseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first trip to Belize and we traveled throughout the country. This was at the top of the list and we loved everything about the place! It has a very Baliesque feel to it which we love. The property is beautiful and the service was excellent. They really made every attempt to make us comfortable and taken care of. The food at the hotel was excellent and we enjoyed all of it..., the bar had amazing drinks and food, Auntie Luba's was delicious, and the Grill on the beach was amazing. The manager Martin seemed to always be available and really made us feel like special guests. The only downside we experienced were some bug bites from the sand fly...this is not a hotel issue but is just a forewarning if you plan to visit Placencia. We visited the local pharmacy for a local remedy that helped tremendously!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent our 10 year anniversary at Turtle Inn in Belize and adored it. While nothing is perfect, we would gladly return and we found the simple luxury fantastic. The staff is incredibly friendly and the room is beautiful (though the lighting could be improved and the Indonesian style was a bit confusing, considering we were in Central America.) Loved the small touches like the outdoor shower and the live plants growing in the bathroom. Also, I got two massages as they were fantastic, Thai style. We took a fascinating howler monkey and manatee tour which was great. The only areas of improvement were the food -- we had many good meals but it wasn't what I would call phenomenal. Also, the bugs were an issue. I wasn't prepared for how hungry they'd be - ask for a net over your bed on the first night (it made a HUGE difference) and once you covered yourself with OFF, it was fine. A charming, unique resort with a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was a bit hesitant about Turtle Inn before we arrived as I had read some less than positive reviews. However, it really was a nice place to stay. We had a two bedroom villa (as we are a family of two adults and two children) which was very spacious and comfortable.
I must say that the room was very dark with dim lighting which made it difficult to find anything in the evenings. Also, the beds were very small (double size) which was odd as the room was very large.At home we have a queen sized bed so we found the double very squashy.
Also, being in Belize, we found it odd that the whole resort is Indonesian style. All of the decor etc has been brought from Indonesia or was made to look Indonesian, down to even the waiters' uniforms in the restaurant. We thought it was a bit disappointing that they didn't source their decor from Central America, seeing that's where we were!
Another annoyance was that there are no windows in the rooms at all - just fly screens and shutters. This means that there is no soundproofing whatsoever which was a problem because other guests regularly came back from bars well after midnight chattering at the top of their voices which woke us and our kids up. Also, in the room next to us, every night they watched movies at full volume or played loud music. Even early in the morning, the hotel employees wander around with wheelbarrows which clunk on the pathways disturbing our sleep, so if you're a light sleeper, this is probably not the place for you.

The movie night was fun, watching old Buster Keaton films. My son loved it too - though we had to go back to the room early as we were being eaten alive by mosquitoes. That's another thing... make sure you bring repellant.

The staff were very nice and helpful, apart from one guy in the dive shop who was totally uninterested. Whatever question we asked him, he answered "I don't know" or "it depends". We ended up going to another dive company in Placencia where they actually took the time to answer our questions and make us feel welcome.

We probably wouldn't stay here next time but can understand why many guests love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank addictedtotravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 8 days at the Turtle Inn. It was incredible! Not only was the seafront cottage perfect (C18), the staff there is amazing. They attend to your every need without question. A special thanks to Vicktor, who became our friend during the trip. Not only was he a great host, he is a wonderful guy. Thanks to all the staff!

BTW, we had beautiful weather EVERY day!

Room Tip: Seafront is the best choice if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
794 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
652 reviews
1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
19.9 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $375 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing