We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Staff”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here and five nights at a companion property, Blancaneux Lodge. If you do this trip, five nights at each location is too long; I would recommend four at Blancaneux and three here. The tent cabins are lovely and the staff is all really terrific. We had an Indonesian dinner one night, which was a highlight. Downsides are biting insects which a local told us were sand fleas, the absolute lack of air conditioning anywhere, and no fitness facilities. It would be a good idea to install perhaps a lounge that had air conditioning or a small fitness room with air, as it was quite hot when we were there and the only place we could get any relief was an ATM lobby at the local bank. The food at the inn and also in Placencia was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 664 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived at Turtle Inn after 3 nights at Blancaneaux Lodge, a sister property in the Jungle. We arrived to on open air lobby, restaurant and bar area. We were quickly handed a welcome cocktail and cold towels to cool off. Let the relaxation continue. Martin, the GM was there and introduced himself and welcomed us to the property. He was there EVERY day and was invested in our experience. He made us feel very welcomed. After a brief intro, we were escorted to a cabana right on the water. The fresh breeze comes through the screened in porch and windows. Comfy chairs, couch and ornate cabinets and doors highlighted the room. The bathroom was also screened in and full of fresh air. Then out back there was a small garden area that was focused on an outdoor shower. Awesome!!! Once we got settled we made our way to the beach bar and quickly got introduced to Jessie the bartender and Irvin and Randy who were part of the beach and activities staff. They were just great and met our every request and need. Great drinks, cold beers, snorkel equipment, stand up paddle boards, and of course bocci ball.

The food was delicious, the Italian influence is obvious and we came to learn the Edwin the Chef went to Italy as part of his training. Clearly Coppola is committed to excellence.

We went on a snorkeling trip that was fantastic, there are never future guarantees, but we saw an extensive variety of tropical fish, large rays(5ft in diameter), a leatherback turtle and dolphins.

Finally on our second to last night we were entertained by one of the most amazing electrical storms. The thunder and lightning was the most amazing we had experienced anywhere. It was followed but some overnight rain, but the next back was sunny and hot.

If you enjoy a good massage I recommend a combination Thai and essential oil. The massages are given in an out door cabana on the lagoon.

We went into Placencia one night, it is a quiet, small little village with some really enjoyable restaurants and bars. You can hide at the Secret Garden or have a Belikin beer and watch your favorite sporting event at the Barefoot Bar or Purple Space Monkey. You choose. Don't miss gelato at Tutti Frutti.

This property is small, quiet and relaxing. Fill your days with excursions, or find a lounge chair and do nothing. Have a great meal, and listen to the ocean as you go to sleep-Just enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnb2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my ideal boutique hotel...just the right size and lots of privacy, peace. The staff was fantastic and we got an upgrade to a beachfront cabin. Food good...intimate, relaxed. Went in early May a couple years ago and had the place to ourselves...must have been shoulder season. Coppola knows how to do it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanmelton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Upon arriving at turtle inn, we were greeted by the most welcoming and helpful staff. The bungalows are great, even though they are not air-conditioned. The outdoor shower was a plus. The pools are nice, but nothing to write home about. If you're looking for a beach resort, this isn't the place for you. The beach is pretty small, and there isn't much to do at the actual hotel. The staff is very accommodating to help you book tours or excursions with other companies. There is great diving and outdoor activities all around placencia, definitely a place to go. We stayed 4 nights/5 days and I definitely don't recommend staying any longer. The town itself is tiny, and can be seen in half a day. We got two great dives in - one with the hotel and one with a local spot across the street -splash dive center. This is a divers paradise, not beautiful white sand beaches. The food at the hotel was spectacular. Seriously better than any of the local spots in town.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kyia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just got home for an amazing hotel stay at Turtle Inn. We stayed in the family pavilion. We had a 2 bedroom villa, living room, outdoor shower and private pool. Each morning breakfast arrived while we overlooked the sea. We rode our complimentary bikes into the village for happy hour. The layout of the hotel was perfect. We had privacy yet knew hotel staff was nearby to cater to all our needs. Food was delicious, particularly the gelato bar each night. Auntie Luba’s was my favorite for local cuisine. I did not find the hotel pricey at all…especially when you compare it to other destinations…Costa Rica or the Caribbean. Plus, the service, product and food are worth every penny.

Room Tip: couples go for the cottages. Families choice the family pavilion or guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlesomethin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

(We actually traveled end of Apr 2012-May 2012) but those dates weren't listed) My husband and I honeymooned in Turtle Inn and its sister property Blancaneaux Lodge. The property is stunning and we loved the attention shown in each space. I loved all of the gorgeous wood and repurposed art and artifacts present in our cabana. The screened-in porch was wonderful to sit out on at night and have a cocktail and talk about our day. I cannot say enough how wonderful we found the staff at the hotel. They learned our names, our likes and dislikes, and often anticipated our needs. This is what I expected from a boutique hotel and was worth every penny we paid for the extravagance. They were wonderful about helping us get downtown when we wanted to explore, set up our excursions when we wanted adventure and made sure we had a good time while we were on the property. This place is a bit pricey - but for a special occasion I'd say it is beyond worth it. I've stayed in some very nice hotels over the years but this was such a wonderful, unique experience and...maybe in a few years...we'd go back for another special occasion. We plan to return to Belize and Placencia specifically and fully intend to stop by for a meal. We enjoyed the food we had there and even when we brought our own fish the chefs were able to create wonderful dishes for us.
I loved this place and it definitely set a mark for what I want more vacations to look like - relaxed, unique and beautiful.

Room Tip: Even w/out the A/C we never felt hot. The turn-down service sets up the room in such a way that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annasmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week. It was fantastic! It's pricey but well worth it. We enjoyed everything about it. Beautiful spot right on the water. Individual thatched-roof huts with private outdoor showers. There is no air-conditioning but we actually liked that. There are fans in every room to keep you cool. The food was great. Diving and snorkeling was fantastic. Service was good. The manager was exceptionally friendly and available. It was one of our favorite vacations. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the huts are nice. Just depends on whether you want to be oceanfront or further back on the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
814 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club, a Muy'Ono Resort
4.1 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Placencia
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $377 - $1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing