We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Courteous staff, beautiful location and accommodations, and a taste of the tropical lifestyle, Turtle Inn has it all. We stayed here for the past 6-days on our honeymoon and I could not wait to write a review for this beautiful resort. I'm actually writing it while waiting for my flight home in Belize City. The food, while pricey is divine and fresh. The excursions were amazing and the guides knowledgable. Turtle Inn is not for everybody so do your research before coming here.. No, they don't have air conditioning, and no, they don't have a crazy nightlife to offer; however, Turtle Inn gives you a taste of the native lifestyle and culture. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Turtle Inn for a memorable honeymoon experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    103
    38
    23
    12
See reviews for
118
329
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We spent one week at the Turtle Inn Resort in Placentia, Belize. It was told to be one of the nicest resorts in Belize...

We book a Seaview room which actually had nearly no sea view (we could see the ocean between two other cottages...). IT HAS NO AIR CONDITION!!!! The temperature was 35 degrees Celsius during daytime and 29 degrees Celcius during the night. No way to get a good sleep. For a price like this you really can expect aircon!

The food was good but far to expensive. For a small beear they charged 4.50 USD and for the eggs as an extra to go with the continental breakfast the price was 11 USD! We mostly had dinner in "downtown" Placencia where we paid less than half.

The staff was kind but not very reliable; even it is "just the carribean" we expected to have what so ever service without not asking several times. At least there was a slow internet connection in the room.

In total not worth the money that we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonfishBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

My recent 8-day stay at Turtle Inn was absolutely divine. The warm, knowledgeable staff went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one, from the first moment of arrival, to the complimentary morning tea and fruit, restaurant service, and the booking of several dive excursions. Each cottage is beautiful, and situated to give the best views, while also providing a true sense of privacy––especially in the private courtyards with outdoor showers. The GM Martin, along with Jason, Marco, and Charlie were all exceptional, as was the entire staff and experience. Room rates, and food/drinks were also reasonable priced, which was a pleasant surprise. I will definitely be making a trip back––you should, too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saavannah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Our room and private courtyard was beautiful and WOW loved the outdoor shower the best! Staff and service was exceptional and we can't imagine anyone not falling in love with this place. Initially we thought on site food and drinks would be terrible expensive but found it no more than any other resorts that we stayed at in Belize. After researching all the resorts in Placenia before our trip and now after seeing the area while there on our honeymoon, I would HIGHLY recommend this place over all the other resorts. TIP ONE: to those looking to stay here if also booking areas of Belize (like we did since we were there for 2 weeks) stay here last because no other place will compare to the high end cottage accomodations! TIP TWO: if you are planning on diving the Blue Hole...it's closer from Placenia from Ambergris Caye. TIP THREE: take your snorkle and fins if don't mind snorkling from the beach over the grassy bottom. TIP FOUR: don't try to walk to the northern beach since there are very aggressive dogs along the way. TIP FIVE: definitely try the coconut drinks! TIP SIX: don't book alot of excursions while staying here since it's too enjoyable not to spend time on the resort just relaxing and unwinding.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

If you are looking to relax on the beach for a few days, this is a beautiful place to do it! The beachfront cabanas are literally steps from the water. The hotel offers kayaking, snorkeling, swimming (pool and beach) and a limited number of off-site activities. We did the Monkey River tour which was really cool (we saw howlers, manatees, crocodiles, lots of birds) but we could have used a gallon of bug spray! The food is very fresh and the menu has enough options to get you through several days without repeat. While there are technically three restaurants affiliated with the resort, they are not always open for dinner. Our cabana was beautiful [especially the shower with indoor-outdoor options and the netted patio]. Make sure you request an extra fan, if one is not in the room, because there is no air conditioning and it is HOT even at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika_Mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We've been traveling for decades, the finest hotels, in China, Italy, Maldives, All over Europe, Canada, Australia- you get the picture. This is one of the top hotels and experiences we have ever had. The food was outstanding, the service very personal but still professional. Its what you have always wanted a beach, rainforest vacation to be and its all here.
If you can hack it stay in a beachfront cabana, eat at All three restaurants- they are quite amazing, and if you are a scuba diver their on site shop is great- speak with Arthur. Charlie the bar tender made a coconut mohito right in front of our eyes- a fresh coconut taken from a tree near by, opened, mint grown in their own organic garden muddled in with it- perfection.
My only quibble was their beds were not kings- queens at best and not as soft as i would have liked- but im being picky here
Their sister hotel Blancaneaux- which we also stayed at on the same trip was not nearly as good, but still a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Beachfront cabana or sea view cabana are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doneeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We took a family vacation here in march. We had 2 sea view cottages. I traveled with a 10 year old boy. The cottages are cozy and relaxing. Open screened shutters floor to ceiling.surrounding the entire cottage. It was so peaceful and relaxing to have this open feeling while livingnindoors. The screened porch was a lovely place to relax in the morning and evening.
The outdoor shower within your own private garden was my favorite spot.
The bathroom with the hugenormous soaking tub my sons favorite.
Enough cannot be said about the comfort, luxury, and spaciousness of these cottages!

The pool was a perfect place to lounge and watch /play with my son. There were a lot of kids there , unfortunately most of them were not very well adapted to being social and friendly. There were roving kid gangs not very well supervised by their disinterested parents. Maybe that is the trade off for staying at a nice place. Parents with lots of money= kids with poor social values.

Anyway, food was ok. Not great. Expensive.

Staff was excellent on all levels.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If possible rooms on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#5 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
22.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Property: Turtle Inn
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing