We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatchet Caye Resort
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Love this place. We stayed 2 days in Placencia, and enjoyed our time there, but the highlight of our trip was our 6 night stay at Hatchet Caye.

It is a beautiful island surrounded by beautiful water/marine life and amazing views. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed and have all you need. We had great weather so we were not in our rooms a lot.

My husband fished everday (fly, trolling, bait casting, hand lining) and had the time of his life - thank you Sean! We did 2 separate snorkel trips that were outstanding - kudos to Daniel and Sean for both a fun and educational experience. In the restaurant/bar(David, Charlie,Andy) the service was great and food (Chris) was delicious...there was not one meal that I did not enjoy. The last night Andy, Gordon, and Rasta entertained all of us with a Garafuna performance that had us all dancing, such fun! I can't say enough about Dasha and the whole staff - hard working and gracious hospitality. We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricket064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    26
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
156
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 4 acre island set just off the coast from Belize. 14 bedrooms spread over 7 little cottages with everything you need from the hammock to Wifi. Well designed and laid out with bar & restaurant. Breakfast was wonderful and the Lion fish tacos at lunch are a must. Head to the Jetty with a bottle of champagne to watch the sun go down. After dark marvel at the Spotted Eagle Rays swimming around the lights under the jetty. In the evening head to the restaurant for a delicious dinner underneath a starry sky. The perfect way to spend the day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went out to the resort just for the day. Leaving from Placencia Village, it was amazing just getting out there. Hatchet Caye lies about 17 miles off the coast, and passing by all the small little islands, and crossing different depths of crystal blue water is the fun. Once we got out there we spent the day snorkeling, spearing fishing, deep sea fishing and having a wonderful meal at the restaurant. The staff and owners were on hand and greeted us personally, ensuring that all our needs were met. There is also a volleyball court, a pool, scuba gear rental and just about anything else you would need on the island to make your stay enjoyable. We hated to leave at the end of the day, and plan on going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardBarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place to take a vacation. We wanted a quiet, relaxing, tropical place with great sea life. This was perfect!

Travel:
We flew out of Philadelphia on Delta and had the usual delays along the way. However, the journey to Hatchet Caye was memorable. The 20 minute puddle jumper out of Belize to Placencia, the 10 minute car ride through the town of Placencia and the 45 minute boat ride from Placencia to Hatchet Caye, it was all very exciting and a great experience. It was a full day of travel and we were exhausted upon arrival.

Accommodations:
Upon arriving, Rasta and team welcomes you, they take your luggage and walk you to your rooms. The accommodations are perfect. We stayed in cabana 7 which is fantastic. It is the last cabana that has its own little beach area. It overlooks the water has a terrific breeze all day long. Because it is the last cabana along the beach, it gives you great privacy and the views are fantastic. The rooms are great, clean and spacious. There is very little closet space. There is a small area in the restroom to hang some clothes. Be prepared to live out of your suitcase. There was a safe in the room to put your valuables.

Meals:
The island food was great and the service is what you would expect in a laid back atmosphere. All of the staff were friendly and very accommodating with our meals. We asked to alter the meals either by how it was cooked or by mixing up the sides and it was always, "no problem". Charlie Brown, Andy and Juan were super! It was my girlfriends birthday, I had asked if they could bake her a cake and for a small cost, they did, they even sang Happy Birthday to her when they brought it out. Thanks everyone!!! There are not many options for snacking so if this is part of your daily routine, bring what you like. Outside of Pringles, M&M's, snickers and cashews there is nothing else available to purchase to snack on.

Fun:
There is a sign up sheet at the bar for all excursions. Take advantage of them. The turtle excursion and snorkel was memorable. We have been on several "excursions" most have been in a controlled environment. This is the real deal. After a short boat ride, you hope into the middle of the ocean and see the largest sea turtles, nurse sharks and eagle rays in their natural habitat. Daniel and team do a great job of keeping the group together while still allowing you to explore and he was extremely informative. We got some great pictures so invest in a good underwater camera. The snorkel around the reef was fantastic. We saw so many fish and coral it was beautiful. If you do not have your own snorkel gear, it is all available to you at the dive shop on the island.
We also did the deep sea fishing 1/2 day. After a few snafus with the gear we had to head back to the island to replace one of the reels, we finally got fishing. We caught a barracuda, two bar jacks, a lizard fish and a needle fish. I wish we could have bottom fished instead of trolling but it was still a good time.
Snorkeling around the island is fantastic. We did this every day, there is so much to see. The sea life is incredible and intimidating at the same time. We ran into several barracuda, jellyfish and other incredible marine life along the way. We did the Hobie Cat with Rasta, he was very friendly and was informative about the island. We also took advantage of the kayaks and paddle board as well. There is as much or as little as you want to do.

Tips, Checkout and Billing:
You will need to inquire about checkout time for the day of your departure. It is really laid back, not what one would be used to coming from the states. During our breakfast on the last day they brought us the final bill to review. How you tip is up to you, every night after your evening meal you sign for the entire days billing. This would include breakfast, lunch, any drinks through the day etc. We simply added the tip to each final evenings billing. We did find that two days they forgot to include the tip we left so we spoke with Dasha and she had that added back in. The team there works hard so we wanted to make sure they were appreciated appropriately. The tips at the end of the day are split amongst the entire staff on the island. If you felt like someone did a great job and wanted that tip to go to them then you would simply tip them directly as we did in the case of our excursions and Hobie cat ride.

We had a fantastic time and would certainly go back there

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We didn't stay at the resort. We took a boat ride from Placencia Village and spent the day on the island. The clear water in varying shades of blue and the white sand beaches were captivating. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The food and drinks were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Best place hands down. I can't believe this place is hidden!!! It is such an amazing piece of serenity. The ambiance is so calm and relaxing, you can't help but breath a sigh of relief. The rooms, the food, the staff and the the island overall is a rare gem. Definitely will go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regino82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hatchet Caye was everything we could hope for in a vacation. Beautiful resort, friendly staff, lots of options for enjoying the water (many at no additional cost) great rooms, wonderful sevice and excellent food. I have hit a few of the high points and tips for packing below.

Service
- Bartending and restaurant service was excellent and prompt. David, Charlie Brown, and Juan were our main contacts. They provided great service.
- We had a special medical need while on the island to get a blood glucose meter to replace a broken one. While there was a small cost to charter a boat to the mainland, Dasha went out of her way to get a solution for us, and arranged the transport with only fuel and a captain's fee. The issue was resolved quickly and appropriate urgency was given to the situation even given the remote location.
- Activity\Dive shop staff was incredibly helpful. Each staff member has different strengths. Sean spent a great deal of time with my husband on fly fishing. Rasta was very informative on spear fishing and both helped with outfitting with snorkel gear.

Activities
- Snorkeling is outstanding, beautiful coral and tons of marine life.
- Hobie cats were a great deal of fun.
- Pedal boats were great, instructions on where to take them without hitting the coral were a bit difficult to understand.
- Kayaks were great, and available at no extra cost.
- Snorkle trip to the Turtle Spot and Silk Caye was amazing. We did not do other excursions while there, but would do so for future trips, we were new to snorkeling, so we mostly went around the island to get acclimated.
- This was not actually an "activity" but we spent some time with Damiano learning about the water filtration and island gardening and organic produce and vegetables. He was very informative and we found this really interesting.

Accommodations
- Cabanas were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.
- Shower was great, and I saw several reviews that complained of hot water not being great in the morning, We were up early, showered early and saw no problems.
- Housekeeping was outstanding. They provide water to rinse the sand from your feet before entering the cabana, but floors were cleaned daily as well as the general stocking of linens and tidying up.

Travel and packing tips
- Expect delays getting to the island. Lots of the guests on our trip were a bit frustrated that the boat was late due to late flights. Plan for an early afternoon arrival in Placencia and be prepared to not reach the island until the evening.
- Expect your Maya air flight time to be "fluid" they are a small airline and need to have a full plan to make the flight. Your number of passengers determines whether your flight is direct or whether you make other stops in Belize on the way to Placencia.
- Pack a flashlight. We traveled in late July, and it was dark when walking to dinner.
- Bring bug spray and sunscreen. We only had problems with bugs on the last day there, but packed just in case. It is a tropical island, you will see bugs, if you plan for it, you can still be comfortable.
- Bring some clothes pins. Hanging towels and wet suits outside is a great option. It does get windy, pinning them to the wires on the deck railing would be helpful.
- Get up early at least one day to watch the sunrise, it was spectacular.
- Take time to stargaze. On the island, with so little competing light, you will see stars you didn't even know existed.

The only thing I think that could be improved at this resort is communication. The laid back approach is great, you can plan your own day, but sometimes if you don't ask you don't know what is available. I think this will improve with time, and was a minor impact for us because we had researched and knew to expect some hiccups in communication. A couple of examples for us were that no one told us where the activity sign up sheet was, or that there was one. Also, no one told us until we asked what the boat transfer time was at the end of our stay, and several guests were told different times for the boat transfer.

Room Tip: All are beautiful and have private outdoor spaces (even the main house room). Honestly, you are in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsea_and_Joiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
21.7 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
20.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
22.7 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
21.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
21.0 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Caye Resort

Property: Hatchet Caye Resort
Address: 17 Miles Offshore, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Family Hotel in Placencia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hatchet Caye Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private island on the edge of the Silk Marine Reserve, seventeen miles east of Placencia, Hatchet is on the longest reef in North America. Laugh, love, play, explore, relax, rejuvenate, and dine in the island lifestyle you want. with a mile of private shoreline and word class diving and fishing only minutes away. With a pirates past, a hideaway present, and an environmental future, Hatchet offers unspoiled environment for your unforgettable tropical island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatchet Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Caye Hotel Placencia
Hatchet Caye Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing