We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of Honeymoon Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatchet Caye Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of Honeymoon Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Hatchet Caye for our Honeymoon to have that "middle of nowhere" feel and get a complete break from reality!
And boy did we ever!
From the minute we stepped on the boat in Placencia, to the minute we stepped off the boat 5 days later to go home, it was the best trip we've ever had!
On our boat ride over, we saw Dolphins jump in front of the boat, which to us was a great sign for a great trip. We were greeted by Andy with cocktails at the dock. Rasta took us to our room and we were completely blown away. Everything was so clean, and new but what really took our breath away was the view! Right on the beach so we could fall asleep to the sounds of the waves. Perfect! Out front of our cabana was a hammock and my husband spent many a nap there.
The food was DELICIOUS! With a limited menu due to the location, it was some of the freshest fish, and fruit I have ever had. (Don't worry if you don't like fish - they have other options.)
We went kayaking, walked the Caye, played volleyball with the staff (Team Belize won), swam with loggerhead turtles (watch out they bite), swam the reef, Andy taught us to dance like the locals (excellent jam band!), made some great friends and had memories to last a lifetime!
I can't wait to get back for another slice of paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
154
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited this paradise for our honeymoon. the mrs didn't want to leave, pretty much had to drag her off the island. it is simply beautiful. Our days started with a great breakfast, then off to the beach for some snorkeling, scuba or kayaking. then some lunch (lionfish tacos were GREAT!), after a nap in the hammocks, some more snorkeling around the island. a quick shower then off to dinner (every dinner special was great). then we'd grab a drink and watch the rays off the pier. turtle excursion was great, but harpooning lionfish was AMAZING. if you can, get scuba certified before you come. it will save you some time and ca$h. the service was fantastic, Dasha, Andy, Fagan, and Charlie were so helpful and friendly. we will be returning. totally in love with this island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirsty-rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Hatchet Caye for our honeymoon and I didn't want to leave!! After getting married in the Dominican Republic with 45 guests we were super excited to be on an island with only a few other guests and lots of peace and quiet! The travel getting there is pretty much an all day affair but it is definitely worth it! The island is beautiful, our Cabana (#1) offered privacy as it is not connected to any others but is also right off the pier and near the restaurant. Our daily routine consisted of breakfast, hanging on the beach or by the pool, lunch (LOVE the sunday dinner!!), nap, dinner (everything was amazing) and then a trip out on the pier to watch the rays at night. We did the turtle excursion which was awesome and then Andy escorted us on a snorkeling excursion around the island. Andy, David, and Charlie took great care of us at the restaurant and were always so friendly! Dasha made sure we had everything we needed as well. All in all this has been our favorite vacation to date. We did socialize with other couples/families at meal time but for the most part we felt like we had the island completely to ourselves. I just can't say enough how much we loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I will update this review when we get home, but let me just say now that this island is truly paradise! The staff is amazing and will accommodate any request. If you can't relax here, you can't relax anywhere! We travel extensively, and this is the first location that we have ever been to that we plan on returning every year. For anyone worried about the effort required to get to the island, the plane / boat ride here were a breeze. The limited number of guests on the island at one time allow the staff to give you their undivided attention. I can't say enough great things about Hatchet Caye. Do yourself a favor and experience it first hand!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juddson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I went to Hatchet Caye in February for the best vacation we have ever had and we've been all over Europe, Central and South America, Hawaii. This is our favorite place in the whole world. I would give them 6 stars if I could.

It's a wonderful, relaxing and fun getaway. You can just relax in a hammock and read, or take a kayak for a workout, or swim in the clear water and look at colorful fish. The food was great. The staff are fantastic. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable.

One day it started raining in the middle of the night and into the morning but by 10 am the sun was out and it warm and sunny and off we went in the boat on a scuba trip to dive the reef wall.

We love the small island resort. I always hate staying at big resort hotels with hundreds of rooms. Hatchet Caye you can choose to do as much or as little as you want, meet other guests and chat with them at meals or not, as you please.

We stayed in Cabana #1, right by the South Pier and closest to the restaurant and pool. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning, walk to the end of the pier and jump in for a swim. Then head over for breakfast. Then hang out for a while and read or take the kayak and paddle around the island. Or take one of the Hobie Cats and go sailing. Or get some snorkels and masks and check out the different fish. We never ran out of things to do.

We will definitely be back, we've already started making plans and next time will be bringing friends.

Room Tip: Cabana #1 was all by itself near the South Pier and was our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flashburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I won't go in to great detail in this review but want to make it clear just how wonderful this place is. The cabanas are clean and comfortable. The island is beautiful and tropical, with little walkways from your cabana to the restaurant. The food was incredible, honestly some of the best seafood dishes we have ever had. Drinks were also great, the bartenders, David, Andy and Juan were like friends to us after one day on the island. This is a place where you can relax and read like I did, or fish off shore like my husband did every day. We also snorkled, went scuba diving, and took the sail boat out several times. This is a tiny island and that is what makes it so different from any other place we have been. The staff knows you by name, they always ask how you are and what your plans for the day are. Dive master Shawn is great, and Rasta goes out of his way to make sure you are having a good time. We loved our boat driver Marlon. We stayed for 8 nights and can not say one negative thing about this island. We will be back again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabana #1 it is next to the pier and close to the restaurant. We loved it, but if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to Hatchet Caye which is literally heaven on earth where EVERYONE is welcome! Being on an island that's 18 miles off the coast of Placencia makes for the perfect get-away. Because at Hatchet Caye you can choose to do as much or as little as you want.

ACTIVITIES: The island has A LOT to offer in the way of sea life (all kinds of fish, barracudas, eagle rays and so on), great swimming and snorkeling in crystal clear waters right off the dock or shore & plenty of water activities. Rasta (who runs the Adventure Center & activities) is a man of a millions smiles and a laid back "no problem 'mon" island attitude. He is always at the ready to put a kayak, paddle boat or Hobie Cat in the water for you! Oh and if you fish, you can do it from the any of the docks (catch & release). YOU MUST take part in the Turtle Snorkeling Excursion (included in our package deal). It is an AMAZING experience (see the video) swimming with 50 year old turtles. We were lucky enough to see 3 of them. Not only do you see turtles, but there are sting rays, nurse sharks, fishes galore and so much more! After the turtle we stopped a tiny little remote island “Silk Caye” for some more snorkeling and great picture opportunities (see pic).

FOOD: Although we never saw him/her, the chef at the restaurant does a great job. The food was tasty and always presented as though it was out of a high class, 5 star establishment (see dinner shrimp special pic). For a remote island, the place has quite a number of choices for every meal. Every night there was a dinner special, which I usually defaulted to. Try the Lionfish! If you don’t know what a Lion fish is (or looks like), Google it. Who knew a fish that looks like that tasted SO GOOD! I literally had it with almost every meal. Not only did they have a great selection of fresh seafood, they also had beef and vegetarian options as well. The chef will try to accommodate your requests (if needed). Previous reviews spoke of picking up some snacks on the mainland; we did not do this and NEVER went hungry between meals.

ROOMS: Our room was great! It was the furthest away from everything and on the far side of the island – which is not a complaint. The inside is nicely finished with tiles 12 inch tiles on the floor that extended into the bathroom where there was a nicely decorated/titled shower. Plenty of counter space in the bathroom. The soaps and shampoos were NOT of Motel 6 quality and smelled really good! Between the bathroom and our bedroom was (in essence) a walk-in closet. It was a small squared shaped room where there was a wooden armoire of sort that had 10-15 hangars, plenty of shelves and a safe (which we did not use. We actually NEVER locked our door, except at night). The bed itself has nice fluffy pillows, the linens were nice and the mattress was comfy allowing for good quality sleep.

We had a private deck with two comfortable chairs and a glass table top that looked right out towards the ocean. We were in #8 which is one of the two free standing rooms that do not share a wall with a neighbor. It’s adjacent to the office and NOT right on the water like the other 7 cabanas. However, this did not take away from the experience. It was literally a 15 foot walk to the water where there was a little sandy beach area with two comfortable lounge chairs where we would often read our books before dinner (6pm). Right outside our door there was also a hammock that got both plenty of sun and shade (depending on the time of day).

SERVICE: Everyone is awesome and will do everything in their power to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Upon arrival we were greeted by Rasta and Charlie-Brown who had a refreshing island punch (no rum on this go-around) waiting. They were ready to carry our bags and show us to our room. Throughout our stay, the wait staff Andy, David, Charlie-Brown and Juan (all who also acted as the bartenders) did a great job. The maid service was great. We would wake up early (7-730am) for breakfast and come back a few hours later to have our room magically cleaned and re-stocked. The maids go unnoticed, but definitely are an important role (so don’t forget to think of them and include a tip at the end of your stay). Dasha, the manager was very inviting and always checking in and seeing how our stay was going. You would often see her roaming the island checking up on things, with Jefe “the Boss” (her little wiener dog) not far behind. When she wasn’t around you could find her in the main office doing work there, or after hours if you needed something all you had to do was knock on her door.

SUGGESTIONS/NOTES:
-If you get bored after the sun goes down and are looking for something to do, make sure you get to the office before Dasha closes for the day (around 5pm, but she is ALWAYS available if you just knock) and pick up a DVD movie or two, a board game or a book from the “library”.

-Open up the cabinet in your room because there’s a Nintendo Wii in there with a few games. Our room also had the board game Checkers and playing cards.

-During the day, you run a tab (food, which is included but tracked, and booze, which is a cost above and beyond what’s included) and we left a tip at the end of the day based on the total “bill” (dollar amount) for the wait staff/bartenders. At the end of your stay you pay your tab. Money is NEVER transferred during the stay, until your last day during check out.

TIPPING: Who do I tip? How much do I tip? Are tips included? This is based on your personal belief. The island does not tell you how much to tip. Tipping is NOT required, but of course is appreciated. Again, we put a tip on our tab at the end of each day for the wait staff. When we checked out we left extra money for Rasta, the housekeeping and Sean (our boat captain/guide during the Turtle Excursion). If you feel someone went above and beyond and want to leave that person a little something extra, you can do that too.

-At first we saw a 10% “service fee” and were a little confused on what that fee was for. It was such a small $$ amount per bill I never really bothered to ask. At the end of our stay I asked Dasha and she explained it was a “pooled fund” that went to and was divided among the entire island staff. Remember, there’s more than meets the eye. You constantly see and interact with the restaurant staff and Rasta, but there were the maids, maintenance workers and others who work behind the scenes to make Hatchet Caye what it is. So the 10% service fee is easily understood.

-We were lucky that everyone staying on the island during the week we were there were really cool. We made friends with just about every couple. All of which who came from all over the USA.

We will definitely be back, and next time will probably bring friends. We want to help Dasha get the word out about Hatchet Caye and how awesome it is. Like I said in the opening paragraph EVERYONE is welcome. My boyfriend and I never felt awkward or as if we did not fit in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pollito F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
20.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
20.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
21.7 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
29.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
21.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Caye Resort

Property: Hatchet Caye Resort
Address: 17 Miles Offshore, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hatchet Caye Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private island on the edge of the Silk Marine Reserve, seventeen miles east of Placencia, Hatchet is on the longest reef in North America. Laugh, love, play, explore, relax, rejuvenate, and dine in the island lifestyle you want. with a mile of private shoreline and word class diving and fishing only minutes away. With a pirates past, a hideaway present, and an environmental future, Hatchet offers unspoiled environment for your unforgettable tropical island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatchet Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Caye Hotel Placencia
Hatchet Caye Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing