We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue to begin your day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Grounds Coffee

Above Grounds Coffee
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Above Grounds Coffee has established a direct connection with small independent farmers in Guatemala. Hand-picked, processed & roasted by small family operations. Their 100% mountain grown and 100% Arabica coffee beans are shade grown, hand-picked and then processed to organic standards. All fields meet elevation requirements for Strictly Hard Bean (SHB) grade and some meet the Fancy (F) grade. These two top grades (Fancy and SHB) total less than 2.5% off all coffee produced globally!
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect venue to begin your day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Situated in a tree house, this funky place has the best coffee in town. It is a relaxing space to catch up on emails over a cup of joe and some fresh baked treat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank robinnm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    69
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cinnamon-sugar donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very cute treehouse-like coffee shop. My boys were craving donuts one morning and after striking out at several places I found some here (Honduran donuts made by a local lady). They were simply unassuming-looking cinnamon-sugar donuts that I wrongly thought my boys wouldn't be crazy about, but one bite of these delicious, chewy yeast donuts was all it took for us to want more! The morning before we left I stopped in and bought all seven that they had left :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KentuckySteff444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Cute little place and if you're on the front porch there's a little ocean breeze blowing through. By far the best coffee in town and the owner (Keith) and staff are always helpful and friendly. I was in town for a week and I had coffee and a banana muffin probably 3 of the mornings... Usually a nice group of locals or ex-pats willing to talk. Check it out...and you can even buy the beans if you want to bring some of the coffee home with you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Decent coffee drinks. Baked goods (i.e. bagel) not that great. Out of their juices when we were there.

Internet access, fine.

I like the design of it, kind of has a tree house feel, but there is nothing about it that makes me want to rush back there.

If I'm dying for some caffeine and I see it, I'll stop. Otherwise I'll head to Brewed Awakenings up the street.

Also, service was not overly friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wife and I had coffee there while in Placencia, the made a great cafe latte and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Grounds Coffee also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Above Grounds Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing