We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee in a treehouse!!”

Above Grounds Coffee
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Above Grounds Coffee has established a direct connection with small independent farmers in Guatemala. Hand-picked, processed & roasted by small family operations. Their 100% mountain grown and 100% Arabica coffee beans are shade grown, hand-picked and then processed to organic standards. All fields meet elevation requirements for Strictly Hard Bean (SHB) grade and some meet the Fancy (F) grade. These two top grades (Fancy and SHB) total less than 2.5% off all coffee produced globally!
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Coffee in a treehouse!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

To keep this short and sweet - after a morning of shopping in Placencia, stopped here for an iced latte... excellent!! Beautiful Italian espresso machine, operated by the friendly barista / owner and his wife... climb the steps and enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amgboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    75
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Wonderful spot for great coffee and great conversation-very relaxing!””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Just a few blocks from the beach you'll find a fantastic spot for coffee and a snack. A truly comfortable and relaxing spot for enjoying wonderful conversation or sitting back and reading while having a great cup of coffee! A definite coffee lover's must if you're in Placencia!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
402 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Belize....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Above grounds coffee is so yummy!! We stopped by to check it out and it is the cutest spot... It is like a treehouse and they have indoor and outdoor seating... I got a latte and I was extremely impressed with how good it was! I am a Starbucks drinker and this is just as good and maybe even more... I certainly got a boost of energy! If you are visiting placencia you have to make a point to stop by... Also a great place to sit and relax and check your emails... I highly recommend!!! I think you can also purchase a bag of coffee to take back to your room...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTCouple310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coffee and Muffins anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We just returned from a great 9 days in Placencia and 7 of those were spent having coffee every morning at Above Grounds.Keith the owner is a Hoot Mon,and the coffee is the best .Great place to meet people while sipping coffee on his tree house type deck.For all you tourists that miss your Timmies or Starbucks this is the place to be.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The coffee was really good, but the pastry I had was not good. It was too dense.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweethomeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Grounds Coffee also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Above Grounds Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing