We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful restaurant in the heart of Placencia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill
Placencia Village, Placencia R0C 3A0, Belize (Formerly Jake's Purple Space Monkey)
5015233169
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Fun and funky in the daytime, with fresh, light lunch options and a family vibe, in the evening gourmets can indulge their individual tastes with Executive Chef Rick Labonte's World menu based on local and organic ingredients and savours, often with a trademark twist. Our attentive staff will make your romantic, celebration or large group dining pleasure their priority, from presentation through to great service. Right in the centre of downtown Placencia, over from the ball-field, our airy and open-plan dining room and smaller terraces are perfect for people-watching or that intimate dinner-for-two...while the superbly-stocked bar will fix everything from beers through fine wines to exotic or Caribbean cocktails...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant in the heart of Placencia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This restaurant has never disappointed me. The specials of the day are imaginative and well prepared. A full service is available and the prices are reasonable. I dine here every time I visit Placencia.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank robinnm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Monkey Business in Placencia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I visited Placencia for the second time in June/July 2013. When we were there in June 2009 the Purple Space Monkey was closed and I believe was purchased by someone new and reopened. Anyway, it is a fun, colorful place to relax and have a meal. The open air dining room is wonderful and allows diners to watch the comings and goings along the main road while enjoying a meal and a drink or two. The food is very good and the service is excellent. We will definitely be dining at the Purple Space Monkey when we return to Placencia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karibkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gosh, they're good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

the drinks are good, but I think their pico de gallo and their just plain quesadillas (with sour cream, of course) may be the absolute best on the planet. We ate as much as we could of the menu (too little time) and NEVER had a bad dish.....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food but now closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited the day before they closed and were very happy with the food and service. We were told that the bar was going to remain though so if it is a drink you are looking for you may still be in luck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Deb_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Purple space monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Kids and I had the burgers. Very tasty. Sat out a very nasty storm in the restaurant. Great ambience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ocdolphingrayneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing