We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fun and funky in the daytime, with fresh, light lunch options and a family vibe, in the evening gourmets can indulge their individual tastes with Executive Chef Rick Labonte's World menu based on local and organic ingredients and savours, often with a trademark twist. Our attentive staff will make your romantic, celebration or large group dining pleasure their priority, from presentation through to great service. Right in the centre of downtown Placencia, over from the ball-field, our airy and open-plan dining room and smaller terraces are perfect for people-watching or that intimate dinner-for-two...while the superbly-stocked bar will fix everything from beers through fine wines to exotic or Caribbean cocktails...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Sushi in Belize? You can get that and more here. The menu is extensive from conch fritters to Cob salad as well as pasta, fish and whatever. The place is open and beautiful. And the staff is wonderful. Whether your looking to eat or drink, this is a nice place for families or people traveling alone.

Helpful?
Thank Bosoxx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    52
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big and beautiful”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were in Placencia for a few hours waiting for a boat. It was Sunday, meaning a lot of places were closed. But Purple Space Monkey was open and is a great place in town to drink a few beers and have some good food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cajun_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

After hearing the name of this place I was expecting something a little different but was pleasantly suprised. Its a beautiful Open air Resturant with high valuted ceilings wiht beautiful wood work. The food is Delish! We ate there twice for Lunch and Once for dinner. Salads both times for lunch. The lettuce and fixings inside were so fresh and Yummy! For dinner the Sushi was a great appetizer and the seafood was cooked Perfecly

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sznwds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Who'd of thought?”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A fantastic bar on the main street. An interesting choice for a name but don't let that scare you off. The food was fantastic whether for lunch or dinner. The staff was wonderful as well. We ate there twice for lunch and once for dinner. Get there before they run out of the Conch soup!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, tasty pasta sauce”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The atmosphere at the Purple Space monkey is excellent. A great open air restaurant and bar with friendly people and service that aims to please. I had the snapper ceviche and it was very tasty. A good mix of flavors and pieces of snapper that were bigger than I was expecting. My main dish was the Diavolo pasta with chicken. The diavolo sauce was wonderful, with just enough kick to be exciting, but unfortuantely for me some of the pasta was just a bit under cooked. It wasn't the end of the world and still enjoyed my meal, but was a bit disappointing. Drinks were good, beer was cheap. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Space Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing