We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Smoothies”

The Shak Beach Cafe
Ranked #13 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Shak Beach Cafe's menu boasts bold, flavorful food and smoothies with a healthy appeal, all made to order from the freshest ingredients. We find that superior, simple ingredients including real fruit and veggies set our smoothies apart from the others.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Smoothies”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We ate here every day for 3 days. Breakfast was perfect. They have a wide range of smoothies that are all fresh and delicious. I had the Yoga blend several times. Basic breakfast was great, pancakes, eggs, bacon, bagels with tomatoes, cucumbers and cream cheese. Lunch quesadilla's and taco's were big and filling. Great place for basic flavorful food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tstarponce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    122
    34
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute place, wasn't impressed with food.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I know The Shak has great ratings, and I do know that my partner enjoyed her food, but I can't say the same. We only had one chance to eat there - not breakfast or lunch. When we stopped for dinner, we were the only diners there. The atmosphere at The Shak is delightful. It's a small and in a pretty spot by the water. Service was fine, but my vegetable dish was really, really poor. None tasted fresh, there seemed to be very little seasoning, and the entire dish was over cooked. I understand the Mexican dishes were quite good, but I'll admit to being disappointed in mine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Jerk fish tacos made with fresh snapper, with vinegary cabbage on top? Yes please. Also, delicious smoothies and a great view of the harbor.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank swingbossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dangriga, Belize
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, Food all Good! (-:”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What an excellent place. I have not taken a very close look at the very south end of the village by the Docks. Great thatch roof, organic wind chimes and other wall art and a beautiful garden surrounding the dining area. I stopped in for some food and enjoyed a Thai Red Curry dish with Chicken. A plate arrived with a mound of Rice in the center surrounded by crisp vegetables and bite size pieces of Chicken in a Coconut sauce. I like to break up the rice and mix it all together! A filling meal for a mere $20BZ. Need sun? Sit at one of the thatch roof tables outside. Either way you have a view of beach front, the Dock and moored vessels and an interior you want to keep looking at to find the next unique piece of art. Absolutely loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChapWehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington Twp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum at the end of the road.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Smoothy was delish! Food was really good also. Nice lunch with a nice view of the harbor. Just walk to the end of the road.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jerseysuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak Beach Cafe also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Shak Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing