We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ally's Guest House Belize
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Ally's for 5 days. It is a great place that's beside the beautiful lagoon. It's a short bike or walk into the main part of town and also to the beach. The room was clean and we enjoyed having a kitchen. We also loved having bikes and kayaks to use. Ally and Mark were nice and accommodating. They helped suggest places to eat in town and companies to go snorkelling with. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at Ally's for six weeks and her place was exactly what I was looking for and needed: a safe and quiet place to write close to the beach, a cozy apartment (studio) and an affordable rate. Oh, and a great landlord! No question was ever too much for Ally, and she always checked in to see if all was OK (but without being intrusive at all, and often by email). I had a free bike to use my entire stay, reliable wi-fi (for Belize) and the studio, though small, was more than enough for me, with a fully furnished kitchen (burners), spacious bathroom with plenty of storage (great for my clothes/shoes!) and cable TV and AC. The yard was lovely, with two decks and seating by the lagoon, perfect for morning coffee. The beach and Placencia Village were even closer than I expected when I first looked the guesthouse up online. It's a mere 10 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride away! All in all, I was happy I gave Ally's a shot and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a month stay at Ally's Guest House and loved every minute of it. We had the one bedroom apt which was perfect for our stay. The large bed was very comfortable, making us sleep in on a regular basis. The fans provided was enough, that we didn't need the air conditioning. Loved watching the stars on the southern dock, and morning tea and afternoon cocktails at the northern dock watching the rays, crabs, parrots, and fish and the beautiful view of the lagoon and Myan mountains. Our evenings where spent sitting on our patio with candles lit enjoying the tropical weather. Daily multipule rides on the provided bikes into town for dinner, purchasing fresh produce from the local markets, and just exploring the area. A two minute walk to the beach for our daily beach walk was a plus. Found the provided washing machine very handy, especially just to rinse your clothes after a salty swim and ride out to the reefs. Loved LuLu's daily visit with her squeeky ball. Ally did her best to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Having Mark pick us up and drop us off at the airlport was a real plus. Thanks Ally and Mark for a great time!! Mike and Wendy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starbuck
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Or 3rd trip to Belize and it would not be complete without a stay at Ally's. Clean, comfortable apartment with all the amenities. Great location as you are close to restaurants, bars and beaches but can get away from the noise and relax! The pool is great for cooling off and laying in the sun. A washer and dryer are really convenient as we pack light so have to do laundry a little more often. An awesome place to stay in Placencia, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Ally's guest houses are great, and the property is awesome. Located on the lagoon side just north of the Village it's close enough to bike or walk but still feels like your own private resort. Nice amenities including Kayaks and bikes which got plenty of use as did the basic fishing gear. We barely used the pool (above ground) but it was still nice to hang out on the hot days we were there. The rooms are nice, well above 'rustic' but not high end resort. We had a great kitchen with all the necessities and the whole room had tile through out. We didn't need the AC during our trip but I'm sure in the hot season we would have used it. Ally is great, extremely helpful and friendly. We had a great time and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed with ally this past week for our American thanksgiving. She has kayaks, bikes, fishing poles, and access to the wonderful lagoon for her guests to use at there leisure. All the rooms are super clean and fully equipped with everything you may need. Full kitchens and baths as well. Ally is a great host. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donniedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed a week at Ally's Guest House and had an awesome time! My third trip to Belize and second trip to Placencia and Ally's location is perfect! Located on the lagoon, just the right distance from town for quiet when you want it and activity when you want to engage with the world. Bikes and kayaks for checking out the scenery!
The 1 bedroom was awesome with all the necessary amenities - super comfortable and just the right size! Ally's is the perfect place to stay for a single person, couple, or group.

Room Tip: There's multiple types of rooms - singles, couples, larger groups - all are great - with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anda Di Hows Hostel
Anda Di Hows Hostel
#5 of 31 in Placencia
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ally's Guest House Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ally's Guest House Belize

Property: Ally's Guest House Belize
Address: Placencia Village North | Waterfront Lagoon Side, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ally's Guest House Belize consists of four, fully furnished, basic, self equipped apartments located directly on the water front of the Placencia Lagoon. Three of our apartments have air conditioning and all offer WiFi and Cable TV along with common washing machine and line drying. All our our vacation rentals are fully are equipped with kitchens and all utensils for cooking. All linens are provided along with coffee maker, blenders, etc. We also offer you a large above ground lap pool for relaxation or exercise. Ally's Guest House Belize has the following vacation rentals being a one bedroom studio, a one bedroom proper and our one bedroom efficiency. All with A/C. The 2 bedroom vacation rental is our most private. Perfect for couples who like a bit more privacy and space or couples traveling together. This apartment has no A/C but boasts windows that catch the breeze, along with floor and ceiling fans and is very comfortable during the high season months or for those who dislike A/C. We do have a mobile air cooler (not an A/C) for very warm days or evenings inside. Short or long term bookings accepted. A five night minimum stay is required. We offer you quiet, peaceful and very safe accommodations within walking distance to the village proper. We also offer our guests beach cruisers if need. We have pets that you may encounter from time to time so we ask that you have no allergies and also feel comfortable around animals. If you are looking for a bit of tropical paradise in an easy laid back and friendly environment, you would be wise to choose Ally's Guest House Belize as your tropical home away from home for 5 nights or 30! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ally's Guest House Belize Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing