We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Pickled Parrot

Pickled Parrot
Ranked #7 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pickled Parrot is a thatched roof restaurant and bar mere footsteps from the crashing surf of the Carribean. We have delicious blender drinks, rum concoctions and ice cold Belikin Beer. Our food is home cooked style comfort food, made from fresh organic ingredients. We specialize in hand-cut french fries, burgers, chicken cheesesteaks, and Philly cheesesteaks. Our popular everyday option is a fresh large salad topped with shrimp, chicken breast or ribeye steak. Special diets are easily accomadated. Portions are ample and prices are low. Check out the daily $10 specials on the Pickled Parrot Bar & Grill Facebook !
Grand Bay, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I spent a wonderful month in Placencia this year and spent many, many, many times at the Pickled Parrot. My local Pub. The owners are fantastic, as is the food, with daily specials and you can't beat the prices. There was entertainment some evenings, a movie and football games (yuck). The best place to meet new people and locals, including the best bartender ever. I miss them all very much and hope to see everyone next year.Please drop by for a beer on the way to the beach and tell Eugene, Jody sent you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    89
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North East, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a little piece of Philly in Paradise”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stopped in the PP last week at the end of our catamaran cruise in Belize (Placencia) and the owner Eugene was the perfect host as was his bartender who made us fantastic Margaritas...didn't eat there since we had reservations with our group later that evening but the food that was going by me looked great (Philly Cheese Steak) and everyone seemed to be enjoying their meal!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiLYMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite bar in Placencia!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Pickled Parrot is just off the main road and truly feels like a bar for locals. The owner Eugene is such a nice guy who made us feel welcome from the minute we walked in, the bartender was great as well. We liked it so much we came back a couple times throughout our short stay. Didn't get a chance to try the food but it looked delicious. Skip Barefoot Bar and head straight to the Pickled Parrot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice palce to gather for a beer and lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The owners are there to greet you and make sure you are having a good time. The food is healthy fare at very reasonable prices, missus rules the kitchen. You won't be disappointed in the lunch specials which are the best deal in town. My bet is you'll be back again and again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank svYonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great little place to eat!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We aren't drinkers, so we went to the Pickled Parrot for lunch twice. Both times we were greeted by the friendly owners and were served good food at very reasonable prices. The only thing I would say is if you have your heart set on getting what is on their "Today's Special" sign, check with the owner to be sure it is still available. We walked back to get the special two different days only to find it had changed and the sign had not. The food we got was great, but if you are getting excited about a certain thing and then you are told it isn't available you can't help but feeling let down.
We wish the owners success and hope to see them again next year about this time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kenwilfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Parrot also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Pickled Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing