We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fishing Friendly Haelpful Staff”
Review of Tarpon Caye Belize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarpon Caye Belize
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I organized and hosted a group of 8 anglers for a 4 night/3 day trip to Tarpon Caye in March. This trip was everything we expected it to be. Tarpon Caye did a great job ushering our group through airplane tranfers in Belize City and Placencia. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which is important when they were the only other ones on the Caye besides our group of 8.

This is one of the best if not The Best place in the world to fish for permit. Everyone had multiple shots a day, in many cases more than 10. All but two us jumped Tarpon, with four boated in 3 days.

All in all it was a great trip. We are already making plans to return for 5 days next year .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tipton_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed a week at tarpon caye -march 21 to 28 2014 . We cannot say enough about how well it worked for us. Stayed in the new cabin and it was great.The staff took care of us like family with the meals a highlite-always really good.
It is a very friendly place where you get to know everyone working on the island ,not like some places where you are isolated from the staff.
The fishing was good with lots of tarpon , some bonefish , all different types of jacks , barracuda and a huge number of shots at permit. The tarpon size is ideal to my way of thinking - mostly 30 to 40 lbs I would guess. Marlon was our guide and he is a really fun guy who knows his stuff.We fished split days which is really relaxing and took best advantage of the tides.
A great experience from start to finish.Good fishing ,good snorkeling,great food, on and on.
a wonderful mix of old time fishing camp and modern amenities.
Thank you Marcy, Francis , Marlon and everyone else . You will see us again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Had a great 3 days at the caye. Swam, lounged, had great meals prepared by the local chef and assistant chef. Reasonable price. Coming back next year. It was easy getting there from Placencia. Cab pick up and 1 hour boat ride out. Tarpon Caye is marketed as a fly fishing destination, but even if you don't fish-like me- it's a great place to go and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Roll out of bed, grab a cup of coffee and you're casting to feeding tarpon in less than five minutes! The permit flats are almost that close too! Great stay, super friendly staff, fantastic guides. Just the right atmosphere for real fisherman, from the office to the caye everyone involved wasvery helpful in setting up the trip. Can't wait to get back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been to Tarpon Caye Lodge 5 times now. I keep coming back for the overall experience.
It is not a five star resort and doesn't claim to be. It is a very unique experience out in the Caribbean on a small gorgeous island.

My passion is fishing. This time I finally caught my grand slam, a permit, a tarpon and a bonefish.

What is great about Tarpon Caye Lodge is that they are not on a time schedule except to make your experience great. You fish when it is the best time to fish. You eat when it works out. You relax any time you want.

I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a great stay at tarpon caye lodge.This is a great place for serious fishermen, the island is all about fishing!
Had a memorable time fishing for tarpon, permit, bonefish and other reef species.
The staff was outstanding, we had really good food and there were very friendly.
I've also met some great people as well.Thanks again to my guide i would love to go fishing with him again!
Kind regards Julien

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kemp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Tarpon Caye Lodge, with fishing every day. I would highly recommend it, and we will return.
The cabins over the water are really unique, unless you are in Tahiti! The warm breeze and sounds of the Caribbean will lull you to sleep. Everything is clean and fresh. In the morning, wake up to rich coffee, rolls and fruit then motor 2 minutes to tarpon heaven. Return for a big breakfast then troll the reefs or fish extensive flats. Our guide was really good. Return for siesta and lunch. Dinner was great, featuring the fish you catch. Santiago, your waiter/bartender is a very nice gentleman at your service in the dining hall with overwater veranda. Very nice.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Packergregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarponCaye, Director of Sales at Tarpon Caye Belize, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Tarpon Caye Belize would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your visit and your excellent review. We look forward to having you back at Tarpon Caye Belize, soon, and to experience all the wonderful upgrades we have done.

At Tarpon Caye Belize, fun is intentional. Fishing. It is what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
795 reviews
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
653 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
626 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Caye Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Caye Belize

Address: Leslie Street, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Price Range: $40 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Caye Belize Fishing Lodge offers all inclusive Belize vacation packages designed for guided saltwater fly fishing charters and multiday package saltwater fly fishing charters. With decades of salt water fly fishing experience; your fishing adventure is our number one priority. Belize Fly Fishing Species: permit, tarpon, bonefish. Belize Spin Fishing species: Barracuda, four to five species of Jacks, Yellow Tail Snapper, Mutton Snapper, King Mackerel, Spanish Mackerel, Black Fin Tuna, Yellow Jacks, Wahoos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarpon Caye Belize Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing