We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Porticos Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Every December we travel with our friends to exotic destinations and we try to beat our own vacation experience each year. We have travelled to puerta vallerta, jamaica, egypt, and last december we picked Belize. With much research and effort we picked Los porticos villas at Placencia village. It is a very private resort. The villas are luxurious, roomy and well equipped. The cleaning service is excellent.The landscape is tastefully done with coconut palms and hibiscus bushes to give you a tropical flavor. our villa offered us wonderful views of the caribbean sea. The beach is amazingly flat, the waters very inviting.it was awesome to sit out on the beach at night and gaze at the stars and the moon while the waves lashed on the shores tirelessly and then to be able to walk right back into your villa for a restful night's sleep. Mr Barry , the estate manager was very friendly and enthusiastic. He gave us valuable tips for sight-seeing and never ceased to smile. The placencia village is accessible by car or by the bicycle. The farmers market offers luscious fruits and vegetables. Mr Barry arranged for The jungle walk and river tubing, visit to the mayan ruins and The monkey river cruise. I strongly recommend Belize and Los porticos villas as your next vacation destination. It was indeed a very relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: beach-front villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chitra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

While in Placencia area, we stayed at Los Porticos Villas, a leisurely walk north of the village of Placencia and near the airport. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Los Portocos gardens and beach are beautiful.

Mr. Barry and Miss Mariam were both wonderful and took a genuine interest ensuring that we had an enjoyable stay. The manager encouraged us to freely explore Placencia village and we did. We walked to town daily and took a taxi home only when dark. They also arranged two tours for us. For both trips the guide/captain met us in the lobby and the boat was waiting a few steps away across the street on the lagoon side marina. Los Porticos looks out the Atlantic Ocean side of the peninsula. Monkey River and Medicine Jungle Walk day trip and the Snorkel/picnic tour were each very different and both fabulous. We paid more because we didn't have the minimum number of people and the extra attention we received was well worth it. We'll always remember our visit.
Susan & Warren
Canada

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank RockyMountaintGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, they took excellent care of us! The condo was roomy, peaceful and relaxing, even during the evening thunderstorms. The location was spectacular. Close enough to town to get there easily, but not in town. The beach was nicely groomed every day. We would highly recommend Los Porticos!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The condo was right off the beach and immaculate inside. Each of the two bedrooms had its own bathroom and its own air conditioner. The kitchen was large and well equipped, but who wants to cook when there are great restaurants with great prices in Placencia? Only saw large ants in the kitchen sink twice at night, which went away after putting out the ant traps and being careful to wash the dishes right away / putting all the food in the refrigerator. The beach and pool were basically deserted at this time of year. It felt like you were in your own private paradise. The ocean clarity was fantastic for 1 out of the 5 days. There is a coral reef just off the beach for snorkeling. Watch out, however, for the sand flies. Not sure how to prevent the bites. Still itchy 3 days after leaving Belize. These Villas are centrally located on the peninsula, and within a short bike ride distance to the airport. Its a good base to explore both ends of the peninsula, but will need to rent a golf cart or a car. There is no on resort restaurant.

The food was great at Rumfish in Placencia. Ice cream to die for at Tutti Frutti. Lots of handmade souvenirs at very reasonable prices at all the gift shops in town. I thought the best place was next to the Visitors Centre. US dollars are used interchangeably with the Belize dollar at a 1:2 ratio, making everything 50% off! I love a bargain!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Slowdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My husband and I just spent a week at Los Porticos. It was great. Very clean and new. It is a condo resort so a lot of the people there are owners and not renters. We rented. Michael(manager) got a golf cart for us to rent and let us use a local cell phone. Because it is an owner resort their was not cleaning everyday and we had to ask the maid for clean towels, but that did not bother us. Close to town (2 miles) so lots to eat there. Full kitchen if you like to cook, but meals in town are very reasonable. Would recommend Grill N Go for lunch. Overall a great place and would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belizeloveriowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Spent 3 days at Los Porticos with my wife and 2 adult children before a bareboat sailing adventure. Michael, the manager, took us to our room personally to make certain everything was in order. He came back shortly with a couple bags of ice (not requested). We asked about a store where we could purchase supplies. He drove us into town, waited while we shopped and drove us back. He also drove us to a restaurant the next day and to the marina on our last day. Grounds at Los Porticos were beautiful (check out the flower pics) and well kept. Both pools were clean and lovely. Our suite was terrific. Thank you Michael for helping to make our fist stay in Placencia one we'll never forget.
Jeff, Kathy, Erin and Joe Corey

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TumbleweedMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We knew before we rented that the restaurant and tour services would not be up and running. We were assured that the pool and swim up bar were complete and operational. This was true, however the pool waterfall was never turned on and the swim up bar had no bartender. We were also assured internet access, but the wireless connection did not work the entire time we stayed and we ended up using the manager's computer several times. The villa was spacious and nicely equipped, but there was never anyone around--and this was peak season. My children were bored, thank goodness for the cable TV! Michael, the rental manager, was terrific and very accommodating. All in all, a very relaxing, beautiful, but unlively vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emhanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
1.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
6.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Porticos Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Porticos Villas

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Price Range: $211 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Los Porticos Villas, a luxury Condo Villa Resort on the Caribbean Sea in beautiful Belize. Los Porticos is located on one of the finest beaches in Placencia, with white sand and clear water, and nestled in tropical garden setting. Come experience the best of Belize with exciting vacation specials and great accommodation options to allow you an amazing adventure vacation or relaxation getaway! The choice is yours--with our ideal location just a mile out of town, far enough for serenity and relaxation but still close enough to explore the village, restaurants, bars and shops. Los Porticos Villas boasts well-appointed two bedroom suites with tropical hardwood furnishings, A/C, wi-fi, private verandahs, luxurious bathrooms, washer/dryer, flat screen TVs, fully equipped chef's kitchens, tasteful furnishings, spacious rooms, fabulous views, and all the amenities and services for a perfect Belize family vacation or romantic getaway. Los Porticos Villas offer Sea Front, Sea View,, Pool View and Garden View Villas. Each villa includes the use of bicycles and the front can arrange for golf cart rentals to explore the Placencia Peninsula. The breathtaking Belize Barrier Reef is just a short boat ride from the resort and is a SCUBA diving and snorkeling paradise. And just a short drive from Los Porticos, guests can discover the wonder and mystery of exotic jungles, hidden waterfalls, and ancient Maya temples. We offer a fabulous selection of tours and excursion to explore the vast natural and cultural beauty of Belize, including trips to our exclusive private island, Ivan's Caye, an original fisherman's camp on the Belize Barrier Reef for a day of fun in the surf and sun. Or if you just feel like chilling and taking it easy, Los Porticos pool is a perfect spot to relax and catch up with friends and our private beach is a great base for kayaking, swimming, playing a game of beach volleyball, or just lounging in the sun with a cold Belikin Beer or fruity cocktail. Our on-site La Dolce Vita Italian Restaurant offers fine dining, a full bar, and espresso bar, in a casually elegant atmosphere. Using only the freshest ingredients, including local catch of the day, master Chef Simone will prepare authentic Italian Cuisine with a Caribbean flare, Seafood vegetarian, and special requests are available. Come enjoy the best of the best! Come feel the spirit and treat your senses to the sights, smells, and feel of this unique Caribbean hideaway. Come for a week, a month or a lifetime... The friendly staff at Los Porticos is ready to welcome you to your home away from home in sunny Placencia, Belize! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Los Porticos Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Porticos Villas Hotel Placencia
Los Porticos Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing