We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Cooked Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Tatch

De Tatch
Ranked #12 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stevensville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful home cooked meals and the best breakfast while dining by the sea. Small local restaurant with great service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    242
    89
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“De Tatch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although we only had a single visit, De Tatch restaurant has some great dishes on the menu. We had some black soup of which I cannot recall the name but it was amazing. A great selection of seafood dishes, all local foods and reciepes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeffbland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“"Beer-Batter Shrimp...Cocount Shrimp...Shrimp Special..."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been going to Belize since 2009 and have dined at De Tatch on more occasions than I can count and I can honestly say I have never been disappointed with a meal there.

The fish special is always a delight whether its the snapper in tomato and cilantro or the coconut snapper they are both to die. The coconut chicken is also very delicious! All meals coming with rice/mash/fries or salad, so portion sizes are great!

And as I write this my husband is leaning over me passionately saying....and i quote "I haven't had a bad meal there...actually I haven't had an average meal there let alone a bad one" I believe these words alone are testament to how above average the food is at De Tatch.

And don't even get me started on their beer-batter shrimp, which comes highly recommended. Every time I have been I have ordered the beer batter shrimp as I was told 'you must try it' and every time I have watched the waitress walk back to my table to tell me they were sold out (testament to how good it is)...this was in 2009. Then again in 2011 it was sold out, and I went back to London without trying it. And so on my trip this year I was determined to try it and after visiting two times previously to be told it was sold out, I was losing hope. Luckily on my last visit of the trip they were not sold out and I finally got to try it. And boy was it worth the wait!!!! Was so delicious (words are not enough)!!!

In all De Tatch is one of the best restaurants in placencia...and I have visited them all. The price is right for their beautiful, tasty menu and it is every bit the Belizean dining experience you could hope for as a holiday maker(it's on the beach)!!! I recommend going at night as the atmosphere of hearing the waves in the back ground as well as being under the thatched roof of De Tatch is the perfect evening meal setting!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sam_solomon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CHEESEBURGER!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I go to De Tatch regularly, the food is delicious, reasonably priced, good service. And did I mention the Cheeseburger, well for the price either the single or double are Awesome and the best on the peninsula!! Great location, right on the beach. Nice breeze. Also, for breakfast try the stuffed Fry Jack U will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Umm, fry jacks...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Some of the best food on the island with the best view. We visit Placencia at least once a year, and we always stop to eat here. The stuffed fry jack for breakfast is outstanding, a must try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 42FlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Tatch also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to De Tatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing