We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience in Placentia”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #18 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: facebookla dolcevita placencia
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst experience in Placentia”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were here on Thursday, January 30, 2014. We had made dinner reservations the day before and arrived 10 minutes early. We were seated 30 minutes later...the place was full, noisy and the single waitress seemed flustered, not sure what to do with us. She finally waved us to a table by the door and then totally ignored us for another 20 minutes. Others came in after us, without reservations, and were seated and served. Finally, another waitress came out of the kitchen to give us water and menus (it would have been nice to have those when we sat down...). Finally, an hour after arrival we still had not had our order taken, and my husband was on the verge of leaving, when the second waitress came to take our order. We ordered a bottle of wine and the first waitress brought it with some garlic bread - still unsmiling. The bread was like rocks...I don't think that even the birds would eat it. Long story short, we finally got our meal (chicken parmesan that was simply a couple of flat pieces of chicken covered with melted cheese, salad without salad dressing, it was delivered after I was almost finished the salad). But the wine was very good...
Perhaps they were just having a bad night, but we will never visit this restaurant again. More staff are definitely needed and they should learn to smile...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbhg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    60
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Italian? In Placencia? Yes, go! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This place was great. We ate here on a Wednesday night, meeting some friends for an early dinner. The pasta? It's homemade. Deliciously prepared. The chef is very Italian and his food is a labor of love. He was willing to cater the food to you if you have dietary restrictions which was a huge plus for me. My husband and I both had the pasta la dolce vita which was incredible. I wish we had more time in Placencia so we could eat there again!

Helpful?
Thank kdahl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Italian for reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Food was good, service excellent, good value in nice upstairs dining room. Located in town of Placencia.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst restaurants in town. The food was okay. The service was terrible. The place was so loud that it gave you a headache. Decor is a joke with a few postcards tacked to wall and overpriced as well. I have eaten at tons of restaurants and this one needs to learn what you do beside ask the customer what food they want 30 seconds after sitting down. No hello. No question about drink or appetizer or how we were. Not even a glass of water, which we had to regularly ask for if a server was around Not enough staff to provide what they think is service. Just a ready to order question. We met a man whose wife liked the food but wouldn't come to the rest so he got carry out. Too bad. So many other fabulous local places. The sweet life does not exist at this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank NEBYSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best Gelato Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is hands down the best ice cream I have ever eaten. Even better than in Rome!
Try mixing a few flavours together for a really decadent taste experience.
We tried not to go there every day but it was impossible. Do not miss this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrimeTimeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing