We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Placencia
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
162
18
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
162
18
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee cake little touches wealth of knowledge cable tv air conditioning bikes provided cool off upstairs apartment beautiful flowers we loved our stay spent days minute bike ride jackie bedroom village belize accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 187 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I'm sorry that I'm not overwhelmed with the property but there were pluses and minuses. The hostess was extremely accommodating giving us an upgrade to the one bedroom apartment from the downstairs rooms in back. The apartment was roomy, good wifi, good TV, good kitchen and nice furnishings but we were asked to limit the AC because of electricity costs and as result, the main living area was hotter than I could stand. Ceiling fans just didn't cut it when it felt like +43C outside. During the day it heated up even more with the sun and it was tough. We eventually figured out how to set the AC so we could have a fairly quiet, cool sleep but then the traffic woke us at first light with everyone streaming into the village. Our room was right on the road. All in all though, I shouldn't sound like I was unhappy with the place. Good value, good location away from the bars but close enough to walk, great service and close enough to the beach. It's not their fault the AC was too expensive but coming from Canada, when it says AC, there should be AC.

Room tip: Take the upstairs apartment. I suspect the rooms on the lower floor are darker, smaller and maybe a little claustrophobic.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

As others have remarked, Jacki is an experienced and friendly host, with a great staff. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were clean and new. Having a number of different units made it good to accomodate our varied party of 4-6 people. The location is perfect, just outside the main village but within easy walking/biking distance if you don't rent a golf cart. Jacki was very helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations, letting us know about things we hadn't discovered (Turtle Inn's Indonesian dinner, for one) and she really does know everyone in town. Highly recommended for a short or long stay.

Room tip: The 1BR/2BR apartments have kitchens, which is good for a longer stay, and they are very homey. The garden rooms are great for single/couple who don't need kitchens, and are very comfortable and economical. They face the road, but are still quiet. The A/C in each unit is GREAT to have in a tropical country, and even made the rooms too cold sometimes.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If I ever return to Placencia, I will definitely be staying at Casa Placencia again. Clean and comfortable rooms, amazing decor, and the owner, Jackie, is so sweet and helpful. She helped us book a tour and had a lot of information about the area. She has lived in Belize for about 33 years and has a wealth of information! Great accommodations with air conditioning, hot water, wifi, a wide variety of TV channels, and a pool as well as other nice areas to hang out outside. Free bicycles provided, only a few minutes ride from the main part of town and supermarkets, pharmacies, and the beach. Excellent!!!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnea182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a weekend off ,so we headed out to placencia for 2 days. Miss Jackie was an excellent host. She was very nice and helpful. She came down the stairs to the cab we got out to make sure her was not over charging us . then she served home made cake. She provided free cycles too. Rooms were nice and neat. May seem little small but still really good. You can bike to all the restaurants from hotel. Beach is close by. She also dropped us off when we left . we loved our stay. Highly recommended. If u are volunteering in Belize and coming to placencia on weekends, ask for discount.she may consider it . disregard terrible rating for fitness center. They have pool

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venkatkiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Jackie, Kennedy and Maurisio were very kind hosts. The recent addition of a pool in the back yard made our stay in Placencia even better. Kennedy had the water sparkling! There is very little breeze in the yard, so the pool is an oasis. Your walk to the beach via the main road takes about 10 minutes. The complimentary bikes are an essential means of accessing what the village has to offer. The supermarket is about the same distance away. For me, insect repellent was essential, so I urge you to pack some or try Rainforest Remedies product.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopgirlManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews