We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Placencia Belize
Ranked #3 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

OK, I agree with all the other 5 Star comments,Jacki is a GEM! Wonderful personality, extremely helpful, treats you like family.
But here is a bit of info that has been left out so far. We tend to eat in more than out so here goes.
1. Well stocked kitchen. enough quality pots and pans to cook any meal
could use a knife sharpener.
2. coffee maker with coffee and sugar (you don't see that every day)
3. salt and pepper shakers with salt and pepper. We always bring our own spices (saves having to buy large quantities, then leaving the rest there)
4. No microwaves, but full gas stoves with ovens and large fridges
large grocery store 5 minute walk
5. flat screen tvs with hundreds of channels
6. free bikes.
The one bedroom apt. is very spacious, bright, airy, with great balcony but faces south and also the main street and gets quite hot during the day and noisy when there is traffic
The two bedroom apt. downstairs at the back is much cooler,and quieter, not as bright and airy, does not have any ceiling fans, but the air conditioner set on high fan does the trick.
The nicest is the studio also downstairs at the back, . Lots of counter space, cool, bright, airy, quiet, and has fans.
Casa Placencia is 2.5km from the docks, which is the center and furthest you can go into town.It is also 2.5km from the airport.
There are plenty of restaurants with great menus, mostly creole, and plenty of local vendors serving burittos, rice and beans, and other local dishes.
Lunch is usually around $10BZ, supper is $15-$25BZ. A beer is $4BZin the restaurant, $3 at the grocery store.
On a personal note; Belize is a country where when you walk down the street everyone greets you with a nod, or a hello, and a smile. And they are not trying to sell you something, they are just friendly people!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Casa Placencia Belize
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 162 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Casa Placencia is located close enough to the village to explore. It is bright, comfortable and Jacki is so accomodating for her clients. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Casa Placencia. Only a short walk to the beach and a nice ride to the village by golf cart. For people on a budget I would highly suggest you check this out. It was perfect for us. At Casa Placencia I felt like my husband and I fell in love all over again. The flowers were in bloom and pretty birds came to visit.

I felt really safe at Casa Placencia and the great part is that we made new friends in a small setting. Thank you Jacki for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmaofBBAAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Jackie the owner is an amazing lady and will always make you feel welcome, the rooms are beautifully decorated, fresh flowers and plants everywhere.
The beach is only a few minutes walk away, definitely the best place to stay in Placencia for travelers on a budget looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The place is very clean, and comfortable, especially the mattress. The location is great being close to everything but quiet at night. It is also very safe because the access to the room is behind a fence which is locked at night. The owner Jackie is most knowledgeable of the town, services and its customs. She is a great hostess who is willing to help any resident at any time of day or night. The screened in porch with the hammock is wonderful for relaxing. The grounds are very well maintained and beautifully designed making walks a pleasure. I will definitively stay here again on my next visit to Placencia. Having tried several hotels and residences in Placencia over the years, Casa Placencia is definitively the best value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was funny, I read numerous reviews about this B&B and all seemed to refer to the "amazing host" Jackie. Unfortunately, when we were staying here she was not there, so possibly that is why our experience was not as enjoyable as others.

We did not receive the warmest of welcomes and from there on, things did not improve. The 'Garden' room was functional but with the slightly malfunctioning A/C up o the wall above the bed, it lended itself to some poor sleeps. Also, the wifi was non existant for our stay, despite numerous requests to have it looked into.

Then, beyond anyones control, the weather was not amazing whilst we were there so (as we were on a short holiday) we decided to move on up the coast a day earlier than planned. Entirely our choice to do so but I never even got an acknowledgement from Casa Placencia since our departure of why or how we left. Even with having left them a letter explaining our situation and with full contact details.

Finally, when booking our stay (which was only two days prior to arrival) FULL payment was taken off my card before even asking me if it was ok to do so! Grant you, if asked, it would not have been a problem but thats not the way to do business.

If I was completing a Report Card then I'd finish with - "MUST try harder".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A friend dragged me down to Placencia to go scuba diving, on top of a great adventure getting down there, was an amazing, quaint town to greet us. Casa Placencia, with our marvelous host! Jacki! Her warmth and openness was fabulous, as well as her cooking. If you ask nice she may just whip up a batch of her coffee cake, made like nothing the States could dream up! perfect rooms with A/C for a great price, who could ask for more. A taste of the feel of the waters if you are planing on diving down there, here is a link to a video I made for those on the hunt for Whale Sharks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EK0Rnzxf9sA

Room Tip: Jacki provides a wide variety of available rooms from econo to stunningly outfitted suites. Just let...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spyder1100101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our usuall place to stay was full, so we stayed with Jacki at Casa Placencia. What a wonderfull surprise. My husband and I rented the upstairs apt, while my sister and a friend rented the garden rooms below. Our apt was spacious, had a great kitchen, and ended up being the centre of all things fun on our trip. All of the rooms were spotless, and Jacki was an amazing hostess. The location was in the quiet part of town which was nice to kick back and relax. We will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42FlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 19 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Placencia Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Placencia Belize

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: $50 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Placencia Belize 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Placencia is a small, casually elegant, reasonably priced establishment located in a quiet & safe neighborhood at the north end of Placencia; a short walk to a great beach, local restaurants, bars & shops; surrounded by lush tropical gardens, edible fruit trees & vines-pick bananas, papayas, coconuts and more year round..... Offering economical Garden Rooms with tiled showers & handicap access, as well as three furnished Apartments, filled with custom fabrics, original paintings & handcrafts from Central America & Hawaii; private verandahs or screened rooms to fully enjoy living outdoors which is how we prefer it, here in Placencia paradise.... First floor-Garden Views. Garden Rooms-Queen or Twin Beds, adjacent Kitchen avail for guest use. Studio Apt-Queen Bed-Bathroom w/soaker tub; HUGE outside Living Room w/custom vine furnishings. Two Bedroom Apt-Queen and Twin Beds-spacious Bathroom with Tiled Shower for two; HUGE outside Dining Room w/custom iron/tile furnishings. Second Floor-One Bedroom Apt, sunrise & sunset views-Queen and Twin Beds-Tiled Shower Bathroom. Owner/Manager Apt, distant lagoon & Maya Mountain views. All accommodations provide Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, fully equipped Kitchens, 24/7-WIFI, Cable TV w/HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and more....Books, DVDs & Games, as well as Beach Cruiser Bikes for guest use. Shared area in backyard w/expansive mosaic tile BBQ, Palapa w/custom table, adjacent to fruit & veg garden & compost area; Parking available. Designer/Manager, Jacki Tipton, who built this property with beauty, budget, comfort & ecological living in mind, has been in Belize for many, many years & enjoys sharing her love & knowledge of the entire country, as well as her favs on the Placencia peninsula, (she may bake one of her yummy treats, if you ask her). Everyone speaks English and our safe to drink water originates from across the lagoon in Maya mountain streams; the tastiest in the entire country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Placencia Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing