We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Ranked #1 of 42 things to do in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Boat ride is short from Placencia hotel. Best snorkelling I have seen (snorkelled and scuba dive for 10 years all over the Caribbean), great diving close by. Feels like your in Robinson Crusoe, paradise in the middle of the ocean. When not snorkelling, be sure to bring a towel for the beach. Lots of picnic tables. Love to watch the 30 or so pelicans in action. Not a tour for an adrenaline junky, but truly a piece of paradise.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMMcLellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    82
    24
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited the Laughing Bird with Bernard from the Ocean Motion Tours. It’s such a beautiful spot and only a short boat ride from Placencia. This tiny island was amazing – calm seas on one side and rough on the other. The sand was so fine and white! We loved watching the pelicans and spotted a few tarpons so close to the beach. Snorkelling was fun. Our guide Bernard was just great pointing to us all the different fish and creatures in the sea. Then he cooked a delicious lunch on the beach and a bit later took us for yet another swim. We found more variety of coral and fish here than in Thailand or Mauritius. Thumbs up from us!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikafromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Diving”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Did my first dive in Belize here. Pretty great, but not much more then coral and some relatively common fish to see. I did however hear that the snorkelers who went here saw tons of really interesting sea life. So give it a try, its at least worth it for the hilarity of watching all the pelicans feast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxCappelli-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This small island is a fantastic location for families to retreat and relax, experiencing the abundant sea life of the world's second largest barrier reef. We spent a day here with our seven year old daughter and we all enjoyed so much the clarity and warmth of the water, and the incredible variety of sea life. Corals, plants, fish and other creatures abound in this sanctuary, in such a variety as we'd never seen before in other places of the world we've visited. It's to Belize's credit that such a place has been protected and preserved, and a definite must-visit location.

There are picnic tables, bbq pits, and lavatory facilities on the island, as well as park rangers very knowledgable about the park. The rangers are very warm and friendly, certainly very approachable and happy to share the knowledge and experience of the park.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeffbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“holymoley!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Awesome coral and fish.We went 3 times during our 2 week stay in Placencia..Laverne at Ocean Motion was very accomadating and would call us if in the morning if the weather looked suitable for snorkeling. Bernard her husband gave us a great trip and made us a delicious lunch on the beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Bird Caye National Park also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Laughing Bird Caye National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing