We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian food in Paradise!”
Review of Danube - CLOSED

Danube
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: DANUBE Restaurant, EAT – DRINK – RELAX in a romantic atmosphere. A/C indoor, lounge area outdoor. Austrian and International Specialties, fish and vegetarian dishes, great desserts, large wine menu & cigars. Open TUE - SAT from 4.30pm.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Shnitzel = so awesome.
Goulash = gorgeous.
Potato Salad = proper.
Service and cooking = One server and one cook, its their lively hood. Both professional diving instructors, this husband and wife actually worked in high volume hotels and restaurant bars all over the world. Make a reservation and book the fondue ahead of time.

1  Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

During a recent visit to Placencia the Danube was highly recommended and therefore my sons and a friend took the opportunity to enjoy what is an excellent venue. Considering that we only dined on steak tartar (which isn't cooked) and meat fondue (which we cooked ourselves) we thought the price expensive. The big surprise was the cost of the schnapps (I live in Germany and therfore am very familiar with this drink and it's cost) at what amounted to €7 a shot I suggest it is best avoided. If money is no object and you desire a slice of the unusual this may be the place for you, but it is a considerable way out of Placencia and better value abounds within the village.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paymaster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbert, Owner at Danube, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

First Thank you for your review. However we feel that we need to respond concerning your statement:

1) prices of all menu items including schnapps are clearly stated in our menu!
2) Of course schnapps is less expensive (not necessarily depending on quality) in Austria or Germany. However we import schnapps and we are the only restaurant in Belize offering quality Austrian schnapps.
3) Fondue is of course cooked by yourself as this part of the experience. The preparation work which is involved as well as high quality meat (beef and pork tenderloin) reflects the price of the fondue. Again we must mention that the price is clearly stated in the menu as well as the way of preparation.
4) Beef Tartare: is never cooked and world wide eaten raw. The price of a dish never reflects if its cooked or raw but only the quality of ingredients and amount of work involved in preparation.

Last but not least we want to mention that we had a great evening together and you even invited us to 2 shots.

Kind Regards
The owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A great taste of Europe in the tropics! Very friendly, nice ambiance and you can roll a dice for a free beer.

1  Thank LotharM797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I went to Belize to celebrate our 7th Wedding anniversary last week. While on our way to one of the tours we discovered Danube and just from the look of the grounds we decided to go there for dinner the evening of our anniversary.

As soon as we entered we knew we made the right choice. The decor of the restaurant was very modern and clean, nicer than any other establishment we dined at during our week. The hostess was very warm and friendly, and gave us fantastic service. The food was absolutely great. We visited Germany this past May, and the food here was authentic and delicious. The prices were lower than any of the resort restaurants that we visited, and were only slightly higher than those in Placencia village. They also had a great wine selection as well as several beers and aperitifs.

As far as ambiance in concerned, the outside grounds were lush and well manicured and the inside was warmly lit. Very romantic. Also it was air-conditioned (very important)! The restaurant had a talented local musician playing acoustic classic rock to several patrons. He was kind enough to play a song for my wife and I to slow dance too.

At the end of our meal the chef came out to greet us and both owners thanked us for our patronage. We did not realize the restaurant was for sale while we were there, but my wife and I do hope to return for another meal here in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank datch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We recently visited the "Danube" on our
vacation to the Placencia area of Belize,
and we were completely-impressed by
their delicious & authentic European cuisine! The ingredients were high-quality, and the service was excellent!
And the owners, Herbert & Simone, were
very-friendly! Add in a non-pretentious,
romantic, Continental cafe atmosphere,
and you have a great dining experience,
you don't want to miss!
ps: Don't forget to "roll the dice for your Belikin beer", to see if you can get one for half-price or even free! : )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lallapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing