We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative cocktails with a balcony view.”
Review of Rumfish y Vino

Rumfish y Vino
Ranked #9 of 73 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rumfish y vino is centrally located in the Placencia Village Square. Overlooking the ballfield has a festive and breezy atmosphere, and a cool ecclectic soundtrack. A GASTRO-BAR Central American style. From tapas & wine...to frosty draft beers & fish tacos, there is something for everyone to enjoy! AMAZING handcrafted cocktails made from fresh fruit infusions and housemade extracts. Ginger, Cocomut, Pineapple, Watermelon Mojitos and more. Small plates style dining plus great entrees and fresh and inspired specials daily. A place for locals and tourists alike. Rumfish y vino proudly imports all of their own wines too. Outdoor and indoor dining, and a big central bar with comfortable seating for dining or just enjoying a few Watermelon Mojitos!
michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Creative cocktails with a balcony view.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The service at Rumfish is very good, with friendly owners who
make the rounds to check on their customers. The two dishes
we had, nut crusted Snook and Red Snapper in a curry broth
were both excellent. Their cocktail list is really impressive,
and are well executed. The wine list one the other hand, is not
so impressive. For a restaurant that has vino in it's name, and
one of it's owners, who came from the beverage industry. We
were somewhat disappointed. The wine list is not very deverse
and is slanted to Italian wines. Albeit good wines, just not
alot of deversity. Overall we had a great time and a wonderful
meal. The balcony seating, to view of the happenings of
Placencia was fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thai1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    335
    102
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique in Placencia”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Rumfish is good all-around. The owner is super friendly, the service top notch and the food is really enjoyable. Looking for something other than rice and beans and grilled fish of the day? This place fits the bill and has great ambiance! The best thing I tried were the pork belly tacos- ohhhh man I want another!!

Helpful?
Thank kdahl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyed our meal and time”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

4 of us came in without a reservation. Although we ordered drinks at the bar we were seated before they arrive. I had the conch fritters for an appetizer. The sauce with it was excellent and very spicy. We each had the snook special and all agree it was very good. Cooked just right, good flavour. The potatoes were also good. Atmosphere was great. We sat at the table talking for about an hour after dinner. They came around several times asking if we wanted drinks or water and at no time trying to hustle us out the door. It was a very relaxing time. The owners came by a couple of times ensuring we were taken care off. All in all a great night!

Helpful?
Thank jake5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We loved the ambiance here, plus the food was excellent. We went for apps one night and had the Thai shrimp croquettes- they are fabulous! We went back our last night to have them again (!) and also lucked out and had the special "Snook Crudo" (sashimi style snook) - it was so great too. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best food in Placencia.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The Rumfish was recommended by our hotel as one of the best local restaurants. It more than exceeded our expectations! We had such a good dinner and drinks we went back the following night and enjoyed live music on the porch. The owners John and Pam were most gracious. The food was the best we experienced in Placencia! Don't miss it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumfish y Vino also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Rumfish y Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing