We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location & Best Deal in Maya Beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Location & Best Deal in Maya Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is our second stay at Joyce & Frank's B & B. The superb location, friendly staff, great beach & pool and a well-maintained property is why we will be back for a third stay. Josephine can cook up a delicious Belizan breakfast and lunch. There is also a grocery store and several restaurants conveniently located within walking distance. Virgilio, the groundskeeper, is very helpful and can assist you with questions and directions, and Joyce is friendly and informative. One of the outstanding features of Joyce & Frank's is the free use of kayaks. Thirty minutes of paddling gets you to a nearby island and wonderful snorkeling area. With a rental car, this property is a great base for exploring the tropical rainforest in the Jaguar Preserve, Mayan ruins at Nim Li Punit, a Mayan village in Indian Creek, and other sites in the Toledo District. Room 102, the room we stayed in, faces the ocean and gives an excellent view of beautiful sunrises. Several other rooms also face the beach. The rooms are equipped with a small television, refrigerator, coffee maker & blender. Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LotharM797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Joyce and Franks is very basic. The beach is very nice. I could be a great property with some TLC and service. The info on the web site is misleading. The little beach house # 1 is NOT the place to stay. It is no better than a very tiny, rough camp house. Very rustic. All the room holds a bed that is up high so you can store luggage under it. The bed need to be replaced. There is an over loaded power strip for the fridge, coffee pot, TV, microwave, etc. We had to unplug the TV to turn it off. That was the only way turn it off. It was like being in a starter college apt! We had to move the coffee pot to get enough energy to make coffee. It is also not a B&B. No breakfast. No coffee, no coffee filters...nada! It is was also hot. There is an old window unit that cannot keep up to cool the tiny space. There is a mini bed between the bath and bedroom. No air in the area and it is basically in the bath. No kid should sleep there. There is no air in the bath and no place to put toiletries. The pool is nice and clean. The beach is fantastic. Be sure to ask WHAT IS OPEN not if there are restaurants in the area. They were very mislead on this too. Many of the businesses; hotels, stores and restaurants close in rainy season for months at a time. We did not have a lot of choice on where to eat in the area. It is $20 US RT to take a cab into Placincia Village. There are some great places to eat in the Village. We walked to Green Parrots one night for dinner. It was 2 properties over. (There is no pool at Green Parrot and no A/C in rooms. ) It was tasty but crazy expensive for what we ate. We felt ripped off. The best restaurant in the area is the Maya Bistro. It is in walking distance. It is AMAZING and a beautiful property with rooms, a great beach and a nice pool. If you want the Maya Beach area stay there! There is a good little store across the street from Joyce and Franks. It is owned by a lovely family. Some of the rooms at J&F seemed better than #1. Look before you pay! The one listed as Beach House is NOT on the Beach. it is on the parking lot. It looked like all of the other rooms had descent A/C units. There is a great Belizean gentleman that takes care of the property. Singing Sands is also in the Maya Beach area and a sister property to Roberts Grove. Roberts Grove is in a much better area, close to the village with great rooms and service! We stayed there too and it was well worth the money!
We loved the area but found much better properties! Have fun!

Room Tip: Look at Singing Sands or Maya Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the beach house and bungalow 2. It was clean and spacious especially for the price and just steps to the beach. Our two younger kids stayed in the house and our two older boys stayed in the bungalow. We have stayed in lots of hotels internationally and consider this place to be one of our favorites for it's value location and amenities. We had fun fishing from the dock, kayaking and paddleboating in the ocean, relaxing in the pool, and I loved the little tiki huts right on the beach. I read the previous reviews and I was shocked to see a bad review on this place! We checked out some of the other local hotels and found that it had a lot extras that other ones did not. Even a very famous hotel that charges 5 times as much per day has the same exact beach with less amenities included.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viper5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Bc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at this lovely ,friendly B&B for 4 days, liked it so much, we came back within the same trip and stayed for 6 more!! The comfy shaded veranda, great pool, welcoming ambience, fantastic views from all rooms, made for a pleasurable stay. Josephines cooking, Virigilio's ability to read our minds,Frank's cold draft beer and Joyce's good humour, advice and helpfulness made us feel like we were visiting with friends!! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margandd0ug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We chose this B & B as our 3rd and final place to stay during our recent trip to Belize. What a great choice we made!! Joyce and Frank were very welcoming, their property is charming and peaceful. A wonderful pool to enjoy and cool off in on those hot afternoons, a lovely beach, cleaned daily by none other than the hard working Virgillio, and wonderful breakfasts made each morning by Josephine, especially enjoyed the Belizean Breakfast served with the cinnamon fryjacks!! They also have an "Honor System' where you can just select a cold beverage of your choice (Belikins or soft drinks) and record what you took! Really did feel like we were at a home away from home!!
Joyce was extremely helpful in helping us book excursions, we went for a day sailing trip with Belize Sailing Charters which was absolutely wonderful!! A group of dolphins decided to swim along with us for a while, breathtaking!! Also did the Monkey River tour, led by a very knowledgeable guide by the name of Alran...born in Monkey River, this man truly did go the extra mile to help us learn all about it! Went out of his way on the way home in search of the elusive Manatee....which we finally did see a group of them who breached several times, very cool!
This B & B is located in Maya Beach, there are several restaurants withing walking or golf-carting distance, you can rent a care from them or just take the bus in to Placencia Village, which we did a couple of times, and ended our stay visiting the "Tipsy Tuna" to see Josephine and others performing traditional Garifuna drumming, dancing and song, so neat!!!
Thank you for having us, you helped to make our stay in Belize a memorable one and we would definitely revisit if given the chance!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, Montana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We certainly would return and recommend Joyce and Frank's Bed & Breakfast. While planning our trip they were so helpful, telling us the best way to go and what to do and not to do, Quiet place and loved having breakfast every morning made by Josephine (I truly fell in love with her). Great places to walk to for Dinner and drinks or just stay there and enjoy right at Joyce and Franks. Best pool in the area, loved spending our afternoons reading, visiting or sleeping in the great hammocks. Joyce booked all of our tours. They were great and was with the locals and very personable. We really enjoyed Alloran, he was born and raised in Monkey River and truly went the extra mile. Great not having to rent a car, just rented Joyce and Franks car twice to go into Placencia for the day for much cheaper than car rentals. Room was cleaned everyday and Virillio was up early every morning cleaning the beach area. They all worked well together to make our stay the best possible. I enjoyed our visits with Joyce and Frank and hope they come to visit us in Montana. I don't usually write on reviews but hopefully this will help one chose a wonderful place to visit. NBegley's review is right on.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cabana and loved it. Very private and right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWester1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We loved this place and recommend it to anyone who loves the tropics and a great time! We can't tell you enough about how helpful and friendly Joyce and Frank were...always wanted everything to be perfect for us. The food was great and was all made from scratch. The local fruits are fabulous and all the eggs are free range; you can certainly taste the difference. All the breads are local and hand made. Other guests told us about the special guide that Joyce and Frank have for the Monkey River Tour, so we went on it and we saw 3 different groups of monkeys and were within 30 feet of them, not to mention the crocodiles, birds galore and even some wild parrots. Even the elevated beds, like you see in England and in the Bahamas are so practical. You can put all of your junk under the bed and not have to worry about it. We left our windows open and you could hear the sound of the surf lapping on the shore all night, to give you that island feeling. Joyce and Frank have spared no expense; as the rooms even have safes, cable TV and air conditioning (which we didn't need) . The beach was uncrowded and we walked the beach daily without running into any obstacles or many people. The view from our bedroom was breathtaking as we overlooked the pool and the beautiful ocean. Our favorite place was in the hammock on the pier. We felt like we were on a boat minus the sea sickness. This paradise and all it's extras rate number 1 in our book.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNFLOWER21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
6.8 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changing ownership ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joyce And Frank`s Bed & Breakfast
Joyce & Frank`s Hotel Placencia
Joyce & Frank's Bed & Breakfast Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing