We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Placencia with Expert Stewardship”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Iguanas Villa
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Placencia with Expert Stewardship”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I had a perfect time in your beautiful Villa this June 2010. The house has perfect proximity to Placencia Village. Each and every floor is beautifully appointed and the third-floor view from the pool of the canals in front and back, and water to the west requires visiting it at all times of the day to thoroughly enjoy it.

Stefano is the icing on the cake, as he makes the experience of Three Iguanas as perfect as it could possibly be. He is incredibly helpful, nice and charming. If you have a question he has an answer. If you need assistance with something he will help.

There is only problem with Three Iguanas. No matter how much time you spend there -- it will not be long enough!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

the villa is great, lots of space, amazing rooms with larges balconies for our room. we stayed on the middle floor with our group. there was water on both sides of the villa and we saw two iguanas there on the deck and a sea horse. the weather was great and place was fantastic, glad to have gone down.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noexspetactions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

It was our first visit to Belize. We went with another couple that had been before but the first time at the Three Iguanas. Three Iguanas Villa is a beautiful place to stay. Just by coincidence, I'm sure, but we actually saw three Iguanas sunning on the dock the first day we were there. The villa is on the lagoon side but just a couple of minutes from the beach, We went bicycling and snorkeling at the beach several days while we were there. Stefano and Sofia, the caretakers, were very friendly and helpful and always available. Placencia is a small town, but with lots to do. They seemed to know everyone and all of the places to go. The local sailboat captain, Jeff, who lives just a few houses down, will pick you up right outside your door for a snorkeling/fishing excursion or a sunset sail, which we did both. He can also arrange a fishing trip in the Carribean from your back door which we also did. The villa also has a great kitchen and barbque grill that we used a lot. We had a great time and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Three Iguanas villa is a lovely well furnished and well cared for place to stay. The Villa actually splits into 3 units and we stayed in the 2 bedroom 1st floor apartment. The apartment had eveything we needed in the kitchen (as we did some self catering) and when the weather wasn't great there was a TV and DVD player in the large living room. The bedrooms have lovely furniture/decor and sumptuous bathrooms. On the roof terrace there is a plunge pool which had fabulous views to the Mayan mountans and across Placencia. We visited during hurricane season and felt comfortable to book as there is a refund clause in the contract should hurricanes hit ( they v rarely do). However we happened to be staying when Hurricane Richard hit Placencia in Oct 2010. The villa is well equipped to deal with this, with strong shutters and gas cooking facilities but most of all the villa manager Stefano could not have been more helpful. We were well prepared with water, candles and flashlights and Stefano made sure that we felt safe and informed on the days running up to the hurricane and on the day it hit. The hurricane passed and we were comfortable and safe. Overall Stefano and Sofia ( the housekeeper) made sure that our visit was easy and we had everything we needed. I would highly recommend Three Iguanas if you want somewhere comfortable, upmarket but relaxing to stay whilst you visit Placencia. I will definitely be heading back there this year. I have spent a lot of time in Belize and this is one of my favourite spots.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjunkie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Three Iguanas is an upgraded house with 3 different levels available for rental. We stayed on the large middle floor. The house was very clean, everything was in working order, views were beautiful. Canoes were provided for our use, though we didn't get around to jumping in. There are also bicycles available which we rode into town multiple times to eat and buy groceries. Stefano, property manager, along with housekeeper, Sofia, were really teriffic! Stefano is an upbeat, happy-go-lucky Italian who is livin' a dream in Belize. He knows everything about the locale and is ready and willing to share and help in any way possible. Sofia can be seen throughout the day as she lives on the bottom floor of the house. She is very friendly and more than willing to help. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphir28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Our family of 6, including four kids aged 9-18 stayed at Three Iguanas over Thanksgiving, 2010. We rented the entire villa, which has 5 bedrooms altogether so each child had his own room and bathroom. The teenagers stayed on the ground floor, where the rooms were more like studio apartments. Sofia, the onsite housekeeper, and Stefano, the manager of the place, were both easily available and very helpful with tips about the town, trips to take, and generally enjoying ourselves. We'd go back in a heartbeat--the best trip we've taken as a family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einkarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I got married in Belize and I took about 30 people with me all over Belize. In Placenia I rented about 6 different rentals and Three Iguana's was my favoirte. It is close to everything with a great view from the top by the rooftop plunge pool. Stafano and Sofia the caretakers were great! They oviously care. There was an issue with water pressure however Stafano already had a plumber there when we were checkin in with him and it was fixed by the time we brought in our bags. Everyone had their own place to hang out and get rest from the group and still have a few different gathering areas. The kitchen was large enough to accomidate and cook for 30 people when we had a big get together dinner. I would recomend the top for a couple as a private retreat and the rest of the house works for amost anything. I would recomend The Three Iguanas to anyone or any other property managed by Stafano.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrumyoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.0 mi away
Los Porticos Villas
Los Porticos Villas
#2 of 28 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Iguanas Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Iguanas Villa

Property: Three Iguanas Villa
Address: Harbour Place North, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Iguanas Villa has 5000 sq ft of upscale design. From the unique upscale bathrooms, marvelous mattresses and kitchens in each suite to the roof top plunge pool and dock stretching along a quiet waterway of Placencia Lagoon. The 3 storey villa has a first floor suite (2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 1 kitchenette) and 3rd floor suite (with kitchenette) available for rent. Also: AC, ceiling fans, cable TV, on-site parking, combination safes and laundry facilities. Guests also have complementary use of kayaks and bicycles. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and all the amenities of Placencia Village can be reached within a 10 minute walk. Three Iguanas Villa has recently (Oct. 2015) been taken over by Dr Annelise Hagan and Doyle Gardiner. Annelise is a coral reef biologist and has worked in marine park management in Placencia since 2010. Doyle is proprietor of DTOURZ and will be delighted to arrange all your terrestrial and marine excursions. Tour bookings can be made in advance should you wish, or once you are here. Annelise and Doyle (and their cats!) live on the second floor of the villa and look forward to welcoming you to Placencia, and to their beautiful home. They will be delighted to assist you in making your stay the best that it can be! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Iguanas Villa Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing