We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Hotel - Paradise with Personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I just returned from Paradise Hotel in Placencia. We will certainly recommend it as a great value based on those we've seen in Placencia. I got there in time to see the rooms and they are as clean as any I've stayed in anywhere. Alan & Deloris took us on a brief tour of the small hotel (12 rooms if I remember correctly.) Two of the rooms were large and fully equiped (working cable, small refrigerator, microwave, A/C, ocean-front balcony.) The free wireless was working, but only in the restaurant when we were there. The rooms were very quiet, even when the restaurant was busy.

Personality Plus: Everyone from Tiphany, the manager, to the tour guides (we used 3 different ones - 2 snorkeling trips & one trip to the Rio Blanco Falls & Mayan ruins), to the waitstaff were very knowledgeable, very friendly, and attentive. The restaurant has a bar and the service was wonderful. Don't go expecting fast food delivery, expect a slight wait because other than daily specials everything seems to be prepared to order and often we noticed/tried things not on the menu. We tried their breakfast, lunch, and dinner and enjoyed all. The Fry Jacks at breakfast are wonderful and when they have them, you can get them plain, with powdered sugar, or stuffed with eggs, bacon, cheese, etc.

At night, an assortment of village locals (several colorful personalities here), transplanted US citizens, and visitors frequent the restaurant and bar. If you're not in a hurry, the laidback atmosphere and assortment of people is fun to partake. Actually, this may have been one of our favorite parts of staying at Paradise. I would encourage you to get into a few conversations while you're there.

Oh yes, they had an on-site spa for massages, a dive shop, boat dock, and a gift shop. Also a nice library of books and I think they had quite a few videos - we didn't watch much TV. A jacuzzi and sun deck on the roof. Golf cart rentals.

We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooWhoTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Vacation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

My husband and I had never been to Belize before, so we didn't know what to expect--we knew we wanted to see whale sharks, so we headed to Placencia. We did some quick research on the internet--crossed our fingers--and picked Paradise Resort. We could NOT have been happier! It was totally above and beyond our expectations. We LOVED that it was a small resort with a local feel. Everything was newly remodeled--fresh paint, tile work, landscaping...just perfect! The earthquake had done some minor damage to the dock and some of the buildings, but the owners were getting everything fixed and don't doubt it will be better than ever. The resort is close to town (just walk down a palm tree-lined sand path to restaurants and shops--must try the ice cream!) yet far enough away so it feels like your own private escape.

The room was perfect. We were upgraded to an ocean-front room overlooking the dock and moored catamarans. We had air conditioning, a kitchenette with mini refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. And the bathroom was wonderful--the shower was big enough for two and the sink and wall tile were amazing.

The open-air bar and restaurant were phenomenal. We had breakfast there each day--definitely try the stuffed jacks, and ate dinner there a couple of times--the great thing about the bar was that locals and vacationers alike ate and hung out there.

We can't say enough about the staff and owners. We really wanted to experience everything Belize had to offer so we did a lot of activities--and ALL the arrangements were taken care of by the resort. We just sat back and enjoyed the ride! We went diving (whale shark and reef) for four days, then did some top-side tours (Mayan ruins, cave tubing, and zip line) the rest of the week. Our personal tour guide (Rafael) really knows his stuff! During our Mayan trip he told us about the different trees and what medicinal purposes each of them has--fascinating stuff! He even climbed trees to fetch fresh papaya as a snack. He is also one of the bartenders for the resort and made the best banana daiquiris (from fresh farm bananas he got on one of our tours, no doubt!)

We would highly recommend Paradise Resort. We felt like family, and didn't want to leave. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverColoradoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Paradise Resort is a beautiful resort right on the water, close to town, with great service! We actually were staying somewhere else, and when we lost our water supply, the folks at Paradise let us come over and shower here! Tiffany is very professional and always puts the needs of guest first! I have stayed in many places in Belize and Placencia, but this place has by far the best service! Rooms are very clean comfortable, and have air conditioning, which is a rare amenity here! And they can arrange any tours you want: I recommend the Jaguar Paw trip with cave tubing and zip lining! Reliable internet access available in the open air restaurant too. Next trip we will stay here the whole time! Oh, and they have kayaks for rent that you can take right here on the beach and kayak around the lagoon or the ocean, at very reasonable rates!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I was on a vacation to Placencia and was spending few days out at sea sailing. I was a bit disappointed with the service of the Sailing company that I had been sailing a few days with. After I return to mainland Placencia my trip turned to the better when i fortunately found a wonderful little resort with ice cold air conditioned rooms which was much appreciated after hot days at sea. Service and food was exceptional and i really appreciated special attention the manager, Tiffany gave us. She made us felt right at home. Difinetly recommend if you visit placencia.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Paradise Vacation Hotel is not easy to find but well worth the search. Fortunately the hotel staff will pick you up at the airport so you don't get lost. The hotel is tucked away right on the water with a fantastic view. The owners have completely refurbished the hotel and it shows. Clean rooms, fresh paint, air conditioned rooms, gift shop, internet access. The hotel has a small friendly resort feel. They have two water front rooms which are worth the price. These rooms come with a private balcony, small fridge and plenty of space. The hotel also offers less expensive rooms which are just as clean and nicely decorated so if you are on a budget you will not be disappointed. The hotel offered just about everything we wanted. Service, convenience, safety, romance and adventure. The service and convenience were our favorite aspects of this hotel. The hotel staff will arrange any type of trip you want, Monkey River Tours, Sailing Adventures, Snorkeling and Diving. Most of the tour boats pick you up right at the hotel dock. The hotel boasts its own dive shop (and tour guides) so you don't need to drag all that stuff in your suit case. The dive shop even had kyaks that we used. If you prefer relaxing like me they offer a private spa area for a local massages. It was so nice and convenient to just walk right out on the dock to get my massage. The hotel restaurant was always open and several times the owner came by and offered to make anything we wanted even if it wasn't on the menu. The restaurant bar is open air with a great view of the water and sailboats mooring. We thoroughly enjoyed happy hour (try the margarita made with fresh local limes). We met many friendly locals and fellow tourists who seem to wander in around that time. The hotel has a roof top area with a jacuzzi. Personally, we loved sitting up on that roof at night and star gazing. We had several evenings when it was just the two of us and the stars and the bar is just a fight of stairs away. Although it is tempting to never leave the resort, the walk to town is just up the beach or you can rent a golf cart right from the hotel. Definitely go to town and explore the local shops and restaurants too. We will be returning to Belize in June for Lobsterfest and we have already booked one of those great rooms at Paradise Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MylaJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed at the Paradise for two nights. Its a nice place, sort of a mini resort. We were staying at another hotel and due to a misunderstanding, on short notice we had to relocate at 8 pm in the evening. Tiffany and her staff at the Paradise rose to the occasion, and by 9 pm we were moved and unpacking. They even held the restaurant open past 9 pm closing so we could get a bite to eat.

We stayed in one of the large rooms on the second floor. Very nice room, coffee maker, fridge, large bathroom. Very large balcony overlooking the bay. The room seems new or just remodeled. There was a room safe but I couldn't get it to work- I think it needed batteries. The cable hookup to the TV wasn't yet working in our room. No problem- we're on vacation. They have wireless internet but I could only get a connection in the restaurant/bar area.

We ate at the restaurant there two nights. The first night we ordered blacked grouper- a bit over cooked/over spiced. The second was snapper Placencia- very nicely cooked & delicious. Highly recommended.

They have a nice bar open to the beach and happy hour beers are only US$1.50.

We were out fishing during the days so I can't give an opinion on daytime activities. They have a small spa and dive shop, plus ocean kayaks.

All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blithering_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed visiting Paradise Resort from our boat anchored in the bay a short dinghy ride from the pier. Alan and his staff were exceptionally cordial to us and all the other cruisers there even though we did not stay in their rooms. The food was quite tasty and the drink selection was plentiful. We highly recommend anyone coming to Placencia stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreaming_Yachtsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
8.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
3.2 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Vacation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Vacation Hotel

Address: Placencia Village, Stann Creek District, Belize, C.A., Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Resort is proudly owned by Alan & Deloris from Jacksonville Florida. They had a vision of creating and maintaining the perfect "Home away from Home" vacation spot in Placencia Belize Central America. Paradise Resort is located in the small village of Placencia at the south end of Placencia Peninsula overlooking the beautiful and inviting harbor. Our location provides you easy access to all of the activities in the village with a clean, safe, comfortable and affordable atmosphere. We are a full service resort with 12 rooms which include Cable TV, air-conditioning, a lock box for your valuables, Hot and Cold running water in tiled bathrooms. Our guests have access to our Jacuzzi on the roof-top, bikes, kayaks, in-room Wi-Fi and a full restaurant, and bar. We offer pick up and drop off from the airstrip. and also offer a shuttle to Belize City (inquire for cost) You will also find a full service gift shop, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere at the resort. We also offer 4 long term apartments with Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and private restroom. The scenery and family type atmosphere is tranquil and the only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Vacation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paradise Vacation
Paradise Vacation Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing