We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the offsite condo at Sunset Point. The folks from Paradise picked us up from the airport and Maria was more than helpful and Shannon was a great help from the email correspondence to the check in. The condo was nice, two bedroom and two baths. The beds were not that comfortable and the curtains where thin so if you like total dark - once the sun comes up you have light. The condo is at the end of the point which is a very quiet place. The pool was nice a the grounds are well maintained. It is a ways from the village so we rented a golf cart for the days we were their.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plstrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are happy you came to visit our area and hope you enjoyed your time here. Our offsite Condo is a wonderful place to get away from all the hustle and bustle but still be close to everything. I will admit Golf Carts do make it much more convenient to go shopping and out and about town for any length of time. We do hope you will come back to Placencia and visit us. Safe journeys!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff were absolutely outstanding. The rooms were clean and nice, but small. We peeked at the oceanfront rooms and they are very nice. Free internet, use of bicycles and kayaks were nice bonuses. It is very quiet in that part of Placencia. The restaurant was very good and almost too convenient(we would eat there instead of trying new places). Airport shuttle was also a nice bonus when arriving late in a new town. A pleasant, laid back, quiet, place with well trained staff. Paradise!The staff spoke high praises of Allen, the owner, which I value as a customer.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are a decent value. The oceanfront rooms are a better value if you want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElArandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are very much appreciated. I do hope you will be back our way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Paradise on a recent trip to Belize. While our rooms were small (we were on a budget), they were very clean and nice. We did get a glimpse into some other rooms which were larger and they were even nicer!

My favorite part about staying here was the staff. Every single person we encountered was super nice and friendly and made us feel immediately comfortable and at ease. The night we arrived they gave us some "Welcome Rum Punch" (delicious) and even kept their kitchen open late for us so we could eat after a 3 hour drive from Belize City.

Also the hotel seemed very secure - there were cameras everywhere and electronic door locks with codes not only felt safer then regular keys, but you also didn't have to carry anything with you!

The location was good too - just a short walk from town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are so glad you came to our Resort. We try to make everyone feel at home here and glad to see it seems we succeeded with you. We try our best to maintain a secure and friendly place where everyone feels comfortable. We are in the center of the village but without that downtown village feel and noise. Hope to see you back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Paradise Hotel for a week while on a scuba diving vacation. When we arrived at the Placencia airstrip, we were met by Maria, who drove us to the hotel. She stopped at the dive operation on the way so that we could check in and finalize our dive itinerary for the upcoming week. Upon arrival, she took our luggage to our rooms while Shannon finalized our check-in and introduced us to Tracey, who was our bartender/waitress for the rest of the day. The hotel is located on the water (Placencia Harbor), not on the beach, but we knew that when we made our reservation. We enjoyed the view of all the sailboats in the harbor. The hotel is located within a short walking distance of "the sidewalk" and main road. We didn't find the walk to be too far, but bicycles were also available for use, if desired. We stayed in room 7 which had a double and a single bed. The beds were very firm, as they consisted of a mattress in a bed frame without a boxspring, which seemed to be common with moderately priced hotels in Placencia. Units with this bedding configuration had only a small amount of storage space for clothing and other personal items. The air conditioning, which is not necessarily standard at all hotels in this area and price range, worked well, as did the room fan. The bathroom was small, but clean and decorated with colorful Mexican tile. Towels, soap, body wash and lotion were replenished daily. The staff, from Shannon and Nazle, at the front desk, Joe, Edwin, Tracey and Yvette in the bar/restaurant were friendly and helpful. The owner, Alan, was seen frequently around the property and was quick to chat or just say hello. One day while in the village, we couldn't resist purchasing a fresh local pineapple. Yvette kindly offered to cut it up for us. We ate most dinners in the village, but had drinks and appetizers in the hotel restaurant. The conch ceviche was excellent. The Belikins were cold and crisp. The fried ice cream was delicious. While at the hotel, we had access to kayaks, beach chairs by the waterfront, lounge area and hot tub on the rooftop and reasonably priced golf cart rentals (approx. USD $17.00 per hour). The open air restaurant/bar was a great place to relax and use the complimentary Wi-fi. There was a nice breeze off the water. It was a popular place with guests of the hotel, other tourists and locals. If a little boy named Guiermo (sp?) comes around selling freshly made, still warm, donuts that his grandmother made, be sure to buy one. They are very tasty and the money helps to pay his school fees. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was the getaway we were looking for, and provided an opportunity to experience the local flavor. It was modest, but clean, comfortable and had everything that we needed. We'd give our money to an establishment like this any day over the big chain resorts.

Room Tip: Only rooms 10, 11 and 12 have a view of the ocean. Rooms 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 10 and 11 have queen size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach_c0uple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

What can one say to such a glowing review but... Thank you!! We do hope to see you again soon. We will keep the beer cold, the ceviche fresh, and you're spot on lounge chairs for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this place on a deal from Trip Advisor, so we knew we were going for the inexpensive trip. We were met at the airport by the owner, Alan who is the kindest man and very friendly. We took both a truck, and then golf cart to the "resort". It's tucked away on the Placencia Harbor, not the direct east facing sea, and is a bit hidden.
Once checked in, by again a very nice, friendly and efficient staff we went up to our room. It was very small. One small window when closed made it feel like a cruise ship inside cabin. The noise from the bar downstairs was not too bad, but I wear earplugs. The ac was good. The bed was not the best, or the pillows, but again we knew we were doing the budget a favor. The bartender, the restaurant manger, and everyone there were absolutely super. The drinks were good, the food was good, but they had no palapa to hide from the sun, only the bar. Up on the roof there was a deck and a hot tub. Needs some serious attention up there! Again, no shade from the Belizean sunshine. The property doesn't get the breeze that the east facing ocean does, so it's a bit hot and the beach in front is not up to my standards for swimming.
They have bikes to loan, and they are in good shape. We also found the golf cart rental rate to be pretty good. A lot of great restaurants within walking distance. Ask Joe for a cooler to keep your "juice" cold in the room. He will also make sure you have ice. I would recommend this place for the budget traveler or the young and adventurous. I am more inclined to look outside the village for my next stay. I have stayed out as far as Maya Beach, and in my opinion, it's nicer. But that's what reviews are for, right? My opinion. I like it quieter.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get one of the bigger rooms on the 3rd floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We enjoyed your stay with us. We do know you were used to the bigger Resorts in our area and glad you tried us out for yourself. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope you will stop in and say hello the next time you are down our way!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked into the Paradise fore 4 nights. We were greeted at the airport by Sheldon, who was great to us during our stay. At the front desk we met Maslee(?) who checked us in. During our stay she was friendly and helpful. Our room, though moderately priced at $89US, had a very poor bed and pillow. The bed is actually a hide a bed and if you've ever slept on one then you know they aren't the best. The A\C was load and worked most of the time. The restaurant was likely the poorest of the many places we ate, though they did a great job cooking our caught fish the last night we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the area are spartan, but I suggest looking at anything that has A\C. Maybe not Paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We value your feedback and thanks to you knew it was time to get some new mattresses. Thank you for letting us know. We are glad our staff was their normal friendly and helpful selves and that our restaurant took their time out and prepared the fish you caught for you. We do hope you have have happy and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had not planned on staying here on our two week trip to Belize, but it had an opening on one of our unplanned nights and few other places did. We gave it a try. Sooo glad we did. It is not the fanciest place in the world, but no where we stayed in the country is and this place had good A/C, which was nice after not having it for four days. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and nice. We had a nice breakfast at the restaurant, but mostly ate off site as the location is so lovely and a short walk to all the great Placencia locations. Would absolutely stay here again, probably as our first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginaublsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRomero, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Vacation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are so glad you found us and enjoyed yourselves while here!! We do hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
8.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
3.2 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Vacation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Vacation Hotel

Address: Placencia Village, Stann Creek District, Belize, C.A., Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Resort is proudly owned by Alan & Deloris from Jacksonville Florida. They had a vision of creating and maintaining the perfect "Home away from Home" vacation spot in Placencia Belize Central America. Paradise Resort is located in the small village of Placencia at the south end of Placencia Peninsula overlooking the beautiful and inviting harbor. Our location provides you easy access to all of the activities in the village with a clean, safe, comfortable and affordable atmosphere. We are a full service resort with 12 rooms which include Cable TV, air-conditioning, a lock box for your valuables, Hot and Cold running water in tiled bathrooms. Our guests have access to our Jacuzzi on the roof-top, bikes, kayaks, in-room Wi-Fi and a full restaurant, and bar. We offer pick up and drop off from the airstrip. and also offer a shuttle to Belize City (inquire for cost) You will also find a full service gift shop, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere at the resort. We also offer 4 long term apartments with Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and private restroom. The scenery and family type atmosphere is tranquil and the only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Vacation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paradise Vacation
Paradise Vacation Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing