We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rommance”

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“rommance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Candle lit dinners on the beach. great food and service. Only downside was the mosquitoes. There is a view of a pier and the moonshines over the water to set the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,065
    145
    45
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coconut prawns Mmm Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The coconut prawn appetizer is absolutely delicious, served with a honey mustard sauce, simply cannot be beat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite simply - Beautiful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

From the moment you arrive here at Maya Beach Hotel you know you that you're in for an enjoyable experience - staff are friendly and smiley, the place is calm, clean and cosy with a good vibe all around.

We had read about the establishment and had been politely nudged in their direction from what locals in Placencia had told us. Which was that you would get an amazing feed and a fantastic atmosphere. This is precisely what we got.

The service was polite, informative and prompt. It was never 'in your face' but when your drink needed to be topped up, it was done quietly and without fuss.

Now the food. Quite simply, it was beautiful. The flavours that came from each of the perfectly cooked dishes, on every well presented plate was sublime. The flavours on offer combined perfectly and with such ease and melted in the mouth.

For the starter we ordered Fish Cakes to share. They were gorgeous, perfectly cooked and with the fantastic sauce to go with them. Definitely recommend them. For our mains we had Cacao Pork Chop and Nut Encrusted Fish. I have to admit, this Pork Chop was as good as any meat I've ever eaten. It was a serious cut of pork and as large as a generous fillet steak. It was marinated in the most amazing of spices and came served with a gorgeous risotto cake and a buttery sauce. My girlfriend ordered the Nut Encrusted Fish and she too was taken aback by how flavoursome and tasty that the dish was. This was served with a really fruity jus/sauce and mashed potatoes that were perfect, they complimented the fish perfectly. The dessert that we went for was a chocolate souffle which, as the waiter had advised would take a few minuted to cook but it was worth the wait. Neither of us wanted to share it as was THAT good.

What was such a nice touch was that The Chef and his wife (The Owners) did come around the restaurant to talk to each table. We didn't want to take up all of their time but they were such interesting people and more than happy to discuss any questions we had. He imparted with some culinary advice and did advise that the Belizean Pork is as good as any steak you would find which is why they serve the delightfully sized Pork Chop's.

If you are anywhere near Placencia, you MUST eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollaig_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Staff, Location, and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Maya Beach Bistro is highly recommended when traveling to Belize! We loved our experience here, it was quite romantic. We suggest making a reservation for a "window" table (obviously there are no windows, but closest to the edge of the deck) We loved our food and the staff. We felt very well taken care of and I have a new found love for Lobster (that I never had before traveling to Belize). The Maya Beach Bistro was accommodating to my Gluten and Dairy Free restrictions and they made me a custom puree soup as a starter (which was so nice of them).... and as a foodie, I know that if a chef can whip up something not on the menu for a restricted dieter AND it tastes good, you got a winner in the kitchen. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking to spend a little more for a worldly experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“eating out with the sea close by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great place and has a very good menu.The food and service where excellent.
We ate here a few times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing