We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well what can I say? AWESOME IS WORD”

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well what can I say? AWESOME IS WORD”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Been meaning to write a review for the Bistro for some time now. All I can say is AWESOME place.
Marco and I dined here for our anniversary, and we had a great time. I Loved the Sassy Shrimp Pot, I loved the bananas and hint of spicy that made this dish. As alway I have the grown up milkshake, just made for us grownups and desserts just adds to my delightful evening. Thank for the great service and wonderful food as always.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleeve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,098
    153
    47
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the taxi ride!!! Five Stars!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I can certainly see why they have won restaurant of the year twice. The food is to die for. HUGE wine selection!! I ate here for three meals in the same day. All were excellent!!! The staff were friendly and attentive on all shifts. Gorgeous views are they have a pool that patrons can use. The prices are extremely reasonable!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly, highly recommended”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

While sailing the cayes we met some ex-pats who told us if we only had one night to dine in Placencia (which was the case for us) that we should go to Maya Beach Bistro. We did, and they were right! The menu was enticing, and the food preparation and presentation was first rate. My husband had the lobster tail and I had a seafood & coconut chowder that was a treat. The jalepenos were mild, which may good for the masses, but I augmented mine with Marie Sharp's Habanero Hot Sauce to give it just the right finish. I don't recall what we had for dessert, but do recall we thought it was awesome (I think it was some sort of ice cream cake with caramel). Don't miss this place, especially if you only have one dinner out while in Placencia. It's not near downtown, but well worth the taxi ride to get to it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ticket2RideToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food here was undoubtedly the cuisine highlight of our trip to Belize. Ate here for dinner, happy hour and breakfast. Ate at several other places on the peninsula as well. This one was the best by far. The food is full of flavor and the service was good as well. The prices were reasonably, especially for happy hour. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoupKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not the cheapest of places to stay, although we were fortunate to get a deal, but the 5 rooms are each unique and beautifully furnished with amazing views of the Caribbean. There is also a delightful, child friendly pool area. The staff are very efficient, helpful and friendly. Excellent wine list which is costly as all the wine is imported. The highlight is the restaurant and the food .... among the best I've ever eaten and extremely good value for money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing