We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

the Bistro is right on the beach, so there's not a bad table in the place. The food is good, especially the mango cheesecake!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Annette010160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    140
    43
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go if you want to be called Bro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you want a waiter who is allowed to greet male guests as Bro including a man way old enough to be his father and the other guests as my friends this is the place for you. In my opinion if I am your friend and my husband your Bro then I should not be charged for a meal. The atmosphere is very pretty and the menu more interesting than the food we got. It needs a good bit of attention by the ex pat owner to equal the atmosphere

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Getupandgoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel Bistro, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your experience. Our servers are definitely encouraged to let their personalities show, but it sounds like one of them took that to an extreme. I'm sincerely sorry that a waiter's style offended you and probably even affected your enjoyment of the food. I do realize that nothing can change your impression at this juncture. We will use your review as motivation to continue improving ourselves. - Ellen and John, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Best Food in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having lived in Belize for ten years we've eaten in many places in many towns, but nowhere has served such excellent food, consistently. We dined and lunched at the bistro and every dish was a treat. The staff were obliging, the hostess / owner attentive, and the surroundings comfortable and spacious. The value, too, was notable - the prices being in Belize dollars rather than the in US dollars we had expected..

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best food in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've not a lot to add to the other reviews except that, in my experience, this is the best food in Belize. Never mind Belize, I ate some of the best food here that I've had in a long foody life. Long may the Maya Beach Bistro flourish as I will return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfredaBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA - USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in placencia hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

we loved this restaurant and went here 3 times (one night just for drinks, but twice for dinner), the food was amazing and they even made turkey with the fixings around christmas! this is definitely the best place to eat around placencia because we went looking for other options and then would always end up back at the maya :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing