We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“He's a restaurant owner; he's a tour guide; he's both!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omar's

Omar's
Ranked #21 of 71 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“He's a restaurant owner; he's a tour guide; he's both!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a good dinner one night at Omar's. Nice laidback patio with good people watching. Omar's son runs the place now and his dad leads tours. So we started chatting and let them know we wanted to see the Monkey River. Well, we booked that during dinner for two days later. We met back at the restaurant and Omar took us on his boat up the river, picked up another guide in the Monkey River Village, and had a nice tour. Omar was a great guide (and the food was great too).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    200
    82
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ok!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Me, my husband and mother-in-law went here for lunch. If you like a glass of wine or a beer with your food this restaurant does not sell alcohol. The food was ok, I had chicken in a creole sauce which was edible but I wouldnt write home about it!! The service was good and everyone friendly. There were nicer places to eat.

Helpful?
Thank kazmc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here. A lobster burrito and crab claws. The main entrees were quite good, but the sides were cold and poor. I would come back for another burrito, but would probably stick to lunch rather than dinner. No beer or alcohol is served, and the environment is very basic.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FineIGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The baracuda and lobster dishes were excellent, but no alcohol. Great for a quick dinner, very casual

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great food at a decent price. Like many of the eateries its seafood with a local twist. The snapper and lobster were excellent. Wish I was there in conch season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing