We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good local food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omar's

Omar's
Ranked #21 of 71 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really good local food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

They do not serve alcohol, but the food is pretty good. The fried barracuda was yummy and the coconut rice really tasty. Great lunch spot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Looness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    200
    82
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner at a great price...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were in Placencia vacationing, we kept hearing about Omar's from other travelers. We finally made it I had the Fish Creole, big portion, fish was fresh and the rice was divine... You must try Omar's the best place for a good meal at a good price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loueyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
808 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Not so special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stopped for some local food for dinner. Their specialty is mostly seafood, generally fairly fresh.
It was not bad but really nothing special. My girlfriend had the shrimp while I had the curry chicken. It was nothing memorable.
Remember to put some mosquito repellent before going there. Dinner for 2 with 2 colas was BEL$42.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Guesthouse for that price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Actually I don't want to rate the restaurant. It's the guesthouse I stayed in. The Staff working for Omar's Guesthouse is probably the unfriendlyest person I met so far in Belize. My boyfriend and me paid 55 B$ for a double room which is far too much for what you get. People owning this place don't care about the guesthouse and it's dirty and everything looks old and broken. They got a good review in lonley planet(i don't know why..maybe the place was nice when they wrote lonley planet 4years ago) and I think that's the only reason people go there. Met lot's of people there and nobody liked it. You can get a much better room in sea spray hotel for the same price! So we changed the room after one night. Sorry that I have to rate the guesthouse here but they dont have the guesthouse on tripadvisor..and I know why!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Simona1985-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fish off the scale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Omar’s provides excellent value for money. The quality belies its non top-budget status. I had the barracuda steak which was beautiful.
You can get a great breakfast. The fry jacks are superb especially with home made guava jelly. I defy anyone not to take a jar home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redrobboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing