We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Omar's Creole Grub - the place for "real local" food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omar's

Omar's
Ranked #20 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
USA/INDIA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Omar's Creole Grub - the place for "real local" food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family ordered the 5-seafood curry and a couple of other dishes to split. It does NOT disappoint. This is the place to go if you want no frills local food. They don't serve drinks but don't mind if you bring your own in. It was our family's favorite restaurant in Placencia. Oh how I wish I could go back there right now!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTalkDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    205
    85
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Conch is King!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Conch is excellent but I have to say the Grouper Creole was one of the best I had. They don't serve booze but a trip to the store next door will take care of that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local food - with flare!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed the daily "everything from the sea" special coconut curry. Succulent barracuda steaks, the tenderest conch, delectable crab claws, just-caught snapper, all in a spicy and savory yellow curry that delighted us thoroughly. It smelled so good from the Main Road that we had to try it - and we're glad we did!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NekVTster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Outside Fool You”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

KInd of dark looking outside, but always filled with locals, sounding like they were having fun. Sounded good, so we tried Omar's for dinner. The conch fritters were incredible! Very good value, and it IS where the locals eat. No drinks served, but they will let you get a beer or cocktail from BArefoot Bar, which is right next door.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great local Belizean food! The grouper in the Creole sauce was amazing. Service is good. Omar is very hospitable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IMcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing