We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and detox!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Bill and Adrianne were friendly, but not too friendly, professional yet and relaxed. Maya Beach has several excellent restaurants within a short walking distance, whether you walked on the beach on the paved road (which has very little traffic). Bill set us up on the Monkey River Tour (Cool!), snorkeling with Splashdive, and the Xunantunich/Blue Hole trip. All three were a lot of fun and worth the money. The guides for Monkey River (Clive Garbutt) and Xunantunich/Blue Hole (Gilly Garbutt--yes, he was related to Clive, a cousin, I think) also piloted the boat and drove the van, respectively, which picked us up, and they both went out of their way to give us an insider's view of Belize. The community is small enough that you can run into the same people repeatedly, but large enough so that you won't get bored easily. We borrowed the bungalow bikes and biked to lunch and dinner or walked with never a problem either way. When we asked (meaning he wasn't all up in our business), Bill gave us great advice for everything from chocolate (Buy some Goss chocolate! Locally made and heavenly!) to how to be the most comfortable while we waited for our flight in the Belize City airport (don't go through security but go up to the restaurant and enjoy a last Belikin or eat--the airport pulled pork was delicious). We also enjoyed an afternoon of wandering in Placencia town. Belize is a lovely country with friendly, easy-going folks, Maya Beach is a great little village, Bill and Adrianne have an ideal spot for an uncomplicated, easy vacation. If you get a chance, you need to stay with Bill and Adrianne--you won't regret it!

--P.S., There is no pool or workout facility; I accidentally rated them and couldn't figure out how to "unrate" them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pfrierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Just what we needed. The place is beautiful! Bill and Adriane are super nice and gracious hosts with great recommendations about things to do in the area. Or just sit around and enjoy peacefully relaxing on your own beach, but a great time will be had. Note: If you're looking for an air conditioned room where you are sheltered from the place you're visiting, this isn't it. The bungalow however always had a great breeze coming through it and ceiling fans and a floor fan kept us nice and cool at night. My girlfriend actually slept under a blanket. All in all a perfect 8 days in Belize. We WILL be back!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tattooedfxtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Barnacle Bills Beach Bungalows was exactly what we wanted- A hut on the beach with nothing between us and the ocean except a few palm trees and two deck chairs. Just like that beer commercial.

This is how it went when my fiance' (now wife) and I discussed our plans-
He: Where would you like to go for our honeymoon?
She: Someplace warm, maybe the Outer Banks.
Me: Think bigger babe.
She: Florida?
Me: BIGGER!
She: I'd like a hut on a beach.
He: OK, I'll make that happen.

I did some research and found Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows first, then I researched Belize and our Honeymoon plan was set. Immediately upon arriving at Bills he greeted us and took our luggage to our bungalow and then told us a bit about local restaurants and the grocery store. All of his suggestions were exactly as he described. The grounds itself are beautiful and private, we had the whole beach to ourselves most the time. We found hearing the waves all night long made for a peaceful and relaxing time.

IF you are looking for an all inclusive resort where everything is planned and handed to you this is not for you. If you are looking for a laid back relaxing time with a snorkeling tour or jungle tour then this is perfect. We didn't plan anything for our week until we got there, sometimes we made food in the kitchen sometimes we ate out. Bills suggestions for eating were spot on. We loved the place.

We will be back to Barnacle Bills.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoccoAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The perfect place for our relaxing vacation! The bungalows themselves are amazing and well designed. The beach is of course beautiful. Snorkeling, sea kayaking, walking the beach, and biking were fun. Bill's recommendations were spot on. Great food and cheap drinks in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldfishcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalow January 23, 2014 to February 2, 2014 and had a great vacation. It was exactly what we were looking for; on the beach, private, within walking distance of great restaurant's, and great company and advice when we wanted. Bill and Adriane were always quick to reply and answer all questions before we travelled, booked our in country flights, picked us up at the Placencia Airstrip, offered us great advice on day trips, car rentals, and informed us of the great gelato at Tutti Frutti. We used the available kayaks and spent a great afternoon at False Caye just a 20 minute kayak from the beach and tried out their snorkeling gear. We spent a lot of time on the beach or in the hammock. It was great to have a kitchen to prepare breakfast and then dine out most nights. My only regret was that we should have booked a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I spent about 10 days at Barnacle Bill's and it was amazing. Bill and Adriane were perfect hosts and were a great resource when it came to finding great food, planning a snorkeling trip or car/golf cart rentals. The bungalow was absolutely perfect for what we needed. Since it had a kitchen we were able to save some money by buying some groceries and making breakfast and lunch (also a few drinks) ourselves. The view from the property is amazing and we could hang out on the beach all day and not see one person walk by. When it came to transportation we found the easiest and most economical way to get around was by renting a golf cart. It was extremely convenient to drive down the peninsula into Placencia. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in Placencia but found it great to pick up some really good "cart" food as well as having cheaper fruit and vegetable stands.

Bottom line is that I would recommend this location for anybody looking for a relaxing vacation without all the tourist traps associated with some of the more marketed areas. The location is perfect for a quiet day, but close enough to quickly get into more populated areas if that is your desire.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon, and it fit our style right on. After spending time walking, and riding the bikes along the peninsula, we decided we had picked the best place to stay. Placencia proper is pretty busy, and lost many trees in a storm, while Maya Beach is more secluded and quiet. Bill and Adriane have a nice spot right on the beach, and we regularly took advantage of the bikes, kayaks, and porch hammock. The bungalow is basic, but we were inside so rarely, that it was fine for us. And they use rain water for their water source, which we loved! Although it was hot for us northerners, the window setup and ceiling fans kept us quite cool at night. We were without a car and phone, so Adriane was quiet helpful for setting a few activities up for us. There are several nearby restaurants, that we visited for dinner, and the grocery store had plenty of options for making breakfast at the bungalow. And Scurvy was nice company on the beach. If we come back to Belize, we'll be here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
814 reviews
0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
672 reviews
0 mi away
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
600 reviews
0 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows

Address: 23 Maya Beach Way, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Price Range: $95 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnacle Bill's has two bungalows on the beach and one near the road, fully screened, queen size bed, sleeper sofa, two ceiling fans, floor fan, and full kitchens. The bungalows are on stilts to help catch the sea breeze and enjoy the view of the Caribbean Sea. Our bungalows are self-accommodating. We provide you with all your needed supplies like sheets, towels and beach towels. Your kitchen comes equipped with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, two-burner stove, (oven in the road bunaglow), coffee maker, complimentary coffee, blender, cooking utensils, sugar, salt, pepper, and spices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barnacle Bill`s Beach Bungalows Hotel Placencia
Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing