We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...”
Review of Chaleanor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaleanor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dangriga
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was here for the Garifuna festival (Settlement Day)-I began making my reservation 3wks before arrival. That experience left me a bit frustrated. The communication between email and phone calls was a challenge-there was no response when emailing, and placed on extended hold when calling Ugh! Then they sent me a email requesting information which was beyond what is needed to secure a room without a secure server. I did not submit it. That said this a family run hotel. When we arrived there was, nor was there ever anyone at the desk. There is a sign above the desk that says to ring the bell for assistance HOWEVER there is no bell...inside. The bell they are referring to is outside, 3-4ft to the right of the entrance, behind some plants, about 5.5ft up, on a wall...okay! The first room we were given had a leak in the bathroom-from the tub, not the toilet and the door knob to it was broken. We were reluctantly moved to an upstairs room, with a broken shower head, or rather no shower head and a temperamental tv remote control (but I didn't come to watch tv anyway). The beds with soiled mattresses, no mattress pads and ill fitting sheets were a bit unsettling-I slept on top of the covers with my own personal blanket. Miss. Eleanor, appeared to me to be more focused on finance than insuring a comfortable stay-her husband and wonderful, wonderful sons just the opposite. Mind you this is not the cheapest hotel in the area.

Let me now get to what was totally right with this place-location, views, the staff.

1block to the water, 2blocks to everything else. The view from the roof was amazing and a very cool place to relax, read, eat and drink. The hotel is structured like dormitory so you have interaction with other guest which was nice but also allows for privacy. The cleaning staff was EXCELLENT! Despite the short comings of the room, they kept it clean, clean, clean. Lastly, the owner's sons are some of the nicest young men you want to meet-helpful and polite.

I will be returning to Dangriga-for the price this would not be my first choice but I would not totally rule it out. In spite of the cons it has it has a quirky charm.

Room Tip: I would avoid a ground room floor, higher floors are quieter with views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSistah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldboss_cj, Director of Sales at Chaleanor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Around November (Garifuna Settlement Day) the staff becomes quiet busy and only the General Manager is responsible for reservation, so sorry for your frustration with the communication. The Manager is then responsible for all financial maters and due to our pass experiences bookings were made and people did not show up, people booked for two nights promise to pay the second day and leave the 1day without paying. Therefore we are force to execute our reservation Policies. That attention bell that you were referring to in the lobby was taken down for repairs. The complaint for the first room was addressed immediately, and now since we are aware of the complaint for the second room we will see if that has bin addressed.

Thanks for the constructive criticism!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Chaleanor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

I arrived in Dangriga two days before Settlement Day, and I stayed at the Chalenor for three nights. I was a little put off that was the minimum requirement when other guests had only a two night minimum, but the value was good.

For $26 BZE, I received a simple room with a bed and a fan. But it was comfy and after 12 days of no sleep, I was finally able to get several nights of much needed rest. Room service was excellent. They made sure I had fresh towels and cleaned my room every day. On the third day, they changed my sheets.

My only complaints were the wi-fi connection was horrible from my room. At one point, the router shut off completely giving my computer a "not connected" signal (which is different than a faint signal just disappearing). The other complaint was my room wasn't exactly secure while I was in it. The latch didn't fit, so I had to jerry-rig it to keep it from being opened. I didn't hear any complaints about the other rooms, but if you stay in #16, you may want to ask for a different one.

Despite that, I did feel safe. The staff was friendly, and they provide free water refills. If you want to get away from the hostel scene, this is the place to go to get some sleep.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the review, avoid #16. I would assume that the Internet connection is probably bette...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeofaBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulrika86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank HONDARTZAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mirmo974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank jasmintozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad_Usher, Manager at Chaleanor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solveig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad_Usher, Manager at Chaleanor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0.1 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
23 reviews
8.8 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
981 reviews
9.4 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
84 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
553 reviews
9.3 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaleanor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaleanor Hotel

Address: 35 Magoon Street, Dangriga 501, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range: $29 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chaleanor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaleanor is the tallest hotel in town with prime views of the Caribbean Sea located just 2 blocks away. There are both standard rooms and economy rooms available. The standard rooms in the main building are spacious and include cable TV, air conditioning and hot and cold water. Fresh fruit (usually bananas) and coffee is always available for snacking. In a building on the side lies the economy rooms, which consist of a bed and a fan with shared bath starting at US $13/night. The main lobby area is large and welcoming with a gift shop and display of various artwork. The neighborhood laundry-mat, internet and post office is less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaleanor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaleanor Hotel Belize/Dangriga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing