We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great place to chill out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Inn

Hopkins Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Inn
Save
You added Hopkins Inn to your Saves list
Dangriga, Belize   |  
Ranked #1 of 4 Dangriga B&B and Inns
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place to chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed five nights, two in the biggest cabana and one in the next smaller. Both were comfortable and very clean. The smaller room had a little better shower. Greg and Rita are helpful if you want and unobtrusive if you don't. The beach right in front was great especially in that in the water there were no rocks or seaweed, just nice firm sand. Tina's little restaurant on the road right behind the house is great - we carried out lunch from there every day and ate on our patio. About $4 for fresh snapper, rice and beans. There is a little grocery store right across the street, a fresh bakery down the road and internet and tv if you want it about 50 yards away down the beach. One of the local dogs seems to adopt whoever checks in if you want a canine companion. It really doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: We looked at them all, and any of them would work well for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nobellhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dawson Creek
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in Hopkins for three nights. Hopkins Inn was easy to find, and as it is in near the middle of the village, a good spot to explore from. This inn is owner-operated and very well run. The cabana was clean, the bar fridge was much appreciated and the plumbing worked fine, which is a real bonus in Belize. Our stay coincided with a rainy cold front, so other than the quick dip in the ocean on the afternoon of our arrival, no swimming for us. We explored the village by foot and as the main road became a quagmire in the heavy rain, we rented a golf cart and splashed through puddles and met many locals who were friendly and liked to explain what they did for a living. We bought johnny cakes straight from the outdoor oven from Miss Gail's, a warm treat on a cool day. While the weather was cool, the people were warm, and Hopkins Inn was a secure, central home base. Sleep quality was rated low because of neighbour's rooster, but heck, just about everywhere we stayed had a wake-you-up-way-before dawn rooster. All in all, a good stay and good spot to explore from. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canucksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Hopkin's Inn made our entire Belize trip. Rita and Greg are fantastic hosts who do everything possible to make your stay perfect and provide endless information for trips and excursions. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, the location and beach are pure paradise, the breakfasts are fantastic, and Hopkin's village is such a friendly spot and authentic in everyway. We would not hesitate to make a return visit to Hopkins and to Hopkins Inn and highly recommend the Hopkins Inn to anyone visiting Belize.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamsAmato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We choose to stay at Hopkins Inn for our Honeymoon. We wanted to experience the village as well as have some quality alone time. The cabana was right on the beach. The breeze from the ocean was amazing at night. Who would have ever thought I could be without internet and television. Well I didn't miss it at all. Every morning Rita brought us our breakfast, we had great talks with Rita and Greg. It was a pleasurable experience. I have vowed to return regularly. The locals were all pleasant and friendly! The taste of india resturaunt next door was delicious! I am glad to be one of those people who could enjoy the simple life!!! Beach, Hammocks, Fruits, and Fish!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed for two nights at Hopkins Inn the last week of June 2009. I was somewhat apprehensive because I knew there was no air conditioning and that the weather would be hot. Rita was great in helping me decide if it would work for us. As it turned out, we loved Hopkins Inn. With fans and it's beach location, it was comfortable. Rita and Greg were so helpful in their recommendations for restaurants and local guides. Amazingly, there was an excellent Indian restaurant right on the beach next door to Hopkins Inn. Rita and Greg lined us up with wonderful guides for snorkeling and a visit to the rainforest. After a several day visit to a nearby Island, we were ready to come back to Hopkins Inn but they were already booked. It was a great vacation and we highly recommend Hopkins Inn. If resorts are what you like, this may not be for you. But if you like to be in contact with the people of the country, with comfortable, clean, and basic accommodation located feet from the ocean with a wonderful view, intelligent and helpful owners who appreciate and know the country, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex123Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

If you are planning a trip to Belize, it would be a terrible shame not to include HOPKINS as a part of your visit. The people in Hopkins are so genuinely kind and friendly. 4 in 5 people will greet you when you are walking down the street.

Hopkins Inn was our favorite accommodation in all of Belize. We highly recommend Hopkins Inn over the way more expensive resorts which are quite far from the actual center of town. Greg and Rita were incredibly helpful and served an amazing breakfast of warm breads, cheese, preserves and fresh cut fruit. We loved sitting on our verandah and looking at the lovely Caribbean sea.
What a deal for $60 bucks a night! Also, be sure to eat Indian food at the restaurant next door and to hang out at King Kassava's in the town square.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank annika360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Best location - Hopkins and Hopkins Inn real character village lovely cabanas right on beach good breakfast
Best tour - Orange Walk to Lamanai up river with Reyes and sons best day out if you are short of time in Belize this tour covers everything except the coast.al area.

Helpful?
3 Thank sm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0.0 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 5 in Dangriga
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Inn

Property: Hopkins Inn
Address: Dangriga, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dangriga
Also Known As:
Hopkins Hotel Dangriga
Hopkins Inn Belize/Dangriga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing