We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, views and snorkeling.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Beach - Dangriga

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Beach - Dangriga
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dangriga
Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent service, views and snorkeling.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

We arrived early at the Dangriga Pelican Beach Resort, much too early for our boat ride to South Water Caye, so we sat on the patio and had lunch and cokes. The staff were extremely friendly here, and the food was good. However, if you visit, be sure to coat both arms and legs with bug spray, because the sandflies were fierce. When it was time for our boat ride, Terri, my contact when making reservations, was great; she gave us a warm welcome and took us to the boat dock, making sure our luggage was taken care of. Another great thing: our boat captain made us wear life jackets. I’ve been to Belize three times previously, and this is the first time I’ve been offered a life jacket, so this was refreshing and reassuring, considering we were going to an island where our lives would be in the Pelican staff’s hands. After a forty-five minute boat ride, we were greeted at the Pelican Beach Resort’s dock on South Water Caye by Leonard, our host for our three-night stay. Leonard was professional, friendly, helpful and just plain terrific. He accommodated all requests for meals, offered a guide to take me snorkeling when I was too scared to go out to the reef alone, and provided pleasant conversation at mealtimes. Regarding the accommodations: the Pelican Beach Resort property is stunning, by far the nicest area of the tiny island (we visited the other resorts' property at the far end of the island, and were awfully glad we were staying at Pelican Beach due to the trash, the concrete sea wall, and the dilapidated buildings next door). All the buildings at Pelican Beach were in excellent repair, and all had amazing views of the sea. Our building, the Osprey’s Nest, was so named because an osprey sat in the palm tree a few feet away from our porch. We also had a contingent of pelicans and frigate birds soaring overhead with the ospreys. Under our porch, we had a private dock complete with a swarm of bait fish (which the pelicans constantly dove for) as well as several other reef fish, all visible from the railing of our deck. The views of the sunrise were fabulous, as was the view of the reef, only yards from our porch. The downside: It was unbearably hot on our first two nights even with a constant breeze and the room’s ceiling fan going. One night our thermometer read 88 degrees, and this in December, which is supposedly the coolest month in Belize. Also, the main queen bed in the room was rock-hard, and the single bed was a thin sheet of foam that felt like sleeping on plywood. We had an army of red ants swarming on our toilet each night. And finally, worst of all, we were eaten alive by sandflies; we coated ourselves with deet by day, but gradually we began to realize that these no-see-ums were actually in our beds in the room itself. Regarding the snorkeling: excellent! Once we crossed the beds of grass and swam out far enough, we saw stoplight parrot fish, file fish, wrasses, jacks, elkhorn coral, brain coral, schools of grunts, even a spotted eagle ray. Regarding the food: some of it was very good. All our meals were simple and filling, and Leonard provided wonderful service. To sum up: Stay at Pelican Beach Resort, but be sure to wear bug spray night and day. To be honest, it was worth the bug bites, because it was a truly magical, breathtaking place with terrific hospitality. I’m already wishing I was back there!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
42
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

I was here In Feb 2008 scouting for a trip I put together for 14 people 8 teens, 6 adults. In Feb the service was pretty good room was ok (I stayedin the original building.. room clean but not that great maybe a 3 on a scale of5). When I came back with the large group we stayed in the new building in the back and the rooms were very nice,AC, comfortable,clean, nice baths,etc.

Staff was also beefed up so definitely felt pampered. In my opinion they are now at a solid 3.5 by US standards, but from service perspective probably a solid 4.

I travel a lot on Biz in the US and was extremely impressed with the staff.

Still some improvements to be made but I am sure they will get there over time.

Finally beach here is idyllic with awesome views. I think taking a boat to dive/snorkel the cayes is a much better value trade off than staying on the cayes at a much higher price. If you stay here you also get a good chance to meet the locals who are good bunch of people.

Fred Covely

  • Liked — great service
  • Disliked — I had no issues at all
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NoSleepSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredyt3
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

When visiting Dangriga we have found the Pelican Beach Resort an above average experience. The hotel has been remodeled and offers a very pleasant experience plus you are right on the sea/beach so it feels like your private paradise. The resort is on the outskirts of Dangriga (about 1 mile) but in Belize time, that represents easy access. The staff is great and feels like part of the family - Be sure to ask for Joe B - he is very knowledgeable about the area, culture and just about anything you might need to make your stay pleasant. The meals are very good, although a bit pricey but like the rooms - it is one of the better spots in the area so you get what you pay for. This spot is for visitors who are looking for a solid bed, hot shower, a great veranda and of course a good meal. More adverterous types or those into wildlife or exploring other aspects of Belize might be turned off at the price or accommodations. Also, they've got a great gift shop that has some unique items (although pricey).

  • Liked — Resort has been remodeled - fresh look
  • Disliked — Price appears high in consideration of area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fredyt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobstown,NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

We made arrangements to stay at the Pelican Pouch Resorts in mid-March. We were picked up at Dangriga (Tropic Air) and delivered to our hotel asap, Pelican Beach Resort, on day one. We arrived at lunch time and checked into our rooms with no problem. We were glad to have refrigerators in our rooms so that we could refrigerate some of our food items (chocolate/drinks) we had brought along. Our rooms were very clean, neat and suprisingly had air conditioning. Also were surprised that our meal was all inclusive and all 6 of us enjoyed the food. We loved the dock hammock area with thatched roof. The kids had a ball swimming and hanging out. We walked through the town of Dangriga and enjoyed seeing the local culture. Know that Dangriga is not set up as a tourist town in any way so if you are looking for souvenirs or t-shirts buy at the airport or at Pelican Pouch Resorts. Warning: Please apply bug spray as soon as you arrive to avoid no see-ums bites. The next morning we rode bikes through the town and got packed up for our pre-arranged boat ride out to South Water Caye. The boat arrived promply at 10:00 and we arrived 1 hour later. We enjoyed seeing other islands along the way. The island of South Water Caye is beautiful (Paradise) and the rooms and staff were outstanding. My youngest son got up to fish promptly at 6 am each morning. Breakfast was served starting at 7 am. We snorkeled until lunch time at 12:00 pm. We were mesmerized by the beauty of the water and island. Again we were snorkeling each day at 3:00 pm and in our rooms for showers at 5:00 so we could be ready for cocktail hour @ 6:00. Dinner was served @ 7:00 pm by candlelight. We had such great family time because there were no electronic distractions for our children ages 18, 14 and 11. The other activities we participated in were kayaking to Carrie Bow about 1 mile out and bird watching. The main attraction was the plentiful marine life and beautiful coral reef. You could stay close to the beach and see marine life or swim over the sea grass and see very colorful abundant marine and coral life. We swam against the waves next to the coral reef and saw incredible sites. If you stay close to the beach you won't see the colorful species you see swimming past the sea grass. My youngest son wants to tell you they provide great food and fishing off the dock is spectacular. He caught a stingray plus needlefish and his brother caught a barracuda. When we snorkeled we saw a shark, many barracuda and stingrays, squid, moray eels and schools of colorful reef fish. They were sites to behold. At night everyone had a flashlight and we looked for critters. Had a great time playing cards, shooting pool and playing board games. We brought a CD player with island music and a small speaker so we had music all day long. We stayed 7 days on the island and never got bored. We want to thank Terri, Leonard, Kevin and Trish (the intern) and the entire Pelican staff for making our stay a wonderful family vacation. We are still smiling!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Beauty of the Island and coral marine life
  • Disliked — A suggestion: Play island type music in the bar area to add to the ambiance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamtobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

The sand flies at this place are horrendous, the staff not helpful and the food is incredibly expensive - not to mention the fact that there is NOTHING around the hotel to do - NOTHING!!!! i am still having to place ointment on my legs from the sand flies....never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Our group of six stayed here for 3 nights which was perfect. Enough time to read in the comfy hammocks and play all day. We found the snorkeling to be a slight dissapointment directly out front but easily booked a few snorkle tours at the adjoinging resort and saved ourselves $10 each. The beach is fantastic. I was worried about the sand fleas and no-seeums but I prepared with a two week course of B-complex and arrived with Deet. Be sure and pack Mentholatum as this quickly ends the itching (a local tip from Paulina.) We also had a bit of wind so the bugs were minimal. Try sunbathing on the pier instead of the sandy areas. The food was tasty and we all cleaned our plates daily. The drinks are not included with the cost so I recommend packing your own alcohol or wine. Beers are $3.50 US. Careful if ordering a double - a double Pina Colada costs $16US, too much money even if it was fantastic. Don't bother with hairdryers as the units don't have power but we were proud to support the conservation efforts at the resort. The people are wonderful and I would recommend this place to all, very peaceful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed for 6 days at the Pelican Beach Resort on the island of South Water Caye. It was wonderful, although expensive. Then we stayed for 3 nights on the mainland, at the sister resort in Dangriga. The people who worked there were unfriendly and could never answer our questions. We kept asking for water, and they kept selling it to us, refusing to give us a glass with ice water, and demanding that we pay on the spot. Our waitress was uncommunicative and unpleasant. They would not tell us if our rate was all inclusive, or the rate that was posted on our hotel room door (reasonable). So we did not order much food. We asked for a guide and car for two days of tours, but we could not get an answer about the price. We had such a nice experience on the island that we just trusted them. Well-- we paid a fortune for really bad food, service, and about $500 too much for the tours. Watch out, folks. You could rent your own car, drive on the nice highway to all the tour spots, and pay very little for it. We had never been to Belize before, so we were nervous. Don't be. Tourist attractions are full of tourists! Stay away from the locals' spaces and you can do it all on your own.

Helpful?
9 Thank suz501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
1.1 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
10.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
10.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
10.0 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Beach - Dangriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - Dangriga

Property: Pelican Beach - Dangriga
Address: PO Box 2, Dangriga, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - Dangriga 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation in Dangriga and Southwater Caye! Dangriga, our inland gateway, has beachfront a/c rooms with large decks and tours to the jaguar reserve, Maya sites, horseback riding, cave-tubing and Garifuna Cultural experiences. Modern conference facilities and local entertainment make this an ideal location for families, honeymooners, weddings, business travel, educational and service groups! For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - Dangriga Hotel Dangriga
Pelican Beach Hotel
Pelican Beach - Dangriga Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing