We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Dangriga”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Beach - Dangriga
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dangriga
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Dangriga”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a great stay. They took care of everything from picking us up from the Mayan Island Air to making sure our bags were in our room. The room was clean, including the shower. The staff was great. The resort is clean. We thought it was reasonable priced for a place in Belize. We enjoyed the quieter less crowded feel of other resorts. We travel to Belize at least 3 times a year and like to stay here while on our way to out final destination. Remember Belize is still growing this is not Cancun. Go with an open mind and enjoy what you see not what you don't.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
49
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

staff was helpful, reliable, and friendly. both mainland hotel and island rooms were clean and safe. make sure to spend a few days on the island. staff on the island were very knowledgeable and most had traveled to the US and or other countries. I'd go again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erickeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We missed the last flight to Dangriga on Tropic Air from belize city, and with no cell service/ no internet access, we were unable to contact the Pelican to let them know we wouldn't be at the Dangriga airstrip where they will provide a ride to the hotel just down a dirt road.
Instead we hired a taxi for $180 US to drive us the 21/2 hr adventure (I wouldn't recommend it on your own, "paved" roads are very different in america.) to Dangriga from the airport in Belize City.
Although we arrived late, and with no communication on our whereabouts, we were greeted with great respect and concern from Shanna at the front desk. She arrange to have our bags delivered to our more than adequate, clean, inviting room with a killer view.
The restaurant was still open, thank goodness, and we ate a delicous fresh catch dinner (snook) out on the open patio with a gorgeous view of the carribean (even though it was raining) .
We were here one day, then had a boat to catch. We were pleasantly suprised by our view in the morning.

IF you have a need to be in Dangriga, stay here! You will be happy. Dangriga is not exactly a tourist town, and I don't recommend going out after dark. But for a stop off place, this is the one!
In the states, it would probably rank a moderate 21/2-3 stars (much cleaner than most), but for Dangriga it's a 4 star resort, well worth the value and peace of mind.
The service alone makes you feel like a queen. :)

BEWARE--- Prepare for heartbreak if you love dogs. Belize has strays everywhere that are starving and in need of medical assistance.

Room Tip: Get a suite for the view, ask for upstairs. Rooms 18/19 seemed to have the best views. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Pelican Beach Resort in Dangriga is a nice place overall - good location, very close to the airstrip and so convenient when catching flights to elsewhere, clean and attractive, rooms are comfortable and have great porches looking at the water, great veranda for meals right on the beach, and the staff is friendly overall.

The minuses are that the service in the restaurant can be incredibly slow, the meals are pretty pricy for what you get (I got a continental breakfast that had the smallest fruit serving I think I've ever seen, same for the curried chicken serving the night before), the wifi is available and free but somewhat 'spotty', and I couldn't get hot water in the shower in the morning. One other note in case you're looking for a beach with crystal clear tropical water - Dangriga is on the mainland and well inside the barrier reef, so the water is a bit 'brown' and stirred up close to shore. Okay for swimming, but not really a snorkel spot. The beach is quite nice and there is a great dock, so good for reading or just putting your toes in the sand.

So, decent overall, but could certainly be better value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a nice, clean, safe hotel and restaurant by the airport and just slightly outside of town. The staff is attentive and very friendly. The view from the outside bar/patio is great. Also, if you are just in Dangriega for a day running errands and or shopping, this is the perfect place to take a quiet break and enjoy a Belikin or two.
Not easy to find if walking from downtown....grab a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent one night at Pelican Beach Resort and were so impressed. It was nicely situated by the water with a patio that had both a view of the ocean and a nice breeze. The room was air conditioned too. This is simple resort with clean and freshly appointed rooms. The staff were welcoming and helpful in communicating with our next outfitter. They also helped me make an in in country call to a friend. We ate three meals at the attached Belezian restaurant and found the quesadillas and fish to be best. We also enjoyed the breakfast. If you are on your way to the outer cayes and need a place to spend a night or two, this is a great place. Also, good wifi connection in the restaurant. They also picked us up at the airport and drove us to the resort which was less than a quarter of a mile away but was a great service as we had rolling suitcases which would not have rolled very well on the dirt road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed with our extended family over the Christmas break for a week. We loved being on the ocean! It was a very relaxed atmosphere. Our teenagers appreciated the internet connection :) The staff was great, food was fantastic, the rooms were clean, it was quiet and very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FanC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
1.2 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dangriga
129 reviews
9.9 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
298 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
85 reviews
9.6 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Beach - Dangriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - Dangriga

Property: Pelican Beach - Dangriga
Address: PO Box 2, Dangriga, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - Dangriga 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation in Dangriga and Southwater Caye! Dangriga, our inland gateway, has beachfront a/c rooms with large decks and tours to the jaguar reserve, Maya sites, horseback riding, cave-tubing and Garifuna Cultural experiences. Modern conference facilities and local entertainment make this an ideal location for families, honeymooners, weddings, business travel, educational and service groups! For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - Dangriga Hotel Dangriga
Pelican Beach Hotel
Pelican Beach - Dangriga Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing