We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiger Falls Hike, do it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve

Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$275.00*
and up
Cockscomb Basin Jaguar Reserve Overnight Camping with Kayaking
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Dangriga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This reserve was established to help protect the endangered jaguar and other species native to Belize.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tiger Falls Hike, do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

So first of all, my husband & I didn't know the "strenuous" hike we had chosen until we were halfway up the jungle mountain but let me tell you, it was 100% worth it! GORGEOUS scenery & although we didn't see any Jaguars, we did see lots of leaf cutter ants, a tapir & an assortment of talkitive birds. It was a great way to spend a day & the waterfalls were worth it! We spent over an hour just laying in the cool, refreshing water enjoying the raw nature around us. It's a trip, let me tell you since there are no guides or fences... it's like a zoo without the cages between you & the wildlife. If you're wanting to do the hike, be sure to bring enough water, dress in light weight clothes, bring food/ lunch for at the falls & be prepared for a rewarding workout!

Also, I would suggest if there are 2 of you going, maybe find another couple to go with you. We had another couple with us & we definately felt safer & our time was enriched with the company

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ScienceTeacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    50
    18
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, Belize
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place is awesome. There are a lot to see in the visitor center. Well i didn't actually saw a jaguar (but who has) but i took a lot of pictures with the life sized ones the have outside.

After a hike through the jungle my friends an i took a cold refreshing bath in the river. That was AWESOME. While coming back we stopped on had lunch. It was delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christy_2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the private cabin at the preserve.

We saw many birds, a tapir and on our last evening an Ocelot which was really cool. However from speaking to the rangers we were fairly lucky so don't be disappointed if you leave without seeing any cats.

We did lots of hiking alone (no need for guides as trails are marked). It's amazing to be surrounded in jungle on the down side be prepared to sweat buckets and get bitten a fair amount also. A hike up the Outlier trail or Tigers fern are well worth the effort. Outlier will take you at least 3 1/2 hours to reach the summit (at a fast-ish pace).

The private cabin and kitchen were basic but ok. It would definitely benefit from a ceiling fan in the cabin. The other facilities were nothing to write home about but served their purpose just fine.

The rangers were especially knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RichF004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Antelope Falls----Well worth the hike !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We hiked up to Antelope Falls on a late morning in May.To clarify, Antelope Falls is NOT in the Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve, but rather in Mayflower-Bociwana National Park.The weather was hot and humid, but we were ready with a pack full of water, snacks and Deep Woods OFF Dry. As we started up the trail, we were joined by a local girl named Rebecca. She had made the trip many times and showed us a few highlights along the way that we otherwise might have missed. The trail starts off fairly level, then becomes steeper and steeper as you move higher, until you come to a series of fixed ropes to help you pull yourself up. It 's moderately strenuous, but when you reach the top and see the views below,the falls and the natural swimming pool, it's sooo worth it. As with most steep trails, the way down is at least as hard as going up, but take your time to enjoy the scenery and you'll be fine.
In the interest of making the experience as pleasant as possible, you may want to consider good shoes, water, snacks,insect repellent and of course swimwear and a towel so you can enjoy the pool at the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tropical Moist Broadleaf Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent a afteroon in the rainforest highlands taking Ben's Bluff Trail up a ravine to the an incredible falls. It's worth the trip (I rented a motorcyle) with the road off the Hummingbird being an adventure in itself. Its been left natural with well marked trails and I was unescorted so I could travel at my own pace and saw only a few other people. Cystal clear streams (I swam in it) and a rainforest canopy with diverse and a vibrant ecology make the trip unique. Seeing large species would have improved the trip but with a natural setting you take your chances. You could spend more time than I did and not be disenchanted.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinofCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing