We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antelope Falls----Well worth the hike !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve

Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$275.00*
and up
Cockscomb Basin Jaguar Reserve Overnight Camping with Kayaking
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Dangriga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This reserve was established to help protect the endangered jaguar and other species native to Belize.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Antelope Falls----Well worth the hike !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We hiked up to Antelope Falls on a late morning in May.To clarify, Antelope Falls is NOT in the Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve, but rather in Mayflower-Bociwana National Park.The weather was hot and humid, but we were ready with a pack full of water, snacks and Deep Woods OFF Dry. As we started up the trail, we were joined by a local girl named Rebecca. She had made the trip many times and showed us a few highlights along the way that we otherwise might have missed. The trail starts off fairly level, then becomes steeper and steeper as you move higher, until you come to a series of fixed ropes to help you pull yourself up. It 's moderately strenuous, but when you reach the top and see the views below,the falls and the natural swimming pool, it's sooo worth it. As with most steep trails, the way down is at least as hard as going up, but take your time to enjoy the scenery and you'll be fine.
In the interest of making the experience as pleasant as possible, you may want to consider good shoes, water, snacks,insect repellent and of course swimwear and a towel so you can enjoy the pool at the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    50
    18
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tropical Moist Broadleaf Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent a afteroon in the rainforest highlands taking Ben's Bluff Trail up a ravine to the an incredible falls. It's worth the trip (I rented a motorcyle) with the road off the Hummingbird being an adventure in itself. Its been left natural with well marked trails and I was unescorted so I could travel at my own pace and saw only a few other people. Cystal clear streams (I swam in it) and a rainforest canopy with diverse and a vibrant ecology make the trip unique. Seeing large species would have improved the trip but with a natural setting you take your chances. You could spend more time than I did and not be disenchanted.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinofCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Jaguars, Howler Monkeys, Ant Eaters........Oh my!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Turning off the Southern Highway and onto the road that leads to the entrance of the Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve, I instinctively locked the doors, turned off the radio and sat straight up in the drivers seat. I didn't know what to expect and got myself ready for any surprises that may come . Would a Jaguar pounce on our vehicle and rip his claw through one of our tires disabling us , or gang of Howler Monkey jump on the roof rack and hood, and demand food as we drove slowly down the dusty, rutted six mile road to the base camp. As we drove deeper into the jungle, and began to cross small streams, kicking up a trail of mud and dust, I had to turn the vehicle lights on as the canopy of the jungle turned a pleasantly bright day into darkness. Now things were getting spooky! "You hear that?" I asked Tammy. I knew what I was hearing was the distinctive sound of a Howler Monkey in full roar. It's nothing like you've ever heard before, the roar of a Howler Monkey, it will make the hair on the back of your neck stand up. Quickly I halted the vehicle, cut the engine, and we sat there in disbelief at how loud and deafening the roar was from a creature so small. This was just the beginning and we had not reached the parks official boundary line. After driving which seemed like an eternity we reached the parks visitor center and had a sigh of relief. The visitors center was just like jungle lodge right out of an African safari movie. With a thatched roof museum and interpretive center that houses all things Jaguar, we made our way in and decided whether or not if we wanted a guided tour or to take one of the many well marked trails through the Jungle. After being assured we would not encounter any wild creatures that may size us up for lunch, we took the trail leading to a waterfall. This trail we were told was rigorous. Great we agreed, we had been training back home doing stair climbing at the gym, running and sprints, and knew we were up to the task. We were told by team members of Central America Overland Expeditions that we would want to be in good shape for the expedition that we wanted to do in Belize. Climbing ruins, kayaking, hiking and many other activities requires good physical stamina. As we hiked several miles through the jungle, it was surprising how cool it was, as the jungle canopy kept the temperature lower than being out in direct sun. As we climbed the trail we crossed streams, rocky outcroppings and traversed a rope bridge. Stopping occasionally to drink plenty of water, we'd pull out the binoculars and try to identify some of the many birds we saw. Finally arriving to the waterfall, it was refreshing and oh so cold. If you're planning a trip to Belize the Cosckscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve is a must do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardBarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackendale, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hike in the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great hike up the Ben's Bluff trail. Not too strenuous and a great waterfall pool to cool off on the way down. Saw tracks from wild life and the view from the top was outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BurneingImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillisburg, Nj
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A must visit - both Day AND Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just came back from our amazing 9-day birding trip in Belize. A visit to Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve is absolutely a MUST!

This is our repeat visit to Cockscomb. Learning from our last visit, we know that Cockscomb is fantastic for birds and other wildlife; therefore, we purposely booked 2 birding trips with Julio Saqui (Julio_saqui@hotmail.com) and William Sho (Bird Guide) for an early morning bird walk and a night safari! In addition, we also reserved breakfast, lunch and a traditional Mayan dinner with Julio.
This time we were so lucky to see a pair of Great Currasows on our way to the preserve entrance; in addition, gray fox wandering at the ranger station, we also saw a giant Green Tree Snake hunting a frog. At night, we got to enjoy a great sighting of an Ocelot. Cockscomb never fails to offer its diversified wildlife…….

Julio and his wife prepared excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner for us. The breakfast coffee is hand-made by Julio’s wife via traditional Mayan method. We requested Julio’s "pork bites" with tortilla, it is heavenly!! Dinner was served Mayan cohune cabbage (cohune palm) and chicken at the Maya Center. We had a great Mayan cultural/culinary and wildlife experience.

All of us agree that this is one of our best birding destinations!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mraquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing