We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Hut Experience”
Review of Jungle Huts Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Huts Resort
Placencia, Belize
1 review
“Jungle Hut Experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend Mother's Day in Dangriga, so without having a clue where we would stay, drove around the town in search of a hotel. After checking out a couple places that did not sit well with us, we drove around some more. On the left hand side on the road, a sign was posted saying Jungle Hut Resort. Driving up to the place, having tall trees on both sides of the road, hearing the various types of birds chirping, was a plus for us. We even got to see owls! We were offered the suite and gladly accepted, more so because of the occasion. Boy are the rooms spacious! We especially loved that the rooms had wardrobes. Comfortable beds provided the needed comfort to get a good nights rest. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Remember that the sun rises in the East and sets in the West.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pierrelatte, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Jungle Huts is a very good place to stay, especially when going to or coming from the islands. It is 200m from the departure docks in Dangriga, yet it is very quiet. Rooms in the new building have central A/C when the more affordable rooms have fans. But all are large and comfortable. I very much appreciated the quietness of the place, as well as the friendiness of its owner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We love Belize and Dangriga and our favorite place to stay has always been Jungle Huts,we have been coming to Belize from Canada for over three years and we travel on our own.Everyone at the Resort are very hospitable,careing,friendly and personable,Rooms are great, things are improving all the time,clean and has everthing one could need or want.Very close to a lovely river,many birds,close to and in the town,but still quite.Also water taxis to the Cayes very handy.Can ride your bikes anywhere,go fishing and sightseeing,has a very nice natural beach right on the ocean,something for everybody and everyone.``A GREAT PLACE WTH GREAT FOLKS``

Room Tip: We like the single Huts,there like its really your own spot in paradise,they have a lot of other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

i sydney lopez spent a week at the jungle hut in dangriga. waking up at dawn going to the market after being served a good cup of cofee before I started my day you get first class customer service by the entire staff. the rooms are spacious, clean, literally next to the river and I would listen to the birds every morning. phil made sure i felt like i was home. the bed was comfortable with the a/c on made it a very comfortable place to sleep. last but not least is Estelle the person at the front desk. much thanks Estelle for the warmth you extended I literally felt at home while away from home. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I've stayed in Jungle Huts before and found Phil and his family and staff to be excellent hosts. They are friendly, respectful and responsive to the needs of their guests. On each trip I've made, I've seen vast improvement in the buildings, rooms and quality of service. On this trip I stayed in a newly renovated room that was tastefully done.
I've never enjoyed the chain hotel experience and look forward to a clean, safe and small hotel with reasonable prices and a friendly staff. That is exactly what Jungle Hut offers. Thanks Phil and Estelle for a wonderful experience.
Belize may have the second largest barrier reef in the world but Phil showed me a first world experience at the best price one could hope for.
I plan to return soon and we'll head back to the reefs; that was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: The cabanas are newly renovated so I'd ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugushili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Difficult to find anything positive about our stay. Room was dirty, shabby, and damp. Floor tiles were loose, displaced, and holes in the wooden floor gave a clear view to the earth below. The toilet bowl and sink were unstable. We did not use the shower due to its appearance. The bed was as hard as a rock. At $78 usd it was very overpriced. We had planned on staying 2 nights but left after one. We will not return and suggest you check the condition of your room before checking in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crunchie-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangrigajunglehouse, Front Office Manager at Jungle Huts Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear sir/madam: On my behalf would like to inform you that the room that was occupied at your service has been renoviated.I would like to let you know that i took your word to consideration and am looking forward to accomodiate you with the best service offered.With all the respect I would like to invite you for a one night stay at our hotel.Hope you enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Isle, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Enjoy a comfortable stay in southern Belize with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable and Philip understands what hospitality is all about. The food is authentic and very tasty. He also has real coffee! No matter if you are just resting along the way or want to explore the excursions available in the area, Philip and his staff will help you enjoy your stay in Belize. If you are interested, he and his family will happily entertain you. I can't recommend this place enough. You get a real flavor of Belize today as well as history of what it is all about.

Room Tip: Tell your host what your needs are and he will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackS174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0.4 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dangriga
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
23 reviews
9.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
297 reviews
8.9 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
557 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Huts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Huts Resort

Property: Jungle Huts Resort
Address: # 4 Ecumenical Drive | Dangriga,Stann Creek, Dangriga, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jungle Huts Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Huts Resort is located near the North Stann Creek river in Dangriga, the Culture Capital of Belize. We have 16 rooms all airconditioned with ensuite bathrooms and hot and cold running water. Its private courtyard setting is perfect for large groups and the individual traveller.It is close enough to enjoy Dangriga during the day, secluded enough to relax at night. Its the perfect place to cool down after an adventurous day in Dangriga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Jungle Huts Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Huts Resort Belize/Dangriga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing