We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Maya Center Mayan Museum
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Dangriga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Maya Center Mayan Museum is a culturally interactive museum, that entertains and teach real Mayan culture. We do hands on demonstration, such as tortilla making, Cultural Dance training, Coffee making and now Chocolate making. Chocolate making is more fun as you get to do it, you will discover how much it is.
Athabasca, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is truly the way to experience the Mayan culture. We first enjoyed a traditional meal that was excellent and then moved to the museum. The displays were great, Julio is an excellent story teller and engaging in Mayan dancing, coffee grinding and pressing sugar crane with the old tools really allows you to learn about in the Mayan culture. This museum is a must see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
at sea
Level Contributor
189 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“low key tourism at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Exploring any culture takes time and understanding. It cannot be purchased and it cannot be forcefed by some fast talking tout. Julio and his colleagues at the Maya Centre Mayan Museum provide the cultural tourist with the time and quiet but fastidious explanation that is welcomed and embraced.
Tourist sites around the world would be advised to look at the lowkey but excellent service provided at the museum and the adjunct taxi service that give good value for money and one comes away feeling that they understand more about the Mayan way of life
Bravo Julio......

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Footsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

My friend and I had a great time learning about the setup of the typical Mayan house and uses for various pots and tools.

Julio gives a great tour!

We especially enjoyed the last part where we got to grind Mayan coffee and learn how to make corn tortillas (and then eat them, yum!).

I definitely recommend taking a tour of the museum, even if you're not staying in Maya Center.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kaitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I hadn't expected to have so much fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Although we are aware that the Mayan civilization did not truly end and that the Mayan culture continues, we cannot appreciate how much has survived without such an experience is that presented by the Maya Center. This is not a fast-talking sell you trinkets place, bu a serious collection of artifacts displayed by very friendly and knowledgeable Mayan staff. I loved grinding corn, making a tortilla, dancing...

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie82649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

While staying in the Jaguar Preserve, we came down to the Maya Museum one evening for a full tour, a concert and dinner. What a great experience! Julio explained many aspects of traditional Mayan culture to us and showed us various implements and artifacts. We learned how to make corn tortillas and pressed sugar cane. We enjoyed a concert with traditional Mayan music and Mayan dance and then participated in the dance. All this was followed by a delicious dinner (and they were able to accommodate the vegetarians in our group). All in all a fantastic experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank Naganalf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Center Mayan Museum also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Dangriga, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Center Mayan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing