We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Belize”
Review of D's Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D's Hostel
Reviewed August 23, 2013

D's was the best place i stayed in Belize. $25 BZ ($12.50 US) and it comes with a great breakfast (waffles, coffee and fruit). I came on the low season and had the 8 bed room to my self and spend plenty of time on the hammock, facing the Caribbean.

I noticed other reviewers mention that it was not safe, or that dogs were barking all night. I am a single woman traveler and did not feel unsafe, but i also did not walk around too much alone at night. (Dangriga does seem to be a little sketchier than other cities in Belize). Ok. Dogs. They are ubiquitous in Belize. After 3 weeks here, i have not stayed in a place where there weren't dogs barking all night.

I thought the air beds were comfy, the hospitality delightful- Donna and her children were so nice and accommodating. One of my favorite nights was just laying in the hammock and talking to Donna in the lovely evening. I hope to come back and spend more time here,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmincarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

After traveling through central America and staying in a huge range of hostel, I have to say that D's hostel is by far outstanding.

Beds are air stresses which is a great choice and super clean. Upon arrival you choose the sheets, pillows and towels which meet your preferences.

Each bed has its own full size fan which is awesome at night and in each dorm there is a locker for each person that is big enough to fit your whole backpack and more.

The whole hostel is kept extremely clean. Miss D has a laundry service so the place always smells fresh.

There are hammocks to relax on which give you a perfect view of the ocean.

Breakfast is waffles and fruit with coffee and tea... All which are delicious!! Miss D is seriously the kindest lady you will ever meet... She is so helpful and will even let you play with her dog if you like :)

Miss D has a lot of plans to expand the upstairs and rooftop Terrance in the next year so i can only imagine how nice this place will be in a year.

25 Belize dollars = 12.5 US dollars which includes breakfast, towel, bedding and meeting the nicest lady in town.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Thx to Dana for host, very kind and helpful approach...quiet clean place, plenty of time to meditate about vacation full of adventure a had...including perfekt breakfast - wafels, fruit, honey, coffee :* ...Dangriga is small city, like the others in the Southern Belize, just for meandering between locals...to see lobster fishermens

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakobyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay in Dangriga. It's away yet so close to it all. Sea-facing, soft waves, friendly, sleepy neighborhood. Dana is one of the nicest people I have ever met.. ever. She is intelligent, sincere, helpful, strong and accommodating. The breakfast is a life saver; rooms are spacious, simple and CLEAN. I love the air mattress idea, they are comfy and clean. The roof patio is wonderful as is the hamock balcony. Walking around Dangriga and then coming back to D's is like coming back home.. weight is lifted off and you feel at peace with all the positive energy floating around. This should be a model example of backpacker hostel warmth.
A couple of tips:
1. People there call it either Val's or D's
2. Please walk around and ask for the drummaker or go see Pen Cayetano's art studio and talk to the people and really show you are interested in the rich culture that sorrunds you.
3. Take it easy, no rush needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonypleasants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Ms Dana is a great host, very kind and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy. Prices good.

Just remember, if you are in Southern Belize, it ain't the Ritz. So, adjust your expectations accordingly. (If you are complaining about garbage everywhere, then you've come to the wrong country. Belize is beautiful, but the general public don't throw their rubbish in the trash. They throw it at the trash. However, that has NOTHING to do with Val's Backpacker's.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The owner is delightful and extremely helpful. She has a lot of valuable information for travelers, and has made great recommendations. The linens and towels are washed for each person, and the bathroom and common area are kept clean. The dorm rooms are a bit tight, although I think the air mattresses are more hygienic than a traditional mattress.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is beyond budget traveling. Literally; the beds are air matresses and extremely uncomfortable. It was a terrible night of sleep. There is really nowhere to relax unless you go to the rooftop - but it was unfinished and there was garbage everywhere, including diaper remnants that had been torn-up by dogs. Ugh! The other option is to hangout in the owner's livingroom - but that just felt weird to me. Since very few people stay here for an extended period of time (port town), I would for surely find a different place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chadalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dangriga
130 reviews
0 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
25 reviews
8.6 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D's Hostel

Address: Cnr. Mahogany Street & Sharp Street, Dangriga, Belize (Formerly Val's Backpacker Hostel)
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dangriga
Price Range: $63 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dś Hostel (formerly Valś Backpackers Hostel) has upped their services by serving breakfast from 7:00 a.m to 11:00 a.m.. We have a lovely rooftop we encourage our guests to go and relax and see the view of sunrise, sunset, moonrise, moonset ,seabreeze and if they choose to sun bathe, that too; and a grill is there if they would like to BBQ. This is the spot where guest can socialize with each other and exchange notes from travelling.We also now have telephone services to call anywhere in the world for BZ$5.00 for every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D's Hostel Belize/Dangriga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing